LPfiction

Reviews

As You Wish by Penelope_Ink

To add a review to this story, please log in.

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-10-25

Chapter: 23

“I most definitely do not regret it, Michael,” Chester answered as he turned his head, letting his lips graze over his husband’s in a soft pop of a kiss. “There is a difference between being alive and living, and I was not living until my heart connected with yours.”


I'm melting!! And then this talk in the end about having a family <3 So beautiful! I love how you ended the story with Chesters magical words - it shows that he doesn't need to be a devil to actually fulfil Mikes wishes. All it needs is love. Sigh.


Oh, and it was great that you involved all the other characters and that we got to see what they do and how they are doing. They all found their luck. Especially happy for Dave, he was really struggling and deserved this so much.


Perfect ending of a perfect story - and all I've in mind right now is a happy Chester-Mike-couple with a cute kid between them, sitting on this bench in the park, telling him or her the crazy story of how they met :)

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2018-10-20

Chapter: 22

This story was absolutely perfect, I loved it, and the last chapter was just as great as the others, well done :)


This is a very short review compared to the ones from other readers, sorry...


I liked that you made a time jump to a time where they are out of college, that seems like a good ending for the story :)

From: A.N.

Date: 2018-10-19

Chapter: 22

I really didn't want this story to end, and I'm sure that writing the last chapter wasn't easy for you.


I like how this final chapter tied back to the little girl from Mike's dreams. That was nicely done.


There's a cynical part of me that wanted to see Mike and Chester both get dragged to the Underworld, and spend eternity there, together, but I don't think that would have worked out for them, lol. I like how you were honest about Chester missing his abilities, not regretting his choices, but still missing the things he had for the majority of his life.


Maybe I missed it, but, there was no mention of Joe! Am I supposed to assume he's not friends with Mike anymore? The only thing I'm missing from this story overall, was a deeper look at how the Upperworld functions, and how that was effecting Dave. Like, did Dave know he was marked by the Upperworld? Did he have some angel with him, helping him out, similar to how Chester was with Mike? Bigger question, is Oliver that angel?


But anyway, I was very satisfied by this ending for Mike and Chester, and how sweet it was. And the two of them being parents, I like picturing that. What a cute family they'd be!


By the way, I should have the next chapter of Keys to the Kingdom done relatively soon. I had a lot going on this summer, and many creative projects for myself, so my stories got put on the back burner. But now I am getting back into the swing of things, which I have a feeling is also because of reading all these chapters from this story of your's :D

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-10-19

Chapter: 22

Reading this totally made my day, I just want you to know. This is the most satisfying ending to any of your stories that I've read- here or otherwise. I feel like everything is completely tied together and I don't even feel like I need to beg you for a sequel. I was totally prepared to beg for a sequel because I always feel like I need one, but this is literally perfect. I hate to say this, because you'd have to take it down from here, but this should be published. It's that good. Major props to you for NEVER answering my questions or giving any hints on my theories, and never giving away your ending. My favorite thing about this story, once you get past the obvious (the writing, the plot, the characters) is that every single chapter had me thinking and re-evaluating my theories. It wasn't just entertainment for me, it was a brain puzzle. There's nothing else like it on here, at all. NOTHING that keeps you thinking and guessing, and that makes it so beautiful.


I love how you advanced time but gave us enough information to fill in all those blanks. I think Mike having the limp is so poetic. It would have been too easy for him to have gotten out of the whole ordeal with no consequence, and yet he's perfectly happy and would do it all over again to be with Chester. The little memories he has of Chester's Devil form just drove that point home. It's not repulsive to him at all, it just reminds him of what they've been through to get to where they are. I adore how tender and loving they are to each other, and yet you still manage to make it cute and light.


The whole paragraph where Mike is describing Chester adjusting to being human is just so… human! The little things we all deal with getting older, the aches, the laugh lines, the GRAY HAIR, I can just envision each and every one of those things being humorously catastrophic when Chester discovered them. And being sick for the first time! Stuff I just never think about. I miss him smelling like honey and cookies, and I know Mike does too. The little moment where Chester tries to wish chips into existence was poignant. I mean, I know it’s supposed to be a little funny, but it’s so tough, knowing that Chester is frustrated and Mike can read that so well, and is sympathetic to it. It’s just touching. They both gave up a lot to be together, and neither of them have any regrets.


Also:


1. Chester reiterating he didn’t know what they all were thinking back in college - except that he did! HAHA.

2. Dave mentioning his memories of that time were a bit fuzzy - brilliant way to help explain away any inconsistencies they might have noticed at the time.

3. Mike and Chester being bridesmaids in Anna and Rob’s wedding - I laughed so hard! Your description reminded me of that episode of Friends where Rachel is a bridesmaid in Barry and Mindy’s wedding! It was awesome!

4. “When pigs fly.” - I love how proud Chester is to explain to Dave that he knows that doesn’t literally mean pigs flying. Cute. And Mike saying later that he’ll always be there to help Chester when he doesn’t understand human things is just perfect. Like - tears of sweetness right there.

5. Chester explaining about reading Mike’s thoughts was also perfect. I know people in real life who are like that and I’m envious. I think everyone wants to be in love like that.

6. The little bit about Joe and Heidi - just in enough info to make me give Joe a pass for missing the little reunion. Again, very well done.

7. The phone call/resolution with Jason and the Shinodas. :)

8. When Mike brings up kids and Chester’s response… omg. I love him. I love him so much. All of your Chesters make me happy, but I seriously think Devil Chester is my favorite.


And finally, goooodddddd I love the last paragraph. Fucking love it. All this time, in all these reviews, I have meant to mention that Chester reminds me of Wesley in The Princess Bride when he says “as you wish” and I have never remembered to write it. So I remembered! Anyway, it just got me right in all my feelings when Chester kissed his hand and said “as you wish.” I think you could have your characters kissing a wall and I’d love it. You write everything around the kiss so well that every kiss, no matter what, seems perfect. I love, love, love this ending. You have no idea how much I will miss this story. It’s now my absolute favorite on the whole site. Each chapter has stuck with me when I read it and I know I’ll be needing to re-read this all the way through soon. It’s an awesome accomplishment! <3 So happy with this ending!!

From: malaiyas

Date: 2018-10-19

Chapter: 22

Oh my god. Oh. My. God. Just... oh my god.


It was so fun to see Dave reflecting on his "love" for Brad as a huge "wtf" moment, and dismissing it for where he is now. The birthing ceremony thing... yeah, I'd have passed up on that, too. And I love that Chester still takes things so amazingly literally, but even more than that, I loved how he felt the need to then explain the saying "when pigs to fly" to Dave. That cracked me up lmao and Dave's just like, "yeah, I've heard that before..."


Also, the passing reference to the fact that Chester was CLEARLY going to order cheese enchiladas. I'm glad that detail re-emerged.


But perhaps the thing that stood out most to me was touching upon Chester's experience of being human - the fact that this is clearly years after the fact and there are still things that are new to him that he's still adapting to. He doesn't have his powers anymore, so his need to maintain his "shell" has changed. It really got me, though, when Mike said he felt that Chester read his mind better now than he did when he was able... Chester's following explanation is just so perfect and so true and so telling of their connection. I think this final chapter has truly given such a fantastic payoff all the way around.


I love love LOOOOOVED this story and when I said I was obsessed with it, I truly meant it! This has been the first fic in suuuuuuuch a long time that I really kept an eye out for updates. Thank you for giving me such an intriguing world to escape to every time you updated. I fell in love with these characters and I will miss them so!

From: Alerion

Date: 2018-10-19

Chapter: 22

“I most definitely do not regret it, Michael,” Chester answered as he turned his head, letting his lips graze over his husband’s in a soft pop of a kiss. “There is a difference between being alive and living, and I was not living until my heart connected with yours.”


Girl, I-


Like, that line was absolute perfection. This entire damn epilogue was just FUCKING PERFECT, OKAY? Despite what Mike and Ches have been through, except for the pain in Mike's leg and Chester experiencing all the downsides of being human, everything turned out so well. For everybody! So unexpected but exactly what I'd hoped for. The idea of them having a family together with a little daughter is just too much cute. Happy tears all around.

From: Indee

Date: 2018-10-17

Chapter: 22

Devils that test the love of human? I never saw that coming (because, seriously, devil and love? what a pair), but then again, my analysis skill sucks. Lol.


Amazing chapter as always! Finally Mike got his devil back. Or, now that Chester is human so Mike got his human back (??) One unfortunate thing though, that Chester no longer has his power. He was so fun with that xD

From: A.N.

Date: 2018-10-13

Chapter: 22

I KNEW IT!!! I wasn't gonna say anything because I didn't want to sway you if I was wrong, or possibly spoil things for other readers, but I could tell that the Underworld was testing Mike. Trying to see how deeply he truly loves Chester, and how deeply Chester loves him.


I wasn't expecting Chester to become human, not sure why I didn't see that coming. I loved that you showed Chester's demon/goblin-like form.


I'm going to miss Chester's powers, because I'm pretty sure those are gone now. I understand why they'd be gone, but still, I always had fun with reading about Chester toying with people.


Let me just say that the scene where they made love, I waited a loooooooong time to read that! I was like, "IT'S ABOUT TIME!", as in, I was congratulating them on breaking that wall. Also, Joe is an amazing friend. He's been through a lot with all this, and he deserves a cookie.

From: malaiyas

Date: 2018-10-12

Chapter: 22

This was such a rollercoaster of a chapter!


When those three came back and began scolding Mike, I was worried. And then when they told him that judgment had been passed on Chester and that his existence was going to be erased, I was CURSING YOU. I was like "NO, SHE CAN'T DO THIS TO ME!"


This WHOLE time, I kept hoping that this was going in the "love sets Chester free" direction, but it sure hasn't been looking that way to me so I was really worried that you were just gonna let them erase him and then the epilogue would reflect Mike's life continuing without ever having met him. And even though I'm a SUCKER for a happy ending, that would kiiiiiinda be incredible. But, no, I don't want that even a little bit. This was so much more satisfying.


The moment when Chester opens his eyes after it's all over and he's human and he pats himself over to make sure he's one with his "shell" and he's actually real and not a devil anymore. That whole bit, omg, I just loved it! It reminds me of The Little Mermaid, except so much better!


AND, as they were having their moment, I started to think, "what about Joe...?" and then, just as that thought crossed my mind, he was acknowledged. I thought that was an awesome way to reinforce Chester's humanness now, too - he has no powers anymore and can't unfreeze Joe. But thankfully Joe is okay and I loved his observation - that "something off" he detected about Chester the whole time is gone now and they can be together and I'm so happy!

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-10-12

Chapter: 22

I'm so happy! I don't know if you know how much this meant to me - seeing them happy is such a great thing!

I was really worried that you would let Ches disappear. The other devils were so fucking spooky and they didn't seem to give a shit that Mike was begging them to bring Chester back and that he was deeply hurt (not only physical but also mentally)... So I really thought he was losing him and all his memories on him... I felt so bad when he was in pain, not wanting to let go of Ches... Puh... that was a hard read...


But gladly (a thousand hugs to you!!) he got him back! And now they can be together. Like real boyfriends without all the underworld-shit. That's so great! It's not a punishment, it's a release. At least I think so and Ches doesn't seem to mind being a human at all. Maybe he will miss his powers for a bit but he will be able to feel and experience so many great things!

From: bag_full_of_stars

Date: 2018-10-12

Chapter: 22

It was very close to my guess, I thought that his punishment would be to be mortal..

It was a very well written and full of emotions chapter :)

Well done and be proud of your beautiful story!


Also I totally agree with lpfan503 we need to kbolnow what happened to Brad-Dave (and everything she wrote! )


♡♡♡♡♡

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2018-10-12

Chapter: 22

HA! I knew that Chester was going to become a human, I knew it :)


Now I'm waiting for the epilogue, please update this fantastic story soon :)

From: DianaLP

Date: 2018-10-11

Chapter: 22

Awww, that's super cool. I'm sure, Chester would be a super hot goblin :D Thank you, that was awesome. And thank you for sticking to happy ending, this one could go really really bad

From: Alerion

Date: 2018-10-11

Chapter: 22

LITERAL TEARS! THIS WAS MOST DEFINITELY THE OUTCOME I HAD HOPED FOR!!!!! Ugh Mike saw Chester for real, and didnt care and, and.....LOVE SAVED THE DAY! And Chester's human! So ridiculously sweet. Excuse me while I fix my mascara. <3

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-10-11

Chapter: 22

OMG!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!


I went back into your reviews and found this. It says chapter 10 but I don’t think that’s accurate, but I said this about the white stuff and the dreams: IT REPRESENTS HIS SALVATION. He chose Mike because Mike is a good person, and Mike falling in love with him will redeem him and save him from eternity in the Underworld. And the rule he broke is he can't do anything to encourage Mike to fall for him, it has to happen organically. And if Mike really truly loves him, then it saves Chester. OMG. Please tell me that I'm right. Lol. Because then Mike and Chester could be together!!!!!!


So, yeah, I totally am taking credit for figuring out at least that love was what would save Chester.


Now for the questions. Hah. You know there’s questions. Has Chester always been a Devil? Or did he end up as a Devil because he entered a contract with a Devil and his soul got taken? If he’s always been a Devil, has he always wanted to be human? Did he know that if a human fell in love with him it would make him human? And is that why it was so important that Mike was the right person, like it was his last shot to get it to work, since he’d broken rules with other souls before? If Mike hadn’t fallen in love with him, and his soul had gone to the Underworld, would he have ended up like Chester? Collecting souls? Is Gabriel jealous because he wants to be human and hasn’t been able to get anyone to love him like Mike loves Chester? (Fuck Gabriel, by the way. He sucks.)


Mike seeing Chester’s true form and still wanting him was like… man. My heart. You know I’m a Mike girl and I love him and think he’s wonderful, but he’s like, a total hero in this story to me. To love someone like that is just so perfect. I love that Chester was purple and had a little devil mohawk. I love that his ears stuck out a little and I love how he’s a little bit small. And all Mike sees is the soul he loves. And he doesn’t even rethink it, he wants Chester. LOVE. Ugh. And then the sun came out and the rain stopped, and Chester is HUMAN and they can be together! Now tell me they’re gonna adopt a little girl with a red bow like Mike’s dream!


A part of me is so sad that Chester doesn’t have powers anymore. That was fun. I mourned the fact that they will never go under the sea or anything like that again, and I hope Mike gets to keep those memories. The part where the devils were going to erase Mike’s memories of Chester were AWFUL. Like, I was tearing up and stuff. And Mike being so desperate to get Chester back, and THEN CHESTER HEARING MIKE-- ahhhhh, omg, I love everything about this so much. I love how your mind works.


Now… I need resolution on Dave/Brad, and Rob/Anna, and also to know if there is anything else to say about Dave being claimed by the upperworld. And I assume Mike’s contract mark is gone now? This chapter gave me all the feels like the chapter in MINE where Sam comes to tell Ches she’s pregnant and Ches goes to tell Mike goodbye on the roof. Actual, legitimate tears rolling down my face both times. Those KISSES when Chester is human! And Mike’s joy. And Chester, patting over himself and making sure he’s real. I’m so glad he doesn’t have the Underworld controlling him anymore! He’s free!! I don’t want it to be over!!! I know there’s an epilogue, but you know, I’ll want more. Just like how I wanted more in MINE. I always want more. Your writing is too good to stop. Ugh. I’m gonna miss Devil Chester.

From: malaiyas

Date: 2018-10-08

Chapter: 21

Good lord, with this fic ending so soon, I just caaaaaaaan't see it having a happy ending and ugh. I hope I'm wrong, but...


Mike accidentally throwing Chester under the bus for just how much he disclosed to him doesn't sit well with me, nor does him spilling the damn tea to Joe after he was told, quite explicitly, NOT to tell anyone shit. I get it - Mike is only human and needed to confide in someone, but omg what are the consequences going to be for daring to deliberately disobey them?


Also - I have contemplated Chester's real appearance numerous times, so I'm glad the thought entered Mike's mind too!


But that's kind of all I have to be glad about right now...!

From: Indee

Date: 2018-10-07

Chapter: 21

Awww.... I really hope Mike would see Chester soon. Seeing him waiting for Chester like that makes my heart wrench :(


I like how Joe reacts to Mike's story, all calm and 'I got your back, buddy'. If I were him, I'm not sure I would easily accept it without questioning Mike's insanity. Joe is a good friend, and am not xD


Desperately waiting for next chap!

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2018-10-07

Chapter: 21

Another awesome chapter, the scene where the three devils were talking to Mike was great, and everything was so well written, as always.


Please update soon!

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-10-06

Chapter: 21

Joe is such an amazing friend. The story Mike is telling him is just crazy and all he thinks of is being there for him. Even though he doesn't even know Ches that well (and also if he likes him or not). That's just wonderful!


Everything before Mike's confusion was spooky as fuck. The three devils showing up and Mike panicking... That really was hard to read. Mike is so afraid about Chester being locked up and being tortured that he really considered letting himself getting dragged to the underworld as well?! Fuck... that shows how much in love he is...

From: Alerion

Date: 2018-10-05

Chapter: 21

So, I have so many thoughts. First, this was amazingly written. I've never read a supernatural love story, especially not one as enthralling as this. The way you described the governing body of devils was so cool and I don't know why but the fact that there's three ugly ass demons all dressed up in suits and fedoras (of all clothing items) made me giggle. I had the same thought, too: is this what Ches really looks like without his shell? Mike wouldn't care, I don't think.


I felt so sad for Mike here. All he wants is to be with his devil and him crying and having a panic attack out of fear of these creatures and for Chester's safety made me feel awful. I don't know what outcome to expect from Chester's trial and the aftermath but I'm hoping it's a good one. It probably means nothing, but I was curious about the feeling Mike had of something being sucked out of the mark on his leg. I'm glad that the devils left him where he was and Joe showed up when he did. Joe is so good to Mike and so much better than me, because I would have cut off all ties with him once he started telling me about seeing demons and shit (even if, unbeknownst to me, it was true). Nah. But didn't Mike break a rule by telling Joe everything? And does it really matter at this point in time?


Again, wonderfully written, the whole story. So thought out and detailed and who would have thought a devil and a human could have such sweet, funny, loving moments together? I'm so sad it's almost over. It's "MINE " all over again LMAO. What are you writing after this? I legit come to this site to read what you put up lol I'm sure whatever it is, it'll be fantastic. *hugs *

Reviews 1 to 20 of 158