LPfiction

Reviews

roommates. by frostfall

Add review

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-07-21

Chapter: 19

Now. The whole "boyfriends" thing in the cafe, this was both funny and I agree with Chester...like, why would she assume that? But they Chester started playing it up and it's like, what are you doing? lol poor Mike! And through the whole chapter Mike was calling him "Bennington". I loved the singing in the car. I think it was my favorite part. And good for Mike for turning down Anna's offer. And holy crap he's just now telling Chester about the offer to work at his school? How slack is that? And I'm rambling now and probably mixing up the last two chapters since I read them in a row, but Mike doesn't remember anything from the hotel. If and when they ever get "closer" I hope Chester will tell him. At least some of it. Not the jerking off part, obviously, but the making out part. I'm just glad they're starting to open up to each other and I totally believe Chester could bake better cupcakes and it was nice of Dave to let him have the night off, just to spend time with Mike. Mike needs that. The line about Mike makes him feel like he's finally home was really sweet.


Thank you for this story! I really enjoy it and can't wait to see what's next for these two, and oh! they were holding hands at the end :)

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-07-21

Chapter: 19

So I missed a chapter! This is for chapter 18:


I love that Mike and Chester are close enough for the both of them to open up about their crappy past relationships. I feel bad for Chester having to go through what he did with Sam. But I can see he's not only moved on, he's moved on in a healthy way, which is fantastic. I love it.


And Mike. Wow. That whole thing with Mark is just wow. Mark started it, and then blamed Mike? What the hell? What an ass. I'm glad he's no longer around. And Mike, being left questioning his worth. When he was talking about Mark getting rough with him during sex and not stopping/listening...my heart just sank. But that also means Mike's a bottom, right? lol no idea why my mind just went there during this serious moment. Anyway. And with Anna....A) don't go to lunch with her. No need to. Why would you torture yourself like that, Mike? ....B) She cheated on him, and then invited him to the wedding. I can't even. ...C) Rob was supposed to be his friend too. So they both did him wrong.


Mike's really been through a rough past. I'm really happy he has Chester now. Even as just a roommate. He's something positive in his life.

From: Violet Raven

Date: 2018-07-21

Chapter: 19

Finally I managed to catch up with your story, so my comment is partially about the previous chapter too. Which was really heavy on emotions. Their dialogue about how Mike thinks there's something wrong with him and that everything is his fault was so fucking painful to read. It's even worse because I have a close friend who is doing this, who takes blame just for everything. I understand why Mike thinks he's at fault, but God, I hope Chester manages to help him overcome this. He seemed to always know the right thing to say, so I have faith in him.


This chappie was much more lighthearted. Their jamming out was amazing. Pokémon rules. :D And the barista just assuming they are a couple and hot they went with it. :D But there were more serious moments too, of course. Chester's line about finally feeling like he's home made me smile like crazy. And Mike really made a big progress. I'm proud of him.

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-07-21

Chapter: 19

I looooove their little jam session, so cute. And the fact it inspires Mike to ask Chester out, just so adorable, as is the whole exchange with between them and the barista. It's great that people around them, even strangers, mistake them for a couple. They have such great chemistry, even if Mike is still in denial. (unless he's drunk!) Their flirting is just too cute, even if Chester does take all the opportunities to give Mike a hard time and make him blush. Which is also cute. Blushing Mike... mmmmm, so adorable.


That whole school conversation was strange to me, I guess because it seems like it's been a long time since the art show, but I'd have to go back and re-read it. I'm guessing it wasn't too long ago. I wish Chester had been more forthcoming about his feelings for Mike, though I understand his reasoning, to a degree. Not sure why Mike reacted the way he did to Chester's "home" confession, but like most things, I guess we'll find out. Eventually.


I'm glad that they will not be having dinner with Anna and Rob. I hope Mike has decided to really try to move on, forgiveness or not. And the fact that he opened up to Chester, then admitted he'd never done that before- I love that he's letting himself be vulnerable and honest with Chester. Can't WAIT for the next part of this, because now Mike is almost emotionally ready for a relationship, and they are so great together. :)

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-07-21

Chapter: 18

Soooo.... They ARE great as a couple, the lady in the cafe picked up on that nicely ;) But good things take time - at least that's what my grandma used to say and I believe she was right. If Mike isn't ready, he isn't ready. And Chester really accepting his feelings would also help.

And I don't know why you think that the ending should be different? I liked it a lot. I'm so glad that Mike sees the urge to change things and that he is willing to let Chester help him with that. To let Chester grab his hand in the end is so tender and such a big step that closes this act in the most perfect way!

I really like that Mike is honest when Chester asks him if he is ok. It's so hard to honestly answer this question and admitting that the answer might be "no". So it's great that he manages that as well. And Mike saying no to a dinner with Anna and Rob is even more that he can be proud of!

Ok, I see that I'm jumping in my thoughts here, lies a lot. Sorry for that. This story always makes me really excited and I love reading the new chapters. And before this gets more weird, I finish off this review and tell you once more that I can't wait to read act three!

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-07-09

Chapter: 18

I had to read the chapter twice before I was able to write a review. Because sooo much happened. Or not really happened, but there are so many information I had to work through ;)

Chester's and Sam's relationship, the way he talks about it. And then Mikes past... I expected something like this but it is really hard to read how he is struggling with everything. With his first love and the abusive nature of it (even though he says that it was never forced, it sounded like a really unhealthy relationship and really screwed with his mind). Anna and Rob... Glad that he opened up about it though. And that he allows Chester to comfort him now. He deserves to be cared about and Ches os doing a great job here!

And I think they shouldn't meet. Because Chester is right - you don't need them to find closure, closure can only be found within yourself and Mike needs to learn to do what is best for him and not what he thinks others expect him to do!

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-07-04

Chapter: 18

So I guess Mike had managed to put together that Chester was in an emotionally abusive marriage, and rather than straight up tell Chester about this own issues, gets Chester to talk first so he can confirm his suspicions and then commiserate? That... takes so much more effort than just saying what's on your own mind, Mike! Jeez.


But then Mike started talking, and I have to say, you're doing a brilliant job conveying his uncertainty and pain and his ghosts. The whole time he's telling Chester about Mark my heart ached for him. Emotional manipulation/abuse is the worst, that shit lasts forever. It's hard not to believe what someone says is true, hard to get that out of your head. And then Chester sitting there, thinking about how he's just realized he's in love with Mike... kudos to him for not blurting it out. It would have been the wrong time. As much as I am ready for them to fuck, lol...


What Anna and Rob did - that's just inexcusable. So, no, I don't see any reason to go on this date, but that's me. I say screw them both and get on with your life, Mike. But maybe he needs to confront them. And maybe Chester is the strength he needs beside him to get the closure he needs. Either way you write it, it's going to be awesome.

From: bag_full_of_stars

Date: 2018-07-03

Chapter: 18

Nice chapter!!!

Yes,they should meet Anna and Rob so he will understand how much Ches loves him.

And Chester should tell him about the night at the hotel.

:)

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-06-24

Chapter: 17

And I forgot to say whoop! I got to be review 100 :D and congrats on making it to 100 reviews! It's an awesome story and one of my favorites on the boards atm.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-06-24

Chapter: 17

Hey, sorry my review is late! I'm so far behind on reading updates, but I'm always happy to see this story hit the top of the list!


First, sheesh. Mike is crazy! Crazy horny! He's so forceful and certain and I kind of liked him manhandling Chester. But he's also drunk, and even though part of me was cheering all this on, the other part of me was very happy to see Chester put a stop to it all.


Mike's comment about Mark was troubling...and then him bringing up Anna as well. He just needs hug. He's clearly got self-esteem issues going on. And Chester only said no because he's drunk. I hope they can talk it out in the morning and I'm dying to hear all about Mike's past. So hurry!


Chester in the bathroom...and I love the admission that this isn't the first time he's jerked off to thoughts of roommate. And now he's got something more tangible than fantasy to think about while he's doing it.


But I love his entire moral dilemma of "is this okay" even though it's not the first time. It was great. And the call to Talinda was the icing on the cake for me on that issue. She's such a good friend and I'm glad he has her.


So now all I can say is, great chapter and I can't wait for the next!

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-06-16

Chapter: 17

Ok, so I've finally recovered enough from my Shinoda hangover to review this. I read this in the LA airport about 2 hours after I met the man, so I can't describe to you all the feels :)


The whole bit with Mike shoving Chester through the door over the hotel room, holy crap, that was hottttt. And this --> "He towers over Chester, oozing of dominance and hunger. A wicked grin graces Mike’s lips as he clamps Chester’s wrists above his head, settling himself over Chester. He plants his thigh between each side of Chester's. His sock-covered feet brush against Chester's clothed knees." Fuuucccckkkk. I can't wait for you to write the slash scene that's coming, because... fuck.


Even thought I REALLY wanted them to keep going, kudos to Chester for stopping, even though Mike's reaction broke my heart. :( I love him so much in this I just want to scoop him up and hug him. Baby. And then Chester getting him to go to sleep by promising sex tomorrow, that so sounds like something that would work on a drunk person, haha. Omg, I can't wait. But I'm sure you won't appease me that easily. They won't get to it for like, 10 more chapters or something agonizing. ;)


I don't even have words for that scene in the bathroom. Damn. I love how you showed Chester's headspace. Damn.


Talinda in bed with a woman! O.o


Lol'ed over the Freud part, haha! I can imagine real life Chester feeling that way/saying that. That convo with Talinda is awesome, even if it didn't really make Chester feel better. (I'm sorry this review is crap.) And then my heart just squeezed when Chester covered Mike with the quilt. <3 These two, <3 And the next morning, Mike wants to cuddle and kiss and gets sick, damn it. Damn it, damn it, I told you that you were going to torture us for several more chapters.


I can't wait for them to talk it out. Mike is going to be a mess, isn't he? And I don't know how but even in a chapter with so many things happening, you still manage to raise more questions. Who's Mark? Jeez. I can't wait to get Mike's whole story. And Chester realizing that he's fallen for Mike- I mean, hello? We knew that chapters ago.


I will try to be patient but... I really just need you to write this story.

From: Violet Raven

Date: 2018-06-03

Chapter: 15

Kiss, oh kiss, yay!!! :O Finally we're getting there. :D I don't even know what is better - Chester's light peck before which left them both confused, or... well, this. :D Wrong, Chester - Mike should definitely get drunk more often.


Joking aside. I have a feeling that if Mike is even gonna remember, he will regret it in the morning. Which just sucks. But hey. At least he didn't out them both publicly. I was a bit afraid that when he is smashed like that, he won't be careful and tell everyone him and Ches aren't actually dating.


Seriously, what HAPPENED. What Anna did to Mike? What Rob did to Mike? Why is Mike so emotionally damaged?

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-06-02

Chapter: 15

They kissed!!!! Ok, Ches gave him a peck, but still!! There was a physical contact that was more then a hug or a careful touching of the shoulder. Yes, that is exactly what we want!

But Ches is also right, he can't do anything now, he needs a sober Mike to get further in their relationship, crossing borders while the other is drunk will only tear them apart.

Oh and btw, do you know what we want even more then Mike and Ches hooking up? ANSWERS! I need them, now! (sorry, I got a bit swept up in the moment) What did Anna do and why did Rob got Mike drunk and why is Mike the way he is and why is Anna telling Ches half of the story and why did Mike even got all this drinks when he knows that he will probably loose control?! You see, so many questions... If I can't sleep tonight, I will blame you ;)


p.s. Still love the story of course and can't wait to read the next chapter <3

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-05-31

Chapter: 15

OMG. I sent you an email earlier because- that cliffhanger, OMG. I was reading on my phone at work and it's too hard to do reviews on my phone. But Chester cannot hook up with Drunk Mike not matter how much we all want them together! Ahhhh! But the kiss in front of Rob and Chester talking to Anna and I HAVE TO KNOW WHAT SHE DID I SWEAR YOU BETTER TELL US and WHY DID ROB GET MIKE DRUNK. I'm so elevated over this entire chapter. And I love your writing but I hate waiting for updates and I need you to just go ahead and update the next chapter because MIKE. OMG. /worst review ever.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-05-31

Chapter: 15

Oi. Okay. Going out on a limb here and saying that Anna had an abortion. And she didn't tell Mike until after it happened. Not sure where that came from, but that's the impression I got.


And Chester kissed him! Yeah, it was just a peck, but still! And what the hell, Rob? Taking Mike away just to get him drunk? Because it doesn't make sense that Mike would suddenly drink himself under, so what's up with Rob?


And now they have a room and Mike is kissing him....it's going to be bad :( Mike's drunk, really drunk and ugh. Didn't see it going this way. I wonder what Chester will do. Cruel cliffhanger!! Because I want all the kisses and the making out, but I want Mike to be in his right mind when it happens *sigh*


Although, that little comment about Mike looking like he's in love gives me hope :)

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-05-24

Chapter: 13

I agree with lpfan503 - let them kiss!! Have some mercy on these boys!! My gosh. In the bathroom. I thought for sure. They. Were. Right. There. and then - well, we know what happened. Which was funny in its own right, but dammit, man! I wanted a kiss more than I wanted to laugh.


The dancing part was great. And I won't bother with bringing up the second almost kiss. But I love their chemistry and you can see it growing and coming together so tightly. It's beautiful. A slow romance brewing under the surface.


Anna seems nice (and Rob!) but yeah, not sure why Mike cares so much. They should have done Chester's idea and headed off to eat popcorn and watch B-rated movies. I LOVE B-rated movies.


Can't wait to see what happens next...hope there will be some actual kissing soon :D

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-05-21

Chapter: 13

You are absolutely KILLING me with these almost kisses. I mean. Holy Hell. I can't stand it. LET THEM KISS.


I love MB20, I have since they started. However, I absolutely hate that song because of some drama attached to it. Anyway, it works in your story (you may want to go through and check you italics, though, something got off somewhere) and I just want them to kiss, damnit. Their back and forth over Chester's running clothes had me smiling like an idiot. It was just so cute. LET THEM KISS. When they finally get around to it, it will be the most epic kiss of all times, I just know it.


Btw, what's the deal with Anna? I don't get why Mike even cares to be around these people. Oh, and LET THEM KISS.

From: Yassim

Date: 2018-05-14

Chapter: 13

Ok, I stayed up waaaaaaay too late last night reading this, so I was basically incoherent and wouldn't have been able to leave a decently written review ;)


I am totally loving this. SO MUCH. Like you have no idea. It's like when you get something you never knew you wanted and you're just like, OMG THIS IS PERFECT. Is this too much allcaps??? Oh well. I love you. I love this story. I can't wait for me <3 <3

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-05-10

Chapter: 13

haha when Chester corrected them with "boyfriend" I about died!! Like, holy crap! No you didn't! But he did.


I loved this line: Objectively, he’s pretty cute. But not enough to justify leaving Mike for.


lol cracked me up.


I can totally relate to why this chapter was so hard to work on. People like that are so hurtful and infuriating. I think Chester handled it all really well...even when he let it slip, he did a good job. Especially the ending. And Mike did too. I'm curious now to hear more about his high school years/past and if that's what brought him to the place he is now...being so introverted and such.


I'm glad Anna isn't like these other assholes. *sigh* what a chapter! For what it's worth, I think you did a great job with it. The pacing was great and so was the dialogue. I loved the small moment when Mike put his hand on Chester's leg under the table and when Chester called him "babe" LOL my heavens.

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-05-09

Chapter: 13

Oh, god, please tell me that you are going to tell us what Mike's fetishes are. Because. Yes.


I also hope you're gonna tell us why Mike is even at this wedding. There's no way I'd go watch my ex get married. Especially since it seems there's something about their breakup- that Mike didn't want it- that makes me wonder why Anna would torture him by wanting him there. Seriously. I need to know what happened between them.


Something about the way Mike tells Chester not to stick ups for him, while not making eye contact, was very powerful. I liked that exchange, it was very well written. The whole scene with Kyle was written well, I could feel the tension. I was nervous when Mike stood up for himself, and for Chester... and what he said about Chester, he really means all of that, doesn't he? Ugh. I just love this story. I am glad Chester kept his cool and anxious to see what their conversation is like when Chester catches up with Mike. I have to say I'm really hoping for a back up against the wall full on passionate make out session! Seems like a logical way to deal with all the complicated repressed feelings Mike has for Chester!

Reviews 1 to 20 of 82