LPfiction

Reviews

2. Secrets by lpfan503

Add review

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2018-05-25

Chapter: 17

This review is for chapter 16:

Oh my lord! Mike is really distracted, his mind is 1000 miles away. I feel for Anna and tbh this chapter really hits a little bit too close to home for me. Been in a similar situation myself where you feel relegated to a second place and even if the other person would never admit it you know that his mind is somewhere else. It's really unbearable and this sort of situation can end up killing a relationship with bitterness and hatred.


This line killed me: "It bothered him that he wanted to pick up the phone and answer Chester’s call more than he wanted to listen to Anna". That's terrible Mike. His mind is overflowed with thoughts of Chester. He is not only impossibly in love, he is obsessed. Even to the point of looking for him online.


Chester with his neediness is not helping a bit. Why is he calling Mike if he knows Mike is away with his wife to straighten things?

And then he gets mad when Mike said he cannot answer. How can Mike not see what Chester is doing. Love love love this dynamics. It feels so real and relatable.


The end of the chapter where Mike mumbles Chester's name in his dreams, and after making love to his wife. Oh Lord! Anna knows what is going on for sure, just doesn't want to accept it or admit it just yet. Even if we know where all of this is leading, you are making an excellent job with keeping things in suspense.

From: squashie

Date: 2018-05-23

Chapter: 17

OMFG this was amazing and perfect. If Show Me had even the faintest role in inspiring this, then I am just thrilled to bits. "He wanted to hear Chester say his name in the same voice he’d just used for those Japanese lyrics- that same breathiness..." GAAAAAH. I wanna hear that toooo!!! This is just perfect. The detail and depth and complexity of Mike's feelings is, as always, pitch perfect and relatable as hell. I adore your writing, even when it sends me on an emotional rollercoaster! Keep going! <3 <3


And congrats again on all the amazing updates to the site! I'm hoping to make my return in the not-too-distant future. I've been missing out on so much cool stuff! xx

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-05-18

Chapter: 17

This was awesome as always! I love the bit with the crickets. It totally cracked me up...especially when Dave was like, "shouldn't we try something else? I mean, I love crickets!" hahaha talk about group pressure.


A concept album. Oddly enough I never really thought about ATS as a concept album, but I guess it is. The moments with Mike and Chester in the big studio were great and Mike finally realizing, yes, I would so make out with my bandmate if he wanted me to, was perfect. And all over a few simple words.


I LOVE when they sing together :) because you're right, their voice melt into one and it's hard to pull them apart. I think that closeness really shows here.


I like how you're showing the pressure Mike's under. Brad wants something and Mike feels the responsibility to make that happen. That's such a heavy weight to carry and I think having Chester there - the, I'm not alone to do this - is part of what's making them, not only strong partners, but co-dependent.


Thank you for this update. This story never fails to get me to scratch my head and debate if all this really happened or not :) You write it all so well.

From: malaiyas

Date: 2018-05-17

Chapter: 17

omg. These two.


I can't be the only one reading this who's like, "good lord just kiss or fuck or SOMETHING ALREADY." The tension is REAL.


And Brad's little bout of jealousy as he quietly stews about Chester always taking Mike's side and vice versa. HA! Aaaw. Bradford.


I breathed a little sigh of relief as progress was made on the album in this chapter. Which, from the documentary on ATS, doesn't seem too far from the reality of that album.


CRICKETS though!

From: xX_LP4Life_05_Xx

Date: 2018-05-17

Chapter: 17

Been awhile since I've been on here but I've been following this story and oh my god, i always look so forward to the updates. You're such a talented writer. And this chapter had me on my toes. So amazing. I love the building of the dynamic between them. Truly inspiring and sensual.

From: squashie

Date: 2018-05-15

Chapter: 16

Fuck, this is so brilliantly rendered. The push and pull, the different emotions warring with each other, his rational side and this other side of himself that he hasn't figured out how to wrangle or what to do with... the back and forth feels so real and relatable, even though I've never experienced anything like this. It's the authenticity of his emotions and confusion, I guess. I'm feeling what Mike's feeling throughout this. It's not an easy situation and I feel sorry for Anna and Chester too, but just damn. He's being slowly but surely torn in two. You've packed this so full of amazing lines. "...before his inattentiveness blossomed into something irreparable" Like... that's just the one I grabbed to my clipboard but, there are so many. Succinct and perfect!

From: malaiyas

Date: 2018-05-14

Chapter: 16

I love the dynamics you’ve laid out between Mike and Anna, how the envy and gentle suspicions started so early on. And it’s like, when things are going smoothly between them as they are in this chapter, Mike has this way of ruining it by bringing up work or Chester… even in his sleep!


Which, by the way, I’ve been thinking about Mike talking in his sleep this whole time, so I’m glad to see it make its first appearance in this fic. Like, oh, here we go!


I’m looking forward to seeing the frequency of that developing, as well as seeing the first kisses Chester described in Confession!

From: hattu

Date: 2018-05-14

Chapter: 16

Oh boy! I feel for both of them! For anna who feels like pushed aside without even knowing half of everything and also for mike who does not see that he is already way to deep in with Chester. I understand why Anna is pissed and also mikes confusion and his disability to focus on Anna.


I love how you manage to let us see both sides and keep it balanced. Since we already know where this is heading the characters here still have no idea. I admire your ability to write this, it must be really hard not to get ahead of things. To keep everything evolving into what happens later. Just awesome!


Thanks for writing!!

Hattu

From: derekbrad

Date: 2018-05-13

Chapter: 16

I can't help but feel sorry for poor Anna, I guess it's because I know where this story leads too. The ending had me shaking, in a good way, just wow Mike!

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-05-12

Chapter: 16

I love the back and forth in this chapter, jumping from Anna's head to Mike's and back again. They really have some problems! And I think Mike has it right...he's already given his heart and attention to Chester over Anna, and he keeps doing it.


And what was with Chester calling him? He knew he was going away with Anna...hmmm....idk, is Chester trying to play some sort of I-know-I'm-more-important card? Which showed even more in his texts afterwards.


Gosh, Mike has got to pull himself together. Of course we know where all this is leading, so we know he doesn't but..I'm still kind of rooting for him to do better than he is. Being a wife myself, it's almost painful to see him put work, Chester, the album, all in front of Anna. Especially Chester. He's becoming co-dependent on his friendship with Chester..the stalking him online while he's gone and waiting up on pins and needles waiting for him to call. He's in SO deep and Anna doesn't know the half of it! She's upset now, just think if she actually knew how much was going on. It's almost scary.


The end with Mike mumbling about Chester, man. Made me gasp! It was like..oh no..here it comes....but no. Anna's still in denial or disbelief or she's just hanging onto the edge of hope. Idk, but whatever it is, it's intriguing :)

From: squashie

Date: 2018-05-09

Chapter: 15

Damn, this chapter is awesome! First I (re)watched that link, then I read the chapter, then I watched the link again. HAH. Puts a whole new spin on all the little subtleties. Fuck, they are so cute in the video. I love Chester's hair like that, and how he keeps stroking it. T_T


Then, the chapter! AAARGH. So good. The exchange between Mike and Anna at the beginning... damn. I recognise so much of myself in her character; the way she talks and acts when she's pissed off and feels slighted. It's so familiar and so relatable, even while I'm feeling sorry for Mike at the same time. I love how you've pulled that off. She is spikey as fuck right now and I love the angst that comes with that. And I love the subtle little moments with Chester. I love it all.


As always, thank you for writing! I feel so guilty and like a bit of a failure for practically abandoning my fic (at least for now), but it's so good to know that you're still going with yours. Keeps me coming back. :D

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2018-05-08

Chapter: 15

Oh!! the creation of my favorite LP song, it cannot be better than that. Really, that song is pure magic and you can see it on their faces in the video that they were genuinely happy when they were able to record those beautiful vocals, especially Mike.


I found it great that you posted that little video so we can have a better idea of what exactly was happening during the scene... that was a great addition and the way you wrote all those details such as the similar body language between Mike and Chester, their staring at each other, their thinking about each other feelings, their intimate hug and the way Mike was caressing Chester's hand was so sweet, really loved it.


Again I need to admit that I empathize way too much with Anna, since I've also been there and feeling neglected for something or somebody else is the worst feeling. Her icy treatment was on point and as much as I love Mike, he truly deserves it. Hopefully he can make it up to Anna on their little getaway. I'm looking forward for your next chapter to see what's gonna happen, never ever feel discouraged about this story because is amazing.

From: malaiyas

Date: 2018-05-06

Chapter: 15

I lovelovelovvvveeee every single one of the LPTV videos that showcase them in the studio (be it Mike's or elsewhere), so I loved this spin on that video. It was so cute to see it from the perspective of them having secret feelings for each other, especially Mike mirroring Chester's movements. Subtle, but there's so much to be said for body language.


Oh, Anna. A little neglect is the least of your worries, sweetheart. Lmao. I'm not trying to be mean, but knowing what's coming makes these moments like "weeeeeeeeeeelp." I don't know how else to capture that reaction.


Nonetheless, her snarky, short responses were perfect. Everyone has been there and that's just so, so accurate. Perfect depiction of female anger.


I'm looking forward to seeing if there will be any fallout from Mike taking time away with her. Not with Chester specifically, but with the band: especially Brad. I can't imagine him being too pleased with Mike taking time away after he's already so flustered with Chester's absence. Or, he could be fine with it, and leave everyone wondering why he's singling Chester out.


Idk but I love watching it all unfold! <3

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-05-06

Chapter: 15

My favorite part of this chapter was when Mike took Chester's hand and started rubbing it for him. That was just awwwwwwwwww. Like, I could see it. I could see that really happening in real life. So sweet and intimate and yet subtle. I watched the video you posted with it, I'd never seen that before and it was neat to see the moments in it (watched it after I read your chapter) that you described. You do such a great job with this kind of thing!! That moment when they both had their fingers laced behind their heads lol of course they did.


All the stuff with Anna, I could feel it. I've been there myself. I think as women, the silent treatment is a natural reaction when we're pissed. You pulled it off wonderfully. I'm glad Mike finally realized that spending a weekend away with his wife won't mean the end of the world or the collapse of the album. Though, Mike being Mike, I'm sure he's felt that way many times.


The ending paragraph was so ominous. How many more days could she take like this? Yeah. I heart it. It's such a great build up for what we know is coming.


I know you were worried about this chapter feeling choppy, but it wasn't. I think it flowed really well. I always feel like I'm a fly on the wall in Mike's studio when you write scenes like this. It's spectacular and kinda naughty. Like, I'm seeing things that were meant to be just between Mike and Chester.

From: hattu

Date: 2018-05-03

Chapter: 14

Poor Anna, I really feel for her!

Atleast Mike didn’t go to Chesters show and spend some time with his wife. But what is kinda sad, that he didn’t go in order to actually spend time with his wife, no he didn’t go because he didn’t want to see Chester with Ryan....makes me even more sad for Anna..


And brads frustration is justified and understandable...


It really makes me frustrated with mike....the more I think about it...grrr


Anyway, loved the chapter!

Can’t wait to read more!


Thanks

Hattu

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2018-05-01

Chapter: 14

Oh poor Anna! I really simphatize with her and feel for her in this chapter. Being neglected by your significant other feels terrible. First, Mike refuses to take time off to be with her when clearly Chester has been off for some time doing his thing.


Then, he leaves her alone in bed and prefers to go out to speak to his best friend in the middle of the night, just minutes after their lovemaking. I wonder if Anna will ever get to hate Chester, but I guess this is where this is going. I would love to see an interaction between them or better between the 4 of them, the 2 couples maybe a dinner or a party, that could be really interesting to see their reactions because I know Anna has her suspicions.


Brad is so bitter, his jealousy is overtaking him, but I think he is right about the whole thing! Chester's absences compromising the band and the new album and Mike always taking Chester's side. The bit with Otis was so sweet and Mike thinking about Chester every time he sees the toucan on the wall, so lovely awww.


On another note, congrats on becoming an admin on this site! You're one my favorite writers!

From: malaiyas

Date: 2018-04-30

Chapter: 14

This is one of those chapters that leaves me feeling so conflicted. I naturally veer towards being on Chester's side (Mike's, too, by extension). Mike had Fort Minor, let Chester do his thing, too. Of course, it could be argued that Mike did Fort Minor while Linkin Park had some downtime, but the baseline remains the same.


I feel Mike's frustration. I think everyone in life has had that person that, for whatever reason, they need to "make excuses" for and it's SO infuriating to hear others talk about them. I can feel Brad's frustration, too, and I get it, but I do think he's being hard on Chester.


And then there's Anna. I feel for her, too. But at the same time, I can't help but root for Mike and Chester, especially knowing where all of this ultimately leads. Like, ugh. Mike, you're neglecting her and I know why you're doing it but... it's complicated!


I love the conflict this creates, though, because it's showcasing how nothing is ever straightforward. Credit goes to you for illustrating everyone's clashing perspectives so seamlessly! :)

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-04-29

Chapter: 14

Gotta say, this ripped at my heart :( I felt so bad for Anna. As a wife who has lost her husband to overtime shifts many times over the years, I know what she's going through. And at the end, he still left to take Chester's call. At least he didn't go to Chester's show. It sounds weird to say that, but he's neglecting the other parts of his life so much :( and to say, no, I can't take a weekend away with you...gosh. Mike! Wake up!


The part with Brad, I also totally get. You can feel the frustration and I know how that feels as well. When you're working and working and it's just not coming together. Is it all because Chester's not there?? Maybe. Their balance and routine is just broken.


I can't get over the ending scene with Mike and Anna. Your wrote it beautifully and it was such a punch to the heart to go from their love making to an argument all in like 30 seconds of each other.


The little bit with Otis was really nice. *sigh* I hope he'll keep everything in check. You can just feel Mike's stress mounting. Like, he's so close to a breakdown or a blowup or both.

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2018-04-24

Chapter: 13

So... Mike is supposed to be productive on his meeting with Chester to get him to work on the new album so he can calm down Brad a little bit... instead, he paints Chester's nails and forgets everything else around them awww Mike!!! You are so in love, it hurts !!


I wonder what would Anna say if she encounters such a scene between her husband and his best friend, so intimate and full of lingering sexual tension, they were just staring at each other, not wanting to let the other one go.. I really love the pace of this story, I'm a fan of the slow burn, and knowing where this is heading, this drama just melts me...


I seriously love Brad in this, And he is so right about being worried about the album, I also think Chester's top priority should be LP, I guess uncle Bad will be pissed if they don't meet their deadlines because of Chester's absences. And he is taking it on Mike too. Great foundation for all the Confession drama with Mr. Delson.

From: malaiyas

Date: 2018-04-23

Chapter: 13

I’m enjoying seeing the foundation of all the grief Brad gave them in Confession being laid out here. It’s also interesting to see him challenging everyone, and watching how Mike has Chester’s back. It’s still early in the story, and yet a subtle “us vs them” kind of dynamic has been established when it comes to Chester and how everyone else relates to it, if that makes sense.


Mike telling Chester he doesn’t want him to go. Ugh. Aw. <3 and demanding that no one else paint his nails. Lol. So cute.

Reviews 1 to 20 of 106