LPfiction

Reviews

The Second One by Violet Raven

Add review

From: squashie

Date: 2018-04-15

Chapter: 1

Violet, this is phenomenal. It was one of those instances when I saw the update appear on the front page and had one of those mini-heart-attacks. I was so excited to carry on reading this story. And you absolutely delivered on the second part. Like... wow. This is such a deeply emotional story, but you managed to temper it with the perfect amount of humour and sweetness. It's so compelling. Your characters are wonderful, your writing is perfectly paced and clear and fresh and lovely and you have me 100% emotionally invested in this little world and the people in it. I'm so glad there's going to be more!


Your pacing and descriptions in the scene where Chester gets lost on his way to meet Mike had me on the edge of my seat. Well, I would've been on the edge of my seat if I was on a seat at the time, but I was actually in bed. But like... I nearly fell out of bed I was so tense. It's not easy to write a scene like that and pull it off so well. You're really freaking good at this.


Now, onto the next point... your references are fantastic. Depeche Mode etc... I love it all. And then you mentioned WoW and Well of Eternity and I was like "Hang on a second! Are you a secret WoW player?" I was heavy into WoW for like... six or so years. I've been 'clean' now for just over one year, but I was so addicted at one point, it was actually ridiculous. My username on this site is actually based on my main WoW character's name. HAH. So anyway, I was not expecting a WoW reference in an LP fan fic, but you just never know what you're gonna get! And it made me love Chester's character even more because I could relate to that so much.


Lots and lots of love to you! This was brilliant and well worth the wait and I'm so looking forward to seeing where it goes. You are brilliant. :) <3

From: Stefuh

Date: 2018-04-14

Chapter: 1

Oh my god, this was suchhh an amazing chapter, I don't know where to begin with my review. First of all, of course I remember this story I waited for an update the whole time!! Sorry it took be a while before reviewing it, I actually read this yesterday in the middle of the night, ahahah.


And all the Depeche Mode references! Aaaaah. Sorry, I LOVE Depeche Mode. I mean, I'm still a new fan so I haven't listened to every albums, which mean that I don't really know Playing the Angel but I still know that it's a big deal that Chester loves a song from it. And how AMAZING is that remix of Enjoy the Silence? I love the original song, don't get me wrong, but that remix is just perfect?? God. And I would have been pissed too if I had wear a signed Depeche Mode shirt in the rain without knowing it!! Poor Chester!! Okay I'm going to calm down about Depeche Mode ... I love them so much, ahah.


About the rest of the chapter... It made me cry so much, poor Chester, my heart broke when he thought Mike wouldn't want to see him again because of what he had said, and also when he thought that he was lost in the park, that was terryfying to read, I mean he really couldn't know where he was. I'm just so glad that Mike found him and told him that he had been near all along! I love Mike, god. ♥ And them singing together? Aaaaah, so amazing. And I'm so happy that Brad and Joe are such good friends to Chester! Oh I forgot to say that imagining Joe singing Closer while folding Chester's underwear is hilarious! That must have been something weird to see ahahahah.


Anyway, I love this fic soooo much and I'm so sad that the next part is going to be the last! :( You are very talented!! ♥

From: becisamonsta

Date: 2018-04-14

Chapter: 1

Your writing is beautiful. I really enjoyed reading this, even through the tears, it was so amazing to read. ❤

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-04-13

Chapter: 1

First of all: I would never forget such a great story, no matter how long you are not updating. And second: if the update it THAT great, I'm more then happy to wait!


I'm really impressed how you manage to describe Chesters feelings and struggles. I mean I can't relate to his blindness, but I still think you write in a way that makes your readers getting close to the character and the feelings. And I was super impressed by Chesters courage to go out there alone - even though it turned out a bit dangerous. I mean... When I get lost somewhere I panic immediately, even though it is over day and I can see my surrounding :D He actually tried to reconstruct the way he went and figure out where to go to get back on track. Impressive! Still happy that Mike was there :) Can'r wait for the third part <3

From: AaronShinoda

Date: 2018-04-13

Chapter: 1

Oh wow, it takes a lot for me to cry and this really did. I love how you wrote Mike in this, just wow. I am stunned! You have a beautiful gift! And a beautiful gift in drawing! I love the pictures you drew for secrets in the night. I just wanted to thank you personally for sharing this story with us. ❤

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-04-13

Chapter: 1

This was so good!! Like, seriously. Every time I thought I knew what was coming next, it was different. When they started to have that odd, flirty banter going on, I thought for sure something romantic would happen, and then bam! Chester slipped up and, and, it was so real. It was so real and awkward it hurt. And the same thing with him going to the park alone and getting "lost" and freaking out and. . .it was so real. I could feel his panic. And when Mike showed up and Chester freaked out, again, such a human reaction. You've done an excellent job with this story and I'm happy to hear that there will be another chapter :) I really, really want Joe and the others to meet Mike. Because some little part of me is seriously fearing that he isn't real. That he is just a dream/hallucination. My heart will die if that's true....so I'm hoping the others will meet him in the next edition. Love this story a lot. Again, thank you so much for sharing with us.

From: MissDomho

Date: 2018-04-13

Chapter: 1

Oh god my heart. I cried, I truly broke down in tears. You really know a way with words, you are so raw and so pure with them that I can't even fathom them. It took me a lot longer to read this as I really needed to pull away from it. Thank you for sharing this story, you are a master of words! And in drawing too<3


I love how you wrote Mike in this, so sweet, what a beautiful man he is seriously<3 and thank you for sharing the link! I am going to watch it soon :) I also sent you a ton of emails lol. Just want to apologise in advance haha <3 * hugs*

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-04-12

Chapter: 1

I actually had to step away from this in the middle and come back to it because it made me ugly cry. The way you write Chester's emotions it just so on point. It makes me wonder if you have known someone who has gone through something similar? I don't want to get too personal on here in a public review just because - wanting to keep my real identity off here and all that - but I went through the loss of eye sight with a family member, and the way you write Chester just hits me so intensely. You are getting the emotions across in this so well.


I love how Joe is no-nonsense and makes Chester get out of the house, and Mike is so tender in this, I love how you are writing him. I just wish that this didn't hurt so much to read! I mean that with all the respect in the world, you are doing a fantastic job, it just hits really close to home for me. <3

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-03-27

Chapter: 1

That was such a great chapter... Really, I'm completely stunned! The way you create the characters (all of them) is intensive as fuck and even though I never went through something similar, I felt the emotions coming trough the words directly to my heart. That was incredible.

The whole setting in the beginning is so dark and you cannot believe how big the smile on my face was, when I read further and further, ending up in this perfect conversation between the two of them.

So, a really great job and I look forward to a second part :)

From: Stefuh

Date: 2018-03-20

Chapter: ?

Oh my god, this is such a wonderful first chapter, seriously, I'm already in love with this fic!! It's so original, and well-written, it feels like I can truly understand what Chester is feeling because of how you write it. I'm just so happy that Joe is his assistant, he seems to really have a great influence on Chester and I'm glad that Brad pushed him to have one! And oh my god, that meeting with Mike, it almost felt destined?? I loved how he wanted to draw Chester and the fact that he couldn't help but talk about his family and Japan! Oh and that Depeche Mode ringtone!! Aaaaah. Okay, sorry, I hm, love Depeche Mode. A bit too much.


Anyway, this first chapter was amazing and I can't wait for the next one because it's already one of my favorite! ♥

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-03-20

Chapter: ?

First off, welcome to LPF as a writer!!!!! I was so thrilled when I saw a story from you on the boards. Your reviews are always so well-written that I had no doubts that your story would be the same. I have to say that it's not at all what I was expecting. So many twists. And it's very original and different from everything else up right now. Chester being blind, it's almost beyond me to think about it, and he's so down on himself and living. It was just heartbreaking to read. I love all the little details you put in it though, especially the parts with him holding onto the walls and how he's so frustrated at being slow. Brad's a good friend for sticking with him (unlike the other unnamed friends). and even hiring an assistant for him. And it's Joe!! Joe needs more love on this site :) and he seems to really help Chester come out of his shell.


Now. The last bit with Mike. I so didn't see that coming and I love the way you wrote it. So relaxed and by chance and yet here's Chester actually getting excited about someone new. Actually excited!! That's such a good sign and now he has something to look forward to for tomorrow, which is ALWAYS a good thing.


Rated for you :D

From: squashie

Date: 2018-03-20

Chapter: ?

I AM ABSOLUTELY THRILLED THAT YOU ARE WRITING A FIC!


Honestly, I was wondering when you were going to do it, because you're so obviously good at writing. It was obvious to me from the first (super long!) review that you ever sent me (which I have read so many times) and since then I've just become even more certain about it... and now I have been proven right! This is fantastic! And not even your native language. Incredibly impressive.


You've got a really interesting concept here, sensitively and powerfully handled. I was emotionally invested from the first couple of lines and I'm really looking forward to reading more and seeing what happens between Chester and his Second One. I'm imagining him running his fingers over Mike's lovely face so that he can 'see' how lovely he is. And then maybe Mike doing the same in return. You're making my imagination run wild with this already... I also really enjoyed your Brad character. (You know I have a massive soft spot for Brad. He seemed like a really good friend in this. Very real and honest.)


Arrrgh, so many feelings, especially given that today is Chester's birthday and I'm a bit of an emotional wreck even BEFORE reading this wonderful bit of writing.


Anyway, well done, keep going and thanks so much for sharing. :)

From: frostfall

Date: 2018-03-20

Chapter: ?

I just want to say that I’m very glad to see a story from you! I was pleasantly surprised to see your name pop up in the list. I’m very proud of and happy for you! :D


It’s a beautiful story, from start to end. It’s a very intriguing concept, with the First One and Second One thing. It also warms my heart when Mike and Chester crossed paths. I’m very excited to read more from you! :D

From: MissDomho

Date: 2018-03-19

Chapter: ?

Oh my god! I refreshed the page and finally you have posted this. <3 I am so happy and so proud of you, when I began to read to it, I just crumbled a little inside, it's so beautifully written! So raw and passionate, that I *sigh* I have no idea how to explain my love for this. The ending shredded me up, how Chester had said he had finally found his second one. :)


I am looking forward to reading more of your work <3 you have made me day, thank you my friend xox

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-03-19

Chapter: ?

I really admire people who can write in a language that is not their first language. I can't speak a second language at all, and certainly have no ability to read/write in one, so you are awesome in my book.


This was hard for me to read, only because I have personal experience, watching someone you love who has had sight their whole life suddenly lose it... so on a personal level, this really spoke to me. I like how you set everyone up before you tell us whole they are, and I adore the idea of the First One and Second One. So clever, and something I never really thought about.


What you wrote about Chester knowing the little landmarks and where he was is so true. I think it was far harder to watch someone who used to be able to see try to cope with blindness, than I think it would be to watch someone who has been blind from birth. Anyway, I ramble... I like your concept here and so glad there is another chapter. :)

Reviews 1 to 15 of 15