LPfiction

Reviews

2. Secrets by lpfan503

Add review

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2018-09-20

Chapter: 33

First 2 words that come to my mind for this chapter: Sad & Beautiful. This is where you really get to see the scope of Mike's love. Thus is not just a physical attraction, he is deeply in love. Those little details when he was wiping Chester's tears away, or getting lost in thoughts while watching Chester's sleeping face even in front of Talinda or just the ordinary things like helping out in the shower or with his bandages.


I love that scene when Chester said several times "I love you" and Talinda just giggled about it, but Mike was so nervous and unable to say it back, even though he was dying to do so. I mean he actually said it back but not in the way he wanted to say it. That little scene when Chester asked him to lay down with him, just ughh. I cannot wait to see Anna's reaction to all of this, I know she won't be too happy about Mike spending all his time looking after Chester. We know she mentioned that also in Confession. Please update soon.

From: malaiyas

Date: 2018-09-19

Chapter: 33

This chapter was another that was so interesting to read knowing that Talinda knows about Chester's feelings for Mike. I love that we've seen that side of things, but Mike is still completely in the dark, overthinking it when Chester tells him he loves him. All the while, she actually knows, and just giggles it off as something cute. I loved that bit.


I'm just waiting now to see if this will lead to more drama with Anna. Which, I mean, probably. I can't wait to see Mike try to juggle this in the upcoming chapters! lol.

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-09-17

Chapter: 33

Sometimes it is not easier to read something - especially when you know what is coming ;) But you are right, it is good to have the second part of the story already so we are sure that Ches will be fine in the end. I think without that, this last chapter would probably have been impossible to read for me.

It is heartbreaking to see Chester beating himself up. That is such a self-destructive behavior and even though it maybe sounds like blaming him here; I’m not! Because I know that you can’t just shut down your brain (how great would that be ;)).

But, even though this chapter is really heavy and Chester’s downward spiral is frighnting me - there is this part about Talinda and Mike making sure that he is getting better. So glad that they team-up here and that Talinda is realizing that Mike is needed. We know from the second part of you story that she is much more ok with all of the things happening - so this is really great work that we can already see this part of her character here!! Together they will manage to get Chester back to his feet! (Stupid joke, I know. Sorry, it’s really early here, I’ probably only half awake)

From: xX_LP4Life_05_Xx

Date: 2018-09-17

Chapter: 33

You truly do write so beautifully. I honestly can't wait to see what you have in store. :)

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-09-17

Chapter: 33

Ugh. That's all I can say.


Of course you know that's a lie. I always have more to say.


Ugh x2.


I'm very happy that Talinda is so easygoing. And that she's open to Mike helping out and being there. I love that she giggled away Chester's stubborn "love" comment. She's a good wife.


I don't have much to say about the shower, either time. Chester being helpless and not even being able to shower or probably go potty by himself is just demoralizing. And for someone who is so independent and strong, to suddenly need help with everything, that's rough. I've known people who have been through that...broken arms and legs, and to be totally dependent on others as an adult is rough. I'm glad that Mike is willing to do all those things with him.


This ending scene really got to me. And I know it's just a foreshadowing of what's coming. Damn those painkillers. I fret right along with Mike. Seeing Chester in that bed, barely able to speak and not able to focus, ugh. Again. I'm glad Mike laid down with him, and I can just see Talinda walking in and seeing that, but she knows. And in Chester's condition, I can't imagine she'd be upset. Then again...maybe Chester hasn't asked her to lay with him, so that could really turn into something painful/hurtful. But I don't know what you have planned....but I could see it going that way. You write all of them so beautifully.


Update soon :)


Oh....and Mike wiping Chester's tears away. That was just....man. I felt that one. You did a hell of a job on that scene. I just wanted to throw my arms around Chester in that moment. And Mike's comments about Chester being "home" and then realizing he couldn't think/feel like that, but clearly he does. I know we're looking at Chester's physical struggle, but I can see Mike's emotional struggle amping up for these next few chapters too.

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2018-09-16

Chapter: 32

Sorry for the late review...I'm really looking forward to the next chapter, this one was great, as always :)


Please include a shower scene, I fucking love shower scenes ;)


Update soon!

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2018-09-13

Chapter: 32

I was dreading to read this chapter.. when I opened it and saw the video referenced, it made me extremely sad. I remember when I was preparing myself back in 2015 to see LP live in NY and then this happened and then they cancelled all those shows. Incredibly the worst happened in 2017 when I was again trying to see them live... and cannot even talk about that anymore.


I know this episode completely messed up with Chester's head and world IRL so reading this makes me really sad. I wonder how bad he felt to be always the cause for them to cancel shows. Accidents, illnesses.. it was always him... But back to your chapter, you did an excellent job as always, mixing up fiction and reality. Mike being a complete mess when all this happened is something I can really imagine actually happening.


I love the back and forth between their head spaces in the beginning. And the best part when Mike painted the crutches black for Chester, he is always so willing to please him and it reminded me one of those chapters in Confession when Brad was complaining about Mike's complete world being about Chester. That was really awesome. Now looking forward to your next chapter, and maybe seeing Mike assisting Chester in the shower... lmao pretty please that would be even more awesome.

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-09-11

Chapter: 32

Puh... I started this already anxious after I saw which video you were referring to. I've seen it a few times and it always leaves me sad. Because all videos after that is not the Chester we normally know but a rather down one (at least I have the feeling). So having this moment in this story was hard to read for me. But well done. It catches Mikes concerns really well as well as Dave's ability to read Mike and to be there for him. Glad that it was him spending the waiting time with Mike and not Brad. I really have my struggles with his character in this story. So yes... Don't know what else to say right now, still processing everything. Still wanted to leave you a few words ;)

From: malaiyas

Date: 2018-09-10

Chapter: 32

Ouch, this was a tough one to read! Chester was very candid about what breaking his ankle did to him psychologically, so I really hate thinking back on it, to be honest.


Interestingly, I recall an interview where he was talking about it being a time where he also had "a lot of personal stuff" going on... aka his secret love for Mike. Obviously.


I'm curious as to what this will kick off in your fictional world though!

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-09-09

Chapter: 31

I saw that video when it happened. I haven't seen it since, until now. Poor Chester. He looked like he was in so much pain. And yet he did the show anyway. He was such a trooper. At the end, his statement is something like, "I hate that we have to cancel the tour, those first few shows were magical"....and it reminds me of what was said 2.5 years later about the the OML tour.


I miss him so much. I know we all do.


But anyway, to your chapter. As always you've managed to perfectly marry reality and fiction here. Makes me (and probably everyone else) wonder how much is real and how much you've made up to fit your story lol which is awesome. The part about Mike feeling bad for not "watching" Chester seems...idk. They were playing basketball, not cruising for chicks in a bar or going to a party. Mike is so hard on himself in these moments, taking the blame and then Brad. Oh Brad, coming in and saying the same thing. Chester's a grown ass man, despite his natural talent when it comes to accidents.


I love that Mike was so ready to fix everything even before Chester go there. Like, that is HIS way of helping and then he even did the crutches and made sure Chester had a scooter on top of all that. I love his need to please, his willingness to stop his world when it comes to Chester.


His one thought really got to me...the, I've never done an LP soundcheck without him. Gosh. Talk about pulling at my heartstrings! And I love how you explained away Mike's stunned reaction when Chester first fell. I think it fit perfectly, and was partially probably right on. You can see the look on his face, like he can't believe what he's seeing.


And when Mike's thoughts turned to....pills, seclusion...it was like, no! Oh, god, no. Anything but that. But then he went on to things like showers and in bed and it's like, yes. You can help Chester shower :) I'm all for that lol I'm so awful.


It was a hard chapter, but I love the way you did it. I love the whole dual POV at the beginning and how they were both thinking about each other. And Dave. I love his inclusion in all this. The closer we get to Confession, the more intense this is all getting, and I love it.

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2018-08-31

Chapter: 31

Oh God! Even though I know that this fic will end someday, it just breaks my heart when you mention that the ending chapters are coming... it's absolutely amazing how you've managed to portrait so many layers and details into these characters and their relationships with their families.. even if you don't show too much on Chester's side, we still have a clear idea of what exactly is going on between him and Talinda.


And again I need to tell you how much I sympathize with Anna. Those scenes at Mike's house with the kids are adorable as well. One of my favorite moments was also the board game lol.. and Rob lamenting having to play with Mike and Brad! That was hilarious.. For some reason, I clearly imagine something like this happening in real life.. when all of them are together they usually act like little kids.. its sooo funny!


That final scene was also very well described. The way that Mike confessed his love, even if he was dreaming, but is out there.. and Chester said it back awww. I wonder how is he going to act towards Mike going forward since this is something I know he won't take lightly. On a final note, can I ask for a little bit of possessive and jealous Mike again? Specially now that Chester knows he is in love with him, that would be awesome.

From: malaiyas

Date: 2018-08-30

Chapter: 31

They are just too much.


And, a random sidenote, but since I did see them during the Carnivores tour, I love imagining that this is what was going on during that time. Lmao.


I love the way you've managed to still paint the contrast between Mike's relationship with Anna and Chester's relationship with Talinda without actually really delving too deep into Chester's relationship with Talinda (though, admittedly, I love the scenes where you have). By showing us only what Mike sees, though, it just really adds to it - the idea that you really can't judge the whole when you only see fragments.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-08-30

Chapter: 31

No question, my favorite moment in this was on the plane playing Scattegories. I've never played it before, but it sounds fun! I love the child-like joy between them all, and how competitive Brad and Mike were. It was nice. It was nice to see Mike's attention given to someone other than Chester and I don't mean that in a bad way..I mean that in a I-don't-want-him-to-be-obsessive way.


The sudden plans for Chester to go running and Mike to call home, wow what a mess! They're both thinking the same thing and yet not saying it. Boys!! And then in the bedroom. I about died when Chester was thinking that maybe Mike was saying "I love you" to a piece of pie lol But then he made it clear....like somehow (in his sleep) he knew Chester would be thinking pie, so he had to restate it better. And then Chester said it back! I love it. I love that he's said it outloud because even though no one technically heard him, he's admitted it. It's out there now, and he can't take it back.


I don't want this story to end, but like Frostfall said, I'm very excited to see how this all ties together over the last few chapters. It's exciting!!!


Oh, and Anna. Dude. You write her so well. I always just really feel for her. And I totally get how she'd rather have Mike not say anything at all then make promises he can't keep. And you can tell how much passion there is NOT between her and Mike. It's just life. It's sharing space and responsibility. And maybe there's a flash of passion here or there, but on the daily, it's dull and mundane. Which I don't think is the case at Chester's house. I want more scenes at Chester's house for comparison.


That's it. The end of my demands. Love the chapter!

From: bag_full_of_stars

Date: 2018-08-30

Chapter: 31

I am all melting here!!! It was so sweet!

Brad should play the other word game (s....e) with Mike, he always wins at this..

I can't wait for you to finish it so I can read them both from start to end :)

Great job as always

♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡♡

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2018-08-30

Chapter: 31

Good and interesting chapter, as always :) Sorry for the short review, please update soon :)

From: frostfall

Date: 2018-08-30

Chapter: 31

I really like how little details from previous parts carry over to future parts – Anna’s constant insecurities regarding Mike’s affections for Chester, Mike’s initial worry with having Josie, Brad’s own jealousy of Mike’s partiality towards Chester (though this could also be because of him losing too). They’re not the main focal point of the chapter, saved Anna’s part, but they’re still addressed here and not forgotten. I don’t know. I like it when certain decisions and details, even down to the tiniest of ones, carry over into future chapters. It carries weight. Sorry if this doesn’t make any sense, lol.


Oh god, Mike and Chester are a mess. Well, mainly Mike because he’s trying to balance being a father and wanting to spend time with Chester and he ends up neglecting his kids for Chester. God… But seriously though, both he and Chester are a mess. They want to spend time with each other but one assumes the other is busy and they end up not spending time together. Jeez. But that last part though. When Mike told Chester he loves him, I was internally freaking out, haha! Even if he’s dreaming. But god, poor Chester has one more thing to keep secret. It’s amazing how he managed to not breathe a word about anything until now.


Really interested to see how things flow together with Confession. As sad as it is to see this story end, I’m really excited to see how things go.

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2018-08-23

Chapter: 30

Finally found some time to review the latest chapter... first, flashbacks, memories, conversations reminiscing old times uhh always been one of my favorites parts on your fics, this adds so many layers into your already complex characters...


So Chester talking about the day he dyed Mike's hair and how Mike actually didn't remember exactly what happened is amazing. When Chester was talking you could feel how Mike was really tense probably thinking that he kissed him or something worse. Well, he wanted to feel the lip ring himself so it's almost the same lol.


"Non-physically intimate lovers. Because he sure as hell knows me more intimately than anyone else". This line! Oh God, I love the way Mike has labeled their relationship and how he is completely aware and accepted the fact that he is already deeply in love with Chester, no more denial.. that's a step in the right direction, even if he still didn't open up to Chester, at least he admitted it to himself.


Joe killed me in this with the whole "lovebirds" comment lol he is so funny, but he's right! The whole conversation was just flirting, teasing, making eyes to each other, hmm what the hell! and when Jim had to send Dave to look for them because they were left again alone in the dressing room. I'm not sure how everybody was so surprised in Confession when they finally admitted of being in love. This was so obvious the whole time. Love it!!!

From: frostfall

Date: 2018-08-21

Chapter: 30

I like how you describe their sentimentality and nostalgia for the olden days in this particular chapter. Like this whole chapter revolves around that theme and I don’t know why, I really like that. This probably sounds weird so yeah, I’m sorry if this doesn’t make sense.


You know, when Chester was being hesitant about telling Mike what happened the night they dyed Mike’s hair red, I thought Mike kissed Chester, lol. I mean, they obviously didn’t considering previous chapters but my mind went there for some reason, haha. But well, I was sorta close-ish, haha.


And god, like I know they’ll be getting together in the future and all but my god, I just want them to get this over and done with. That mutual pining of theirs is going to be the death of me, seriously. Like they’re giving each other eyes and Mike kissed his neck and ugh, slowburns are the death of me.

From: malaiyas

Date: 2018-08-21

Chapter: 30

Chapter 30: The hair. Lmao the HAIR! Their whole conversation about it and how it came to be was just love. Like, just a drunken experiment that ended up really mattering.


Their deep conversations are always just so perfect and so telling. ♥ I can imagine them being just like that in real life.

From: malaiyas

Date: 2018-08-21

Chapter: 30

Chapter 29: The way this starts with Anna primping and preparing only to ctu to Mike with Chester's head on his shoulder, holding hands. I understand that's "the norm" for them, but it's still like, what two grown men hold hands?! Come on, guys!


"Here I am missing him already and he’s thinking about being in his own bed. All I will ever be is a warm body that keeps the nightmares away on the road." NO!


But omg the reveal that Talinda has always known about Chester's feelings for Mike was one I didn't see coming and that adds SO much more to this. It makes me wonder if she feels like she's keeping something from Anna, too.


And then the ensuing conversation... I really, really loved seeing the contrast. All this time, Anna has been pressing and bitching and suspecting, and it causes Mike to withdraw further and further... and her "welcome home" thing is just an act of desperation. And meanwhile, Talinda gently prompts Chester and they have this heartfelt exchange about his feelings for someone else. It's wild but it's awesome!

Reviews 1 to 20 of 186