LPfiction

Reviews

Once Upon A Time by BradRockZ

Add review

From: nab

Date: 2016-02-29

Chapter: 5

//review for story#5//

Poor Robbie. Imagine waking up and realizing you've lost your hearing. I would be devastated. I'm assuming that the bells were so high pitched that only a few could hear, especially animals. That's why there was no animal or crops growing there.


Although, I wish they would have found out more about the bell. I wanna know its story. How did it became a cursed object.


Anyway, thanks for sharing this with us.

From: nab

Date: 2016-02-29

Chapter: 5

//review for story#4//

Holy Shinoda! How did I missed this? Dead by the door is freakin amazing. The storyline caught me kff guard. At first I thought Dave was going to smuggle them out of the city or something.


My favorite part was when they walked into the bar, their bodies knocked out. I had to reread it several times to make sure I didn't misinterpreted it. But damn, maria... You're writing has improved significantly. It has always amazes me when a writer can 'transport' us readers into their fictional world. It was as if I was there at the bar.


Great work. Rated. Now I'm off to read the next one. Review will come soon.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2016-02-20

Chapter: 5

So did the bells make Rob lose his hearing? But he could hear the bells. Obviously it had something to do with the barn and the animals...but they never went to find out :( At least Rob's hearing was able to be fixed and his friends were wonderful enough to give up their farm to pay for it.


I felt bad for the bunny. It was sweet of Brad to try and save it though.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2016-02-02

Chapter: 4

This one was sad. Not sad like Shapeshifter Brad eating his own kids or Mike the Pirate being put to death via his horny-ness, or Bird Chester crying himself to death...but like really sad, man.


How awful that they live in a place where they have to hide their "real" feelings for each other. I was seriously wondering where this was going to go...but then you made Dave this....idek. Magician? No, too lame a word. Sorcerer? We'll go with Sorcerer.


And he's full of wisdom and sight and kind of God-like, almost. And he lives in a tall tower and it was just too cool. I was geeking out over that part a little bit.


But then...they died at the door! Like, really died! And it was like, wha? ...dude, Dave, you killed them! And, where's he stashing the bodies? That's what I want to know. Cops be all over him one of these days.


Anyway, so their souls got to cross over into a world where they could be "together" but they're all alone (other than other cute gay couple - bennoda) ...but still, their friends and family are gone :( that was sad too.


I think it's quite the trade to think about. Would you be willing to give up everyone else in your life just to be with that one person? The thing is...is that they didn't have the choice. Dave JUST DID IT.


So now I picture Brad and Rob forever walking around moaning like the Vampire Lestat...."I was never given a choice."


I love these stories :) Really, I do. They're so much fun to read. I'm so happy you decided to do this series. It's always a little smack of sunshine into my day, even when people are dying and birds are crying and pirates are horny. Yeah, love them all anyway.


p.s. I think this one would make a great chapter story, if you ever wanted to expand it.

From: Razorzout

Date: 2016-01-15

Chapter: 3

Maria these are wonderful! I love how the last one ended very much, it was like a mindfuck. I loved how sad the first one was, and I adored Linkin Park sailors. I hope you update this soon! Also, to answer your review on "Disorder", I'm sure I can get wattpad again, I'll see you there. :)

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2016-01-10

Chapter: 3

I love this. This is so fantastic. I love this whole little series you're doing. I'm a lover of fantasy, so this hits me in all the right places.


I knew there was something in the woods, but didn't really guess that it was Brad. And the part at the end "he called them little lamb and little deer" was just....almost made my jaw drop. Fantastic.


So in my mind, just as Brad is this "beast" the little girls were shape shifters too....and they could turn into a lamb and deer. Right? So when Brad killed them, they were in their animal form. Or am I way off? lol well, that's how it went in my head XD


I feel bad for Chester. How awful/guilty he must feel because he lost both kids while under his care. As a parent, I can't even imagine how devastating that would be.


I can't wait till you update this next. These stories are like a breath of fresh air :)


P.S. I'm currently working on the third chapter to The Pet and I'm going to dedicate it to you lol you'll understand why when I post it XD

From: nab

Date: 2016-01-10

Chapter: 3

His own kids?!! Harsh. I couldn't imagine what Chester is thinking when he realized about 'lamb' and 'deer'. Imagine cooking and eating that meat? I kept thinking that the beast will return to the cottage and eat Chester. *shivers*.


I think this is the best chapter yet. The plot was amazing and the ending was mind blowing. Rated.

From: nab

Date: 2016-01-08

Chapter: 2

Brad is BLAND? Did those words came out of YOU?!! You're his biggest fan (that I know of). Hahahaha.


The pace of the fic was quick. I stared at the screen when I reached the end, not knowing what to think of mike's demise. Poor dude. Karma is a bitch. Haha.

From: Emma Shinoda

Date: 2016-01-07

Chapter: 2

Mike, Mike, Mike... JUST KEEP IT IN YOUR PANTS DUDE, IT'S A MATTER OF LIFE AND DEATH HERE. *sigh* Even though, I gotta say, the ending shocked me a bit with just how quickly it all unraveled, I can't find it in me to feel sorry for Mike. It's like karma, ya know? I feel more for his crew, that they lost their friend and crew mate. Also, huge kudos on portraying the mermaids in a way so different from the norm, I loved reading the descriptions of them and the fight scene. And one more thing, you don't need to apologize for the character death going on in this story, not at all. I can't speak for everyone, but I personally am a sick, twisted person and love some character death among the usual happy endings haha. So, once again, fantastic job, I really enjoyed it!

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2015-12-29

Chapter: 2

I got to tell you, I'm lovin' the tragedy going on in these stories. Seriously. It's so dark, and who doesn't love a little darkness amongst all the lollipops and unicorns?


Poor Mike...and before I go into "poor Mike" let me just say bravo! for representin' mermaids correctly. So often they end up more like Disney characters than the monsters they really were. I love the imagery of the deadly teeth and the blood in the water.


Tis perfect.


Now, poor Mike. And I say poor Mike, not because I actually like or feel bad for his character, because I don't, but because he set out to be great, and ended up being an embarrassment. And THAT is seriously tragic.


I can't believe you called Brad bland. Dude. Cold.


Anyway, I love the irony that of all the "great" sailors on board, Mike is the one defeated because he can't keep his game in his pants long enough to realize SHE WAS THE ENEMY.


I like the idea of mixing magic with pirates, too. Or, I took them to be pirates. And who doesn't love pirates?


If I could rate this story a second time, I would :)

From: Dead_Buddy

Date: 2015-12-26

Chapter: 1

I love the bird idea. It makes for such a Disney style fairy tale type story!! Talking animals and love and all the beautiful things. If you read it that way, you could say that Chester was a wild bird and Mike a pet bird whose owner is Rob and Joe is like some mystical veterinarian. LOL This was so... Almost felt dreamlike and kinda like poetry but also a storybook. It was so cute. Bird Chester is so cute. Sadly, sad endings are actually more realistic but God I was really rooting for them to get back together. Very nice story Maria :)

From: nab

Date: 2015-12-26

Chapter: 1

You got me at 'once upon a time'. You KNOW it's gonna be a good story when it starts with that line. What happened to Mike? And I couldn't imagine how sad and frustrated Chester must be, day by day waiting for his lost love.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2015-12-26

Chapter: 1

Okay, so now you're going to think I'm weird. Or maybe you're the weird one...or we both are. But....are they birds or not?


I think it was because the first line was "there lived two love birds" ....and so from that point forward, I have "bird Chester and bird Mike" in my head. And somehow it worked! Chester was a yellow/brown bird (in my head) and Mike was more blue. They flew together to the river and were gathering sticks for a nest when Mike disappeared.


Admittedly their first bird kiss was awkward in my mind, but hey, I'm not hatin' on bird smoochin'.


So then Chester meets Rob and Joe and it's like, ok, so the bird can talk.


Then he gets the pearl in the bag and he's trying to cry and I'm thinking, "Little bird tears!"


But then reading back through it, Mike and Chester weren't actually birds, were they?


Oi.


But birds or not, the story was good and tragic. I actually thought maybe the ending would have the pearl glowing, but it didn't. Things don't always work out that way. I used to work in counseling, and one of the things we used to tell people who were going through grief, was that you had to feel it to heal it. And that's what I thought of when bird Chester was trying to cry enough to bring bird Mike back. He was working through it - feeling it. And somedays you can't cry anymore, and somedays you feel nothing - and it's all part of the process.


Anywho, great job! Love the concept - birds or no birds. And it's okay that there's no happy ending. Sometimes your fellow love bird gets eaten by a bear, and that's just how life goes.


Rated :)

From: Emma Shinoda

Date: 2015-12-26

Chapter: 1

Oh my gosh, that was so sad... Chester tried all his life to revive Mike and he just couldn't do it... I can't even imagine an entire lifetime spent crying, hoping for relief and never achieving it... This struck me hard, I don't even have words for it. But it was so poetic, and simply beautiful. You have a knack for this type of writing, extremely well done! Rated.

Reviews 1 to 14 of 14