LPfiction

Reviews

Like Shining Oil... by Emma Shinoda

Add review

From: BradRockZ

Date: 2014-12-10

Chapter: 1

Wow....it touched my heart.

I just don't know what to say...it's beyond amazing.

From: nachteule

Date: 2014-11-25

Chapter: 1

I'm so sorry that it's taken me so long to review this. This was amazing, but so sad and hopeless. The way you described his emotions was incredible, I felt so bad for him all the way through; just slowly being noticed less and less by everyone around him. I really related to this and it touched me like you wouldn't believe. Thank you so much for sharing. It was great to see your name on the front page again too.

From: Crimson

Date: 2014-11-24

Chapter: 1

Oh gosh that was so terribly sad, but so amazing. To read about him going day to day through his pain was so hurtful. He just got worse and worse and nothing could fix that. I wish people tried harder, but there really wasn't much they could do. What if Mike and Chester had a private session? Would he have felt any better? Could it have fixed him? We'll never know and I can't even imagine the horror and guilt his family and his friends are going to feel when they find him. Poor guy ... even his lighter didn't work. You write so well ... this was an amazing piece. Thank you so much for sharing this! It fit so well with the lyrics you used. Now, I need to go find some tissues.

From: eggplant

Date: 2014-11-24

Chapter: 1

Sad story, goes along with my bad days.

From: Mikey boy

Date: 2014-11-24

Chapter: 1

Oh my god, I can't believe how much this touched me... It made me cry so hard, and with every line of the lyrics you used, I felt my heart literally sink and I could never express how deeply this touched me, how much it stuck with me, and how deeply it entered to my own emotions. I just... I could never say how much I can relate to this, and feeling this way, when you're alone and nobody loves you, and when you have no other choice but to hurt yourself, because the pain that you feel when you do it is so so small compared to the powerful shadows around you that can't let you live... I can't stop crying, and this will be with me for too long, if not forever. I was in awe the whole time, since the very first word, since that line of the song, that matched perfectly to this wonderfully written story. You just used everything so well, every decription of emotion, everything. It made me cry too, not only because Chester's life took the way of no return, but also because I know how it feels, and I don't want to write it here, but you know what I mean, I do feel that it was hard for you to write this too. Because, yes, going through the darkest times can let you write this beautiful piece of true emotion. I just have no other choice but to use some of the lines that touched more, the ones I know that have been with you too.

"It's almost appealing, the idea of never having to feel again. Never having to fake another smile. Never having to fight against myself with every intake of air." How... How did you do this? It's almost as if you had my heart in you and you wrote this from there, because these are some of the emotions that have been with me for so long. I know it comes from deep inside of your heart too, and that's why it was able to touch me so deep.

"My lighter. When I flick it on and stare at the small orange flame, it gives me a sense of calm, and even a bit of hope. Maybe one day I'll be able to relight the fire inside me. I just need to find a match that can break through the icy walls I've built around myself..." What can I say more than this, it's a powerful feeling that won't leave you, won't ever let you go, unless you do something to take the pain out, in the worst ways.

"Those voices in my head, they don't want me to see the truth. They don't want me to fix myself. And with each day, each grappling struggle for power and control, I'm beginning to cave in more and more. I'm beginning to agree with them, because it's just too damn painful to fight them any longer." When you're so devastated it's so true that nothing can save you anymore, and what hurt me the most, was that he was alone, and nobody seemed to notice how down he had fallen. And even if they did, it was too little, it was too late.

"No matter how hard it tries, the sun can't light the sky forever. There will always be dark things in the world, and no one can remain sunny all the time. But, no matter how bad the darkness seems, no matter how plunged into the black abyss we may feel, the sun doesn't give up. It rises again, each and every day, returning to its job of lighting the world. To me, it's the picture of strength and determination, and I wish I could find even half as much strength within myself." This was such a perfect metaphor, it made me cry again, seeing how hopeless things were, and there was no way out...

"I'm an outsider. I'm staring through the window, and I can still see the spark of life, but I can't grasp it. I can't reach it, and with a sinking feeling in the pit of my stomach I realize that I never will again." I just... I can never be able to write more, cause I just can't describe how deep this was. And then the end, the song, 'miss me when I'm gone', I just... It makes me cry again, it was like so deep and so... alluring and haunting, but so beautiful. Thank you so much for sharing this emotionally powerful story, you are an amazing person! This will be one of my most favorites, and although I have so much to say, words are powerless sometimes, at times like this. I just... Thank you again <3

From: Dinahsaur

Date: 2014-11-23

Chapter: 1

I am absolutely speechless. Let me take a moment.


Yes, I am speechless. It has been years since I ever read something this angst filled, and I can swear, this is probably the best one yet. You amazed me with your natural ability to form a story straight out of a few verses of a song. The emotion. God damn. I’m still feeling shaken. It was as though I could see it all happen in front of me, in my mind; as if I was Chester, and I could feel it all. It’s so deep, it’s so very deep… And I think you chose the best expression of your own personal thoughts by writing this down. It touched me very, very deeply.


I had been hoping that Chester wouldn’t kill himself, but at that moment when Mike gave up on him and left, I almost knew that that would be what he would resort to. Feeling ignored, left out, and unwanted are the worst poverties of the world. They consume humans, leaving them empty. And Chester was so far gone from who he had been, that he could not find the strength in him to own up to the embarrassment of what he had done and become alright again. I swear, being unloved and unwanted… It’s like a sword. Piercing straight through your chest, where you don’t even know what to do with yourself any longer. And sadly, so many people just end themselves.


This has really hit my heart. I think this is probably the best of all your work, and I am so happy I got to read it. It captivated me, entranced me, captivated me, and had me glued with attention. Good writing is such a rarity nowadays, and you truly are one of the best ones. Thank you Emma, this was an excellent story. I will remember it forever.


And also, the connection that Chester had with the comfort of the lighter was described so vividly, it felt like I could hear the hiss of the flame and smell the smoke and watch it dance… Though never in my life have I used one. It just goes to show how strong your writing is, and how truly you can take a reader on an emotive and absolutely engaging journey. Thank you for this. Rated, without a doubt.

From: paula orlandini

Date: 2014-11-22

Chapter: 1

Beautiful story.

Too sad for me, I cry when Chez is so depressed and hopeless.

But your style is amazing.

Great job.

From: Hazle Grace

Date: 2014-11-22

Chapter: 1

I love it. It's so sad though (like I'm one to talk). Still, your work is so fantastic and I love reading it.

From: Screamingsilently

Date: 2014-11-22

Chapter: 1

Best oneshot so far on Lpf :)) depressing Chester is saddest, I hate love it.

From: wz

Date: 2014-11-22

Chapter: 1

That was actually so intense. I read it with attentive eyes and scrolled through with a very strong interest. Honest opinion, you do this kind of stories so much better than anything, it's like you're made for angst or drama described in a short paragraph. Short, as in, shorter than multi chapter stories, but as in one shot, this one is the longest I've ever seen in a long time. Fantastic job, I can't believe how realistic every emotion was described. The ending almost killed me with utter sadness, it was impossible.. You're really really skilled. Rated!

From: nab

Date: 2014-11-21

Chapter: 1

Oh my goodness...that was unexpected. You're an amazing author. I love how you capture the angst perfectly, without over doing it. I was hoping that when Mike went to see him, Chester would learn to live again. Or that Talinda will be home in time to save him. It pains me to read how hurt and excluded he felt. Thanks for writing an amazing fic. Rated.

Reviews 1 to 11 of 11