LPfiction

Reviews

Keys to the Kingdom by A.N.

To add a review to this story, please log in.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-11-25

Chapter: 10

Oh my. Wow. Sooo much going on in this chapter! Gotta say, it's freaking me out a little. Where to start?


Anna and her mom. All was good until she called Rob out and then he attacked her! And it was like all the sudden, this nice - but somewhat slow - guy act was gone and he's this mean, aggressive person! I'm like, what??? And I mean all of that in a good way. Totally unexpected! and what will she do now? Will she tell? And that was Anna's mom! Good Lord, he picked one of the worst people to flip out on.


And Talinda. Holy cow, I felt bad for her. She's so direct about her old life. And the thing about the disease, that really broke my heart. I can't even imagine how that would feel, to see your loved ones die from something you think is a death sentence, only to find out there's a cure. I'm guessing it's a cure only for the rich, right? I am glad she's away from her old life, and that she found Jason, who is being so sweet and kind here.


And poor Rob :( I'm glad he's got Jason, and hopefully he can open up to him one day and share about his past. I loved the city they went to and especially the air ships :D I hope they get to ride in one later, that would be really neat.


Okay...ready for more surprises! And what role is Talinda going to play in this now? I'm curious about her. Especially if she becomes a sore spot for Anna..living in the same place as Mike and she's a former sex slave.

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-11-21

Chapter: 10

Really happy about this update! And about the introduction of new characters!!


Anna's mum is scary af (but really well written!) and I really hope that she felt threatened enough by Rob's reaction so that she shuts up about whatever she knows. It is his decision what he wants to do with his future and also with his past, not hers.


Talinda was a big surprise but it's nice to bring her into the picture. First because I adore Jason for being so unbelievable kind. Second because I think it will do Rob good to talk to someone that has been through similar things. It made him not really opening up to Jason but at least a few things are out there now and he can try to actually process them and not just ignore them...


Jason and Rob together are just so sweet. I like how tender they are together and how much they just click. There are not a lot of people that I just feel comfortable being around with (like just doing different things but still together somehow), so they should really cherish that :)

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-10-26

Chapter: 9

I was so happy to see you update this :) Gosh, so Rob is a prince!!! I love that, because now he and Jay can get married and it will be legit :D I know, wishful thinking on my part. But stillllll. I want it. Don't care about the rest, just want Rob and Jason together lol I'm such a girl.


It's cool how the dragon can talk to Rob/Jason. And even cooler that Rob can share the dragon's memories. But obviously this causes problems....so now you need to update again so I can find out what will happen.


Anna was a real piece of work in this chapter. I'm glad she came to her senses at the end.

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-10-26

Chapter: 9

Ok, I think out presumptions were confirmed now. Rob is basically the enemy - or at least part of the family that are the enemies... Not good. I totally understand why he wanted answers and at the same time didn't want to have them. Because this is a lot to handle.


He can either ignore it and try to live his life with Jason - but at some point he will have to face his brother and the other people from his family/clan and I'm sure that he won't be able to e.g. kill David or one of the others if it comes to a battle - in the full knowledge that they are his people somehow - to defend either himself or Jason, Mike, their father etc.


I loved the way he was able to speak with the Flamecrest and how he got some of his memories back! Does Flamecrest know more about Rob? Like how he ended up in slavery?! That would probably be helpful to know - just how Rob ended up there and why.


Can't wait to read more <3

From: hattu

Date: 2018-07-17

Chapter: 8

Great Chapter! Love Jason in this and the way he can communicate with flamecrest.

With the glimpse on Robs family I fear for the future of Jason and Robs relationship.

Can imagine King Kenji has enough wisdom to see this as a chance,but I somehow doubt it will be that easy with Robs side....

Curious where this leads !


Please keep going!!

Hattu

From: SonataNocturne

Date: 2018-07-16

Chapter: 7

Finally finished with reading. Dude! You make up a whole new world, words and all that and then add DRAGONS?! O.O We talked about that already briefly, but I am happy to see them in action. Hmm... Evil Bourdon family, that's interesting. I still love Jason in the story. And no no no, my cupcake doesn't kill anyone, at least not Rob! (Lol) xD Can't wait to see what happens next.

From: SonataNocturne

Date: 2018-07-16

Chapter: 7

At the middle of reading chapter 5 I needed to leave a comment. Cause not only how cute Jason is, and how I like Rob in this story, or the fact that Mike seems interesting. But the one that made me go crazy was the bento box! Gosh how I loved them in Japan. Oh and side note kinda- Rob wearing bubbles was hilarious. I hope people weren't too offended at me laughing in a bus filled with people... x)

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-07-14

Chapter: 7

I started reading this yesterday, but didn't get to finish till this morning.


Great chapter. I am so happy/relieved that Jason is back home. And him being able to communicate with the dragon is an extra level of cool in this story. Especially when they talk inside their heads lol Firecrest sounds like a little kid.


And now we find out that Rob is from the other side. Now it's like Romeo and Juliet. I know, cheesy example, but that's what popped into my head while I was reading that part about his brother, and then later while Jason was explaining it.


I really like that Jason told Mike how he felt about his badgering him to have kids. I love that open communication and how Mike realized he'd been wrong to do that.


Even though it's going to complicate things, I really like that we now have the opportunity to find out where Rob came from and what exactly happened. I have to say it really got to me when Rob said he didn't feel free :( I just wanted to hug him. I really hope that he can eventually become independent. That's so important as an adult. As a full grown man. And Jason is so patient with him :) They make a lovely couple in this story and I'm really hoping for a happy ending for the two of them.


Thank you for the update. I really enjoyed it!

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-07-14

Chapter: 7

Did I mention that I love dragons?! I love dragons! And Flamecrest is just awesome. The way he protects Jason and he connects with him. And I also think it is hilarious that he is just lying in front of the gate right now, just freaking everyone out casually :D


Happy that Jason is back and alive! And I understand that he is so careful about his theory that Rob is maybe from the Bourdon's family. it was a wise decision to not talk about it with others around but he should have communicated why he couldn't talk about it when Rob came to see him. I see that he was in pain and tired but the relationship between Jason and Rob is something special and they should not gamble with that!

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-06-21

Chapter: 6

So much going on this chapter. First....Rob might not be lower class afterall? How cool would it be if he turned out to be royalty and he and Jason could get married?? I know, I'm such a fluttery girl lol they're off in war with dragons and people dying and moose carcasses and I'm thinking about hearts and flowers and marriage.


I love that Michael gave everything he could, and I really adored the ending with his dad. That was a nice way to wrap up such a hectic chapter.


I'm glad the dragon lived, even though he's got some injuries..but the whole thing about him and Rob being related(?) was a little confusing. At first I thought it was just, you know, they had a kinship because they've both been slaves, and are now both free slaves, but is there more to it than that?


Ready for the next chapter. Worried for Jason, and I'd like to see more of him and Rob together at home. I know, I know, the state of the world and battles to fight and bad guys to kill, but I want fluffy Rob and Jason <3

From: hattu

Date: 2018-06-18

Chapter: 6

You’re absolutely right, Rob is everything but retarded or slow. Actually he is amazingly talented and a real bookworm with lots of knowledge :)

I really enjoyed the chapter eventhough I had to shudder as the dragon slurp up Rob....urggh

Finally mike and jay catch on the fact that Rob definitely wasn’t born as a salve. So curious where he really comes from.

Had me worried as they got under attack and mike fell. Was so relieved as Rob picked him up.

And then the scene with mike and his father, it was nice to see that they have come to get some more understanding for each other. Liked the wording :)


Still in love with this!!! Can’t wait to read more!!


Thanks

Hattu

From: ninja

Date: 2018-05-27

Chapter: 5

I don't usually read fantasy but this story got stuck in my mind, I fell in love with the caracters and love to always read more.

Jason is badass, I like him. the chhemistry with Rob is really cute.

And that scene between Anna and Mike, that was so hot! I loved it.

can't wait to read more

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-04-27

Chapter: 5

This was a great chapter!! I'm so relieved they set the dragon free instead of killing it. I'm so with Jason on all of this. I love his character. You're doing such a great job with him. He's got a kind heart and watching him "talk" with the dragon was just amazing. I'm glad Dave and his soldiers are okay and hopefully they'll all get home soon so they can eat and sleep in proper beds and get cleaned up. I feel for them. I really do. And now that the bad guy is dead, hopefully relief is coming soon!


I love that Jason took Rob with him through all of this. They make a great pairing in this story. And Mike, even though he's not quite the main character, is very interesting as well. I like how he's just doing what he does and screw what anyone thinks. Talking about his magic, of course.


Thank you for the update. Sorry it took me so long to read, it's been a rough few days.

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-04-26

Chapter: 5

This story is so great! Always when I think I know where it goes, it develops in another direction. And the world you have created is so beautiful and magical, that adds a lot upon to the reading-fun.

And the characters... I seriously fall in love with all of them. Even though they do stupid stuff sometimes (seriously, freeing the dragon?! That could have gone wrong!). Jason and Rob are just adorable together and I think that is a really good example of "love at first sight". They just match, even though Rob is maybe a bit insecure.

Mike is also a really interesting character and I love that you brought Anna into the story, I admire them in real life so it is nice to see them together and happy!

Dave and Brad were coming nicely into the story as well and the bond between Dave and the brothers is awesome to see. And when you described Brad the way you did, I could really picture him in that role.

So, great job, can't wait to read more. Oh and btw, the dragon is actually really kick-ass!

From: hattu

Date: 2018-04-25

Chapter: 5

Wow, you were too fast……well or I was just to slow ;)

Now I had two chapters to read Yey!


Loved the scene in the forest! Oh and Rob, god bless his heart, not wanting to go back to bed because he is afraid Jason would leave. Still would love to have those recipes 😋

Mike and Anna are matching each other so nice…maybe a run away royal wedding? Keeping the protocols can be sooooo boring ;)


Why was I not surprised that Jason snuck off to rescue that dragon? I liked the way he puts everything on one card to save the creature opposed to just kill it.

And after years and years of retarded Rob jokes, it is really nice to read something more like mastermind Rob :))


Thanks for the updates!

Hattu

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-04-23

Chapter: 3

I love dragons!! You have no idea the squeal that popped out of my mouth when I read that. But like Jason, I hope they don't kill it :( if it's a slave, maybe they can just set it free, like Rob.


I really liked the opening scene with Anna and Mike. I feel for her and the wanting to get married already. But with Mike being the older brother and the one who is in line to be king, I get that he has to take extra steps and do everything accordingly. I thought it was very realistic, the bit you put in there about him being a little envious of Jason and how he doesn't carry those restrictions/responsibilities.


The kitchen scene was awesome! I love all things cooking, so that was fun to read. It really made my heart sink a little when Rob didn't want to leave and go back to bed because he's worried his time with Jason is limited.


I liked the story about the poisonous berries. I'm so curious about Michael's character and just how "special" he is. I can totally see how him being able to eat those berries would make him stand out and, as you said, be feared by people.


Jason and Rob are so cute in this. I love how they admire each other for all the right reasons. Their swimming adventure was awesome and I so laughed when Rob started folding the clothes and keeping track of the supplies lol I'm sure it would be hard to break such habits. Jason is very patient with him, and I really like that.


But what a bummer when their swimming make out session was interrupted and by such gruesome circumstances. I hope they can find Dave and figure this all out.


Thank you so much for the update! I always look forward to them :)

From: Violet Raven

Date: 2018-04-06

Chapter: 3

Jay is such a cutie :D I can't believe he just came right out and asked Rob if he likes men and then he just "Yep, me too" and invited him for a hike. Lmao :D


But really, I wish people would be like that. Straightforward. I hate when people just assume something. I hate when people assume about someone that they're gay simply because of how they act or dress, but even more I hate how people always assume that when you look "normal", you are completely straight. I wish we could just come to someone and ask them, no hard feelings, "Do you like girls or guys?" ... But have you ever done that in your real life? With girls, it's quite alright... But when you ask straight dude if he is sraight or not, and it doesn't matter how causally you ask - they always get extremely offended. -_-


Sorry for the rambling. :D Back to the story, namely to Mike and Anna. That scene was HOT! And I love how Mike is head over heels with her. So cute. I only hope that Anna feels the same about him. From the story, it seems like that, but... your A/N about hawk, Anna's crest, and snake, Mike's crest, and how hawks eat snakes... that made me kinda nervous. O.O I dearly hope I'm just being paranoid.


And also, are you saying that real Jason Shinoda is gay? I don't even know what to say, because the situation is quite hilarious - in every fanfiction, we always make a gay out of Mike, who is in reality straight, and if there is a mentioj of Jay in the fic, he is straight when in reality he's gay. That's completely upside down! :D

From: hattu

Date: 2018-04-05

Chapter: 3

It is sad that I always seem to miss new great stories!

I totally agree that we need more fantasy here :)


Fell in love with your characters right from the start!

Somehow I have the feeling that Rob was never meant to be a slave………

I am a bit bummed you decided against Mike/Rob. Just hope jay / Rob will be just as awesome;)

The scene with the nightmare was so cute! Really nice to see someone was/is there for him.

And Robs eating habits…any chance for you to share recipes?


Really can’t wait to see where this will go. Please don’t stop writing, don’t want to have another not finished fantasy on my list………still not over it that „Kaleidoscope“ was never finished……


Thanks for sharing!

Hattu

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-04-05

Chapter: 3

Way to be, Jason! haha I love that he just came right out and asked Rob about his preferences :) and now they have a date lined up, too! It's exciting!! I mean, come on, who wouldn't want Jason? He's cute, kind, and he can cook just like Rob said. LOVE it. And I really like how Mike didn't freak out when he walked in the room and saw the two of them huddled together. I'm assuming Mike knows that his brother is gay? They seem very close, so I can't imagine he doesn't know. And he didn't even question it when Jason asked him to close the door on his way out.


Mike and Anna, oh you wrote them so beautifully. They clearly love each other very much, which I'm relieved about. For a few minutes there I was worried maybe they were only together to keep some sort of peace between the kingdoms, but they really seem to be in love. I love Mike's magic stars, that was so sweet. And so was their love making :)


Poor Rob at the end though. I feel for him. He'll probably always be haunted by his past. And how could he not be? At least he's safe now. I hope. Being ripped away from the nice room and Jason and Jason's cooking and clean clothes and thrown back into slavery would just crush him at this point.


Thank you so much for updating this! It's one of my favorites on the boards right now. I always look forward to your next chapter :)

From: Bennoda4life*

Date: 2018-03-09

Chapter: 2

I have really hoped for update from you with this story! Totally didn't see Jason and Rob together? She the other Shinoda boy hmm? Interesting :) I actually really like this idea! Thank you for posting you have made me a very happy girl ☺

Reviews 1 to 20 of 28