LPfiction

Reviews

The Second One by Violet Raven

Add review

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-09-17

Chapter: 2

I was thinking about this fic today, and I don't know if you even still come here anymore, but I hope you finish it someday. :) I'd love to know what happens to Chester.

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2018-06-12

Chapter: 2

This is such a beautiful story! I've read before but never left a review. I just re-read today to leave you a review and let you know how amazing I think your writing is, and specially since English is not your first language. I just hope you can continue and give Mike and Chester their happy ending. Thanks for this fic.

From: squashie

Date: 2018-04-15

Chapter: 1

Violet, this is phenomenal. It was one of those instances when I saw the update appear on the front page and had one of those mini-heart-attacks. I was so excited to carry on reading this story. And you absolutely delivered on the second part. Like... wow. This is such a deeply emotional story, but you managed to temper it with the perfect amount of humour and sweetness. It's so compelling. Your characters are wonderful, your writing is perfectly paced and clear and fresh and lovely and you have me 100% emotionally invested in this little world and the people in it. I'm so glad there's going to be more!


Your pacing and descriptions in the scene where Chester gets lost on his way to meet Mike had me on the edge of my seat. Well, I would've been on the edge of my seat if I was on a seat at the time, but I was actually in bed. But like... I nearly fell out of bed I was so tense. It's not easy to write a scene like that and pull it off so well. You're really freaking good at this.


Now, onto the next point... your references are fantastic. Depeche Mode etc... I love it all. And then you mentioned WoW and Well of Eternity and I was like "Hang on a second! Are you a secret WoW player?" I was heavy into WoW for like... six or so years. I've been 'clean' now for just over one year, but I was so addicted at one point, it was actually ridiculous. My username on this site is actually based on my main WoW character's name. HAH. So anyway, I was not expecting a WoW reference in an LP fan fic, but you just never know what you're gonna get! And it made me love Chester's character even more because I could relate to that so much.


Lots and lots of love to you! This was brilliant and well worth the wait and I'm so looking forward to seeing where it goes. You are brilliant. :) <3

From: becisamonsta

Date: 2018-04-14

Chapter: 1

Your writing is beautiful. I really enjoyed reading this, even through the tears, it was so amazing to read. ❤

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-04-13

Chapter: 1

First of all: I would never forget such a great story, no matter how long you are not updating. And second: if the update it THAT great, I'm more then happy to wait!


I'm really impressed how you manage to describe Chesters feelings and struggles. I mean I can't relate to his blindness, but I still think you write in a way that makes your readers getting close to the character and the feelings. And I was super impressed by Chesters courage to go out there alone - even though it turned out a bit dangerous. I mean... When I get lost somewhere I panic immediately, even though it is over day and I can see my surrounding :D He actually tried to reconstruct the way he went and figure out where to go to get back on track. Impressive! Still happy that Mike was there :) Can'r wait for the third part <3

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-04-13

Chapter: 1

This was so good!! Like, seriously. Every time I thought I knew what was coming next, it was different. When they started to have that odd, flirty banter going on, I thought for sure something romantic would happen, and then bam! Chester slipped up and, and, it was so real. It was so real and awkward it hurt. And the same thing with him going to the park alone and getting "lost" and freaking out and. . .it was so real. I could feel his panic. And when Mike showed up and Chester freaked out, again, such a human reaction. You've done an excellent job with this story and I'm happy to hear that there will be another chapter :) I really, really want Joe and the others to meet Mike. Because some little part of me is seriously fearing that he isn't real. That he is just a dream/hallucination. My heart will die if that's true....so I'm hoping the others will meet him in the next edition. Love this story a lot. Again, thank you so much for sharing with us.

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-04-12

Chapter: 1

I actually had to step away from this in the middle and come back to it because it made me ugly cry. The way you write Chester's emotions it just so on point. It makes me wonder if you have known someone who has gone through something similar? I don't want to get too personal on here in a public review just because - wanting to keep my real identity off here and all that - but I went through the loss of eye sight with a family member, and the way you write Chester just hits me so intensely. You are getting the emotions across in this so well.


I love how Joe is no-nonsense and makes Chester get out of the house, and Mike is so tender in this, I love how you are writing him. I just wish that this didn't hurt so much to read! I mean that with all the respect in the world, you are doing a fantastic job, it just hits really close to home for me. <3

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-03-27

Chapter: 1

That was such a great chapter... Really, I'm completely stunned! The way you create the characters (all of them) is intensive as fuck and even though I never went through something similar, I felt the emotions coming trough the words directly to my heart. That was incredible.

The whole setting in the beginning is so dark and you cannot believe how big the smile on my face was, when I read further and further, ending up in this perfect conversation between the two of them.

So, a really great job and I look forward to a second part :)

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-03-20

Chapter: ?

First off, welcome to LPF as a writer!!!!! I was so thrilled when I saw a story from you on the boards. Your reviews are always so well-written that I had no doubts that your story would be the same. I have to say that it's not at all what I was expecting. So many twists. And it's very original and different from everything else up right now. Chester being blind, it's almost beyond me to think about it, and he's so down on himself and living. It was just heartbreaking to read. I love all the little details you put in it though, especially the parts with him holding onto the walls and how he's so frustrated at being slow. Brad's a good friend for sticking with him (unlike the other unnamed friends). and even hiring an assistant for him. And it's Joe!! Joe needs more love on this site :) and he seems to really help Chester come out of his shell.


Now. The last bit with Mike. I so didn't see that coming and I love the way you wrote it. So relaxed and by chance and yet here's Chester actually getting excited about someone new. Actually excited!! That's such a good sign and now he has something to look forward to for tomorrow, which is ALWAYS a good thing.


Rated for you :D

From: squashie

Date: 2018-03-20

Chapter: ?

I AM ABSOLUTELY THRILLED THAT YOU ARE WRITING A FIC!


Honestly, I was wondering when you were going to do it, because you're so obviously good at writing. It was obvious to me from the first (super long!) review that you ever sent me (which I have read so many times) and since then I've just become even more certain about it... and now I have been proven right! This is fantastic! And not even your native language. Incredibly impressive.


You've got a really interesting concept here, sensitively and powerfully handled. I was emotionally invested from the first couple of lines and I'm really looking forward to reading more and seeing what happens between Chester and his Second One. I'm imagining him running his fingers over Mike's lovely face so that he can 'see' how lovely he is. And then maybe Mike doing the same in return. You're making my imagination run wild with this already... I also really enjoyed your Brad character. (You know I have a massive soft spot for Brad. He seemed like a really good friend in this. Very real and honest.)


Arrrgh, so many feelings, especially given that today is Chester's birthday and I'm a bit of an emotional wreck even BEFORE reading this wonderful bit of writing.


Anyway, well done, keep going and thanks so much for sharing. :)

From: frostfall

Date: 2018-03-20

Chapter: ?

I just want to say that I’m very glad to see a story from you! I was pleasantly surprised to see your name pop up in the list. I’m very proud of and happy for you! :D


It’s a beautiful story, from start to end. It’s a very intriguing concept, with the First One and Second One thing. It also warms my heart when Mike and Chester crossed paths. I’m very excited to read more from you! :D

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-03-19

Chapter: ?

I really admire people who can write in a language that is not their first language. I can't speak a second language at all, and certainly have no ability to read/write in one, so you are awesome in my book.


This was hard for me to read, only because I have personal experience, watching someone you love who has had sight their whole life suddenly lose it... so on a personal level, this really spoke to me. I like how you set everyone up before you tell us whole they are, and I adore the idea of the First One and Second One. So clever, and something I never really thought about.


What you wrote about Chester knowing the little landmarks and where he was is so true. I think it was far harder to watch someone who used to be able to see try to cope with blindness, than I think it would be to watch someone who has been blind from birth. Anyway, I ramble... I like your concept here and so glad there is another chapter. :)

Reviews 1 to 12 of 12