LPfiction

Reviews

Fly with me under the wings I gave you by Mikey boy

Add review

From: Emma Shinoda

Date: 2015-01-28

Chapter: 16

Okay, the last review was getting really long, so I figured I better review chapter 16 separately. I have a question, and, I'm sorry if I'm just being absent minded, but... You said chapter 16 was a flash forward to February, 1997. When did the previous chapters take place though? Again, I'm probably just forgetting, so I'm sorry about that if I am...


I think this chapter is one of my favorites in the whole story, maybe my top favorite. You put so much sentiment in so few words, and I really loved that. Mike's loneliness is terrible, and again I'm desperate to know what happened to Anna? Mike's own inner thoughts in this chapter really touched me, more than I could explain, and I'm honestly struggling to find words to leave a review. I don't know what to say, other than I absolutely loved every line, I read it through over and over again.


This line was my favorite, I think: "Shaking his head, Mike smiled. It was not a smile of contentment, or happiness, or even relief, but one of sad realization, and the hope that survives despite the bitter turmoil of the past."


Again, I just... I'm wordless at this little piece of written perfection. Like I said in the last review, I'm so anxious and desperate to find out what will happen, and if they'll see each other again. Thank you for continuing to write and post this, I am in love with it <3

From: Emma Shinoda

Date: 2015-01-28

Chapter: 16

I'm so sorry for this review being late, but well, I know you know life hasn't exactly been kind lately. But my gosh, your chapters are always full of such raw emotion, they always get me teary-eyed, whether in happiness or sadness. I'm also sorry I missed a chapter, but I'll just review them both in this one. So, chapter 15...


The beginning was so cute, I LOVE Elisa in this story, it was adorable how she teased Mike, and he froze up like that, poor guy hahaha. It's so obvious the tenderness and love he feels for Anna, you always describe their love in such a pure and innocent way, it really is captivating to read. But when Anna woke up, I felt my heart sink along with Mike's. It really is so difficult to leave those fears and negative thoughts behind, even when you have people around you who care. But she is learning to rely on Mike a little at a time, which is a good thing. I just have to mention this line, I absolutely loved it and read it over so many times:


"He looked into her eyes and what he saw in them frightened him; they were like before. At times they'd gleam with hope and happiness, but now it seemed they had lost all joy and were ferociously forced to turn into a vague, distant look, full of fear, cold and almost blank."


Wow... Stunning, painfully beautiful description, really! The scene with Ryu was also really well done, but I wonder what his problem is??? I'm so curious what happened between Mike and Ryu before, because there is obvious tension there, and it sounded bad from what Mike's mother said... I like that Mike didn't back down though, even though he was uneasy about the whole thing. The way he freestyled against Ryu's group was so awesome, and the words from Step Up fit in so perfectly. I just hope he can keep his distance from them, so he doesn't get in a bad spot again.


It was so sweet how Mike went to see Anna, and realized he needed her just like she needed him. But then... What happened??? My mind was screaming for Mike not to leave Anna alone like that, but I guess he was feeling just as scared and confused as she was... I really wish he would've stayed and let her explain, because the next part really stabbed into my heart... I could feel Anna's sadness like it was my own, it really is the worst feeling when you lose someone you care so much about. Again I have to mention a line that really struck me:


"How she wished she could fly like them, away from the persistent screaming voices inside her head. Away from the countless stirring memories, away from the grip of pain, the frightened melancholy, the sense of unease, the traumatized anxiety, the claustrophobic disillusionment, the constant sadness... It was almost concerning where all these thoughts took her, but she was so used to it now."


The way you arranged all the thoughts and feelings together was amazing, it had such depth and realness of emotion. The poem you wrote was also incredibly done, though tragic within the scope of the story. And Mike seemed to be feeling the same emotions too, his writing just came out a little differently. Awesome job on twisting around the lyrics from By Myself, I imagine it probably did look something like that before they refined it for the song. And even though the refined song is incredible, there's a certain rawness and pain in the way you wrote them, that really stuck with me. I'd like to hear Mike sing this version...


And that last scene... You killed me, you really killed me with that... I could feel Mike's panic, and it had me so scared for him and for Anna. I can't imagine the feeling of having to hold someone you love like that, watching the life slowly leave them. What a nightmare... Just, please tell me Anna didn't die? I really hope not, but to be honest I have no idea what's coming next, so obviously I'll be anxious for the next chapters...

From: nab

Date: 2015-01-20

Chapter: 16

Sorry for missing a chapter. I must say I'm confused by mike's actions. Why did he ran away when he found out about the anxiety medication? I was mad at him when I read that part. Poor anna losing the one person she trusted.

From: nachteule

Date: 2014-12-29

Chapter: 14

So, I'm finally here! And now that l am, how could you leave it there?!


First thing's first, I LOVE how shy Mike was at the start, that was adorable. Anna's panic attack was pretty scary, l felt for Mike not knowing what to do. lt's so sad that things can be going so well and she can be so happy, to being dragged back to that fear again so quickly. You really describe both Anna and Mike's emotions so well in this story, and I find myself half the time feeling the same way they do.


Mike needs to stay away from Ryu and his friends and maybe he should watch his mouth a little around them. I understand his anger, but he needs to think about Anna, I think she really needs him and he could be the one thing that could make her life good.


Mikes Mum is pretty protective, huh? I get it, but you know. There comes a time parents need to trust their kids and let them go and make their own decisions. Mike's not a stupid kid. Speaking of stupid kids; when do we find out what's happening with Rob? I'm still a bit sus about him o.O


So, the ending! Gah, you just CANNOT leave it so long this time! I need to find out what happens and if Anna will be OK!


Sorry it took me so long to review, but my account's been a bitch lately, as you know. It was so good to see that you updated this though. Looking forward to the next one:)

From: nachteule

Date: 2014-10-27

Chapter: 13

I'm so fricken pissed. I just had a beautiful big review typed up for you, pushed "submit" and my Internet dropped out. If I didn't have a one month old on my lap I'd have thrown a full on tanty, worthy of any dramatic, couch hopping pain in the arse 14 year old. Yeah, I think you know who I mean o.O


So, lets try this again shall we? Firstly, I LOVE Mike. I realise Anna has her problems, but she should thank her lucky stars and be grateful that she's found him. Or that he found her, as the case may be. Not all (hardly any, if I'm honest) guys are that patient and tolerant of even the slightest of upsets or mood swings in a woman. I think Caroline really needs to back off and realise that Mike is the best thing to happen to Anna, and she needs to give him the benefit of the doubt and let Anna have a chance to be happy and shake some of her fears. You know, all good to be protective and whatnot, but not to the extreme that you're ruining someone's life.


Brad and Elisa!! I don't know what it is about those two. In nearly ever story I love them. In reality I love them. They're just so grounded and so cute and just aww. It breaks my heart when they break up or something in other stories, and just seeing them mentioned together in yours immediately made me happier :) Rob, on the other hand. Eh, I've noticed that people write him mostly one of two ways, and he's equally convincing as both. Either an uber sweet guy that makes my heart feel all fuzzy, or some psychotic demon spawn that gives me nightmares. Sadly, I think that he might be the latter in your story, given Anna's reaction to him. I really think something's not right there and there's gonna be some you know what hitting the fan involving him later on.


So that may have to do for now, because I still want to review your other stories while the boys are asleep and peaceful and before the drama gets back home from the police station AGAIN and distracts me from everything but HERSELF for the next four hours :/ Yes, I'm complaining on your review page, I'm sorry. I'm also sorry that this wasn't quite the review I planned to give you, and I swear I had an awesome one written before my 'Net died but sadly this will have to suffice for now. I promise to try not to be so lazy and review as you update in future. Great chapter/s :) xx

From: Emma Shinoda

Date: 2014-10-24

Chapter: 13

Okay, I'm soooo sorry that I'm so incredibly late in reviewing but, well, you know it's been pretty crazy for me lately. I actually read this a couple days ago, but wanted to wait on reviewing until I had time to write a proper one. And this chapter definitely deserves it!


I love how you describe Anna's emotions, they're always something I can relate to in some way, and can feel them almost as if they're happening to me. Her fear, and being alone for so long is still with her, I can tell. She does have Mike now, which is good for her, but I think it'll take time to really 'get used' to having him there for her, if that makes sense? But he seems to realize that, and keeps reminding her that he's there. Honestly, Mike is so sweet and so understanding in your story, I just can't even say how much I love him! I'm almost jealous haha, I want a Mike too!


The scene at Caroline's house was really well done, I could sense the awkwardness really well. Y'know, I understand that Caroline would be a bit skeptical of Mike, since she doesn't know him at all, and would be worried about Anna. However (pardon my language) she doesn't need to be such a bitch about it. Her snippy attitude irks me, and I can so understand Anna's exasperation. But again, Mike was there for her, and I'm glad he really trusts her and believes her over Caroline.


I loved the sense of normality the Mike and Anna got to have, being over at Brad's. Again let me say how much I LOVE Brad and Elisa, they're such good friends and a cute couple too. I like their vibe. Rob's introduction to Anna was really strange, I'm so curious now about her uneasiness around him... That's something I'll be thinking about until you post the next chapter...


I felt so sad for Anna, when she started to feel scared again and Mike found her out on the front porch. Their conversation was so emotional and honest, and I think it took a lot for Anna to admit her insecurities to Mike. Every time I get a glimpse of her past, I just feel so bad for her and want to hug her like Mike does. But I think little by little, she's starting to trust him, and allow him to heal her. And I just absolutely adore the quiet scenes between just the two of them, when we really get to see how deep their connection is. And Mike was able to help her, so she could feel okay and enjoy her time around friends.


The piece of writing that she read was just... Wow. Haunting, I think is the word. I read that part a few times, and it's obvious it comes from personal experience. It's eloquent and beautiful and horrible all at the same time. Beautiful because of the inspiration and detail that went into it, but horrible because no one should have to experience that. But Anna is a strong girl, I know she'll get through it :)


I think I completely fawned over the ending. Poor Anna, the nightmares shake her up so bad, but Mike just seems to sense when something's wrong, and always knows exactly what to do to make her feel better. The kiss, and them being cuddled up together in bed, was so sweet and innocent, I just adored it. I love that Mike has no bad intentions, he just cares that she's safe and feeling alright. He's the perfect boyfriend to her, but what could we expect from Mike? He does seem to have that 'sense' for knowing how others feel, and you portray it so well.


Well, I'm still so curious about what's going to happen to them, with all of the bad people and memories haunting Anna. But I'm enjoying their happiness for now, and I hope they'll continue to stick together, since when they're apart is when they start to have problems. Beautiful chapter, it was so nice to read and take my mind off other things. I'll really be looking forward to your next update :)

From: wz

Date: 2014-10-21

Chapter: 13

Mike is usually very protective and I like how he keeps treating her well through the chapter and their fictional life here, because with people like that ugly woman that close to her, things only work the wrong way. It's sad to see they are always struggling to stay together, but in the end they were hugged close and that made me happy. Hopefully Anna will be free from her chains with Mike.

From: nab

Date: 2014-10-20

Chapter: 13

Yeah. You updated. Poor Anna. She's really trying to be strong, and she IS strong. But sometimes life gets too overwhelming. I'm glad she's starting to really trust Mike. And I love that she has friends now. Rated.

From: nab

Date: 2014-09-15

Chapter: 12

Updates??? *pouts* please update soon.

From: Emma Shinoda

Date: 2014-07-25

Chapter: 12

This was just... I mean... Wow, I don't even know what to say. First let me say how much I love you for posting such a long chapter! I was so excited to see an update, and then so much happened between them and it was really beautiful. Anna has come such a long way from when she first met Mike, and seeing her transformation has just made me love her character so much more. It's incredible, they are both so good for each other, and meant to be together.


Anna still has so many problems though... She's so young, and she shouldn't have the weight of so many adults forcing her to do things. Caroline seems to have maybe backed off a little, but then there is the mystery guy threatening her...and I'm not sure, but was it the same guy glaring at them in the end of the chapter? That literally sent chills down my spine to read...please don't let him shoot them, he just can't! Ahhh, I'm gonna be thinking about that nonstop until you post the next chapter...


At the beginning was so sad, I could really feel Anna's emotions as if they were happening to me. Everyone bullying her at school is awful, but there was the glimmer of hope with Elisa. I was holding my breath, reading how she was alone, but I was able to breathe again when she and Elisa talked. Maybe once everything is sorted out Anna and Mike can double date with Brad and Elisa haha. Mike giving her the note was such a sweet gesture, I reaaally wanted to know what it said, but Jennifer ruined it! I almost felt my heart break when Mike found the note, I could imagine what he must've been thinking...


But, in the end, they made it past the misunderstandings, and I was so happy for that! Brad is an AMAZING best friend by the way, for forcing Mike to get up and try again with Anna. It's sweet that Mike and Anna have their spot, and both somehow know that the other will come there too.


And wow, that kiss... Again, wordless. It was just so pure, natural, real, beautiful, breathtaking....I read that part so many times, I think I stopped counting after 10. You put in just the right details, and every bit of emotion came through perfectly. I loved how Anna was sure Mike had been with other girls, and her surprise that he hadn't was really adorable! And it's sweet that they waited for each other, it's the most amazing feeling to have a first kiss, especially with someone you love that much. Just when I thought this chapter couldn't get any sweeter, you put in the part where they talked about their dreams for the future, and I could not stop smiling at how perfectly encouraging Mike was to Anna. It's so cute how he actually managed to get her excited and talking, which had been rare for her lately. I just have my fingers crossed that it's not all about to be ruined... This mystery guy needs to leave, Mike and Anna are happy and don't need him!


Ahhh, your writing is always beautiful, but this chapter was exceptional. I felt so many different emotions throughout reading, and I love that. I really can't wait to see where you're going to take this story next! Update soon :)

From: ::~

Date: 2014-07-24

Chapter: 12

Don't worry about the author's note; we're all entitled to our opinions and as this site is simply an extension of leisure time for LP fans, it should never be taken seriously or made into an issue that hurts or depresses us. Opinions should never be plastered on someone without consent, neither should the disagreeing ones feel bad about what they believe and see. Life is still young, and opinions change dangerously in a few years, trust me because I've been through it :)


As with the story, that kiss was really very beautiful. I loved it to bits, it was really descriptive and contained all the feelings that come with kissing the right person for the first time. Very well written indeed! I'm happy that Mike shows his support for Anna and commits, that's a very mature and masculine thing to do, especially when you know the person you love needs it a lot. I hope as the story goes on the characters develop into who they are meant to be, since there are still so many threads that need to be attached. You're improving at your writing skills day by day, welcome back :)

From: nab

Date: 2014-07-24

Chapter: 12

How did I missed this fic? Get ready for the mother of all review. This will cover chapter 1 to 13 *crack knuckles *


I'm really sorry for what Anna is going through. I cannot imagine living a life all alone, exiled from the outside world. Don't get me wrong, I love a little 'me' time. But I'm the kind that like to be myself, but hates to be alone (does that make sense?). I'm hurt that she's trying her hardest to please everyone, that she's putting her own needs behind. And the fact that nobody appreciate her for it made me sadder. The moment she had a sliver of happiness, her stepmom or the bully-what's-her-face takes it away. On a positive note, I love Elisa. Maybe they'll be good friends, the one she'll run to when she has a problem.


Mike! Mikey..Mikey..Mikey.. I love how you portray him in this fic. He's patience in dealing with Anna's anxiety and trust issues is amazing. I know a lot of people would've given up after a few tries. My favorite part was when he shared his dreams with Anna, and encouraging her to pursue hers. I love his relationship with Brad, and knowing that he'd do the same if Brad needs help. The scene with the flowers was adorable.


I read the first half on the way to work, and the other half on the way back. So you can imagine how restless I was at the office. I kept thinking what's gonna happen to Anna? And I kept glancing at the clock every 5 minutes. Haha. Rated 10 for a kickass job. Looking forward to the updates.

From: wz

Date: 2014-07-23

Chapter: 12

Oh finally an update from you! Yay! About the note, our stories are all just fiction and as reviewed on another story too, this isn't a challenge on who does it better, they're all fake.. We can only put the attitudes they show and keep them close to who they are in life, but yes I prefer LP over fiction, this is just a site, and people who take it seriously should really not do that.. About the story, I see we both have a Jennifer that is a real piece of crap, she's absolutely horrible with Anna, does she even know how to behave in public? Popular or not, miss, you're allowed to stab your own self and not others. How unkind of her. Oh and reading about Caroline makes me shiver, she reminds me of one of my aunts and god knows how bad and weird that woman was. And still is probably. Anyway, Mike realizing that he fell in love was so nice to read, and Brad is such a nice friend to always be by his side when he over thinks, or needs a guy to talk to, they've always been such close friends since.. Well since always! The part where Anna seemed to be ungrateful about the names on the tree made me think that she's just so confused and hurt she doesn't realize what's important for her, or she does, but has a few difficulties showing it. And Mike is helping her very well, keeping her close. The kiss made me think of a movie I once saw, I think it was Daredevil? where they kissed almost exactly like you wrote here but THIS story has it much nicer. Way nicer. Plus, it's Mike Shinoda! Hahaha That can't be beat. Anna has strong feelings for him too and it shows through the whole chapter. The part at school made me chuckle so much Hahaha Who wouldn't want him? But then you made me understand what it feels like to read something creepy, I was lying here in bed with my boyfriend asleep but it made me shiver anyway, to read about eyes studying the whole situation like that just brrrr. No. Leave please. That scared me so much! I just hope you'll reveal more soon! I like reading this kind of stories only from you, you're my favorite Anna and Mike writer and most definitely will always be. I'll support you whatever you do because your user name gives me good memories. Update soon <3

From: Hailey

Date: 2014-06-01

Chapter: 11

Added to fav

From: eggplant

Date: 2014-05-21

Chapter: 11

Mike will be back and kick asses don't worry Anna.

From: Emma Shinoda

Date: 2014-05-20

Chapter: 11

Oh my god, Mike needs to come kick that guy's ass! Ugh I don't get how anyone could threaten or hurt Anna, she is so innocent and sweet and lovely...I have a feeling I know who the guy was, but I don't wanna spoil the surprise haha. I am so sad over the fact that Anna had to say goodbye to Mike like that, and then when he sat waiting for her and she never came...my heart literally broke in two. Anna, forget Caroline and that awful guy, to be with Mike and he can protect you <3 He is just the embodiment of a perfect guy in this, honestly. Anna is so lucky to have him, so she better make sure she doesn't lose him.


I am so sorry for the very late review, I've fallen behind a bit on LPFiction, but I really loved your chapter, and I really hope you will continue this. Beautiful as always :)

From: nachteule

Date: 2014-05-20

Chapter: 11

Who the hell was that and what was his problem?! And Carolyn confused the crap out of me in this chapter. The part with Mike and Anna was so sad, I hope that despite everything they can be together in the end and everyone eventually backs off. Great chapter again, can't wait for the next one :)

From: ::~

Date: 2014-05-20

Chapter: 11

I am so sorry that I haven't reviewed this story before! I am so blown away by the amount of talent on this site, and you write, oh my God, so fucking well! I'm not a fan of M/A stories, but you really turned me around with your lovely words, your descriptions, and how cute the entire setting is. I fucking hate Caroline, that is one sick bitch of a person. Like the others are saying, I suspect it was her who sent that guy after Anna. Poor thing, being so young and already having to face life unfairly. I hope Mike understands when she tells him it's okay for them to be together; of course he'd be surprised at her coming around after breaking his heart. But this is just so real and adorable. You're a real writer, and I honestly can't wait to read more from you. Rated 10! Take care, update soon! Cheers.

From: NatalyT

Date: 2014-05-19

Chapter: 11

omg rob?? why do they all go against their relationship? they're so cutey and snuggly.. wtf people and carol I fkin hate her omg I bett she sent the guy that hurt anna threatening or knows him

From: wz

Date: 2014-05-19

Chapter: 11

WAIT WAS THAT ROB?!

Reviews 1 to 20 of 55