LPfiction

Reviews

The Arrangement by Penelope_Ink

Add review

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-05-16

Chapter: 2

"when Mike and I get our new place, we need to get an official liquor cabinet. Yes. I like the sound of that. And no fuckin’ green tiles. Anywhere. That’s going to be a rule. I don’t care if Mike has the biggest hard on for some place, if there’s green tiles, we’re out of there." Haha, yes. God, this is so funny. Of all the things, Chester's number one marriage non-negotiable is green tiles. :)


Comparing Mike to a bottle of rum has to be one of my favorite Mike comparisons of all time. I mean. Spicy and dark. Yep. God, yes. I love that Chester's thoughts can't stay focused and keep coming back to these little snippets of random Mike thoughts. He's so confused and that alcohol isn't helping and I totally LOVE those animal cookies he was eating. In fact, my weekend may now consist of those cookies and rum. Just because.


I like that the "no boundaries" thought comes back this chapter as Chester is trying to figure out what he got himself into, and that memory of him and Mike on the beanbag chair is so sweet. This marriage might be a business arrangement but I feel like it's going to turn into something more. I feel it. I want it. No matter that you have all these stories in the works, I know you have all the time to write more, so get on it.

From: A.N.

Date: 2018-05-15

Chapter: 2

Chester turned the slight 'negative' into a positive with a celebratory drink! I'm feeling a bit of a "if you can't beat him, join him" vibe.


I live in a pretty crappy neighborhood. My apartment is not in bad shape (because we take care of it), but I can very easily visualize the stray cat stench and the garbage around where Chester lives. I HATE that frustration of a key not working in the door. We're in a multi-family house, and the front door to the building has a really funny lock, and it is so irritating to try to get it open. I have to take a deep breath a lot.


Three colors should NEVER be used in bathrooms: Brown, yellow and green. Especially green. Immediately makes me think of puke. Brown and yellow are more obvious, lol. My money is on option B, also.


You picked the perfect drink, btw. I'm not saying that because I love rum. Rum is the best drink to wash away any bullshit, whiskey being a close second. NOTHING annoys me more than when people mix rum or any hard liquor with a non-alcoholic drink. Rum and Coke tastes disgusting, I don't give a shit what anyone says. Thank you for having Chester drink straight rum. You did my heart proud :D


The way Chester makes sense of marrying Mike, especially when he mentions to himself how no one will take advantage of him, I think that's really important to remember for the future.


Just a thought that's run through my mind a lot over the years... I wonder if Chester ever regretted getting the wedding ring tattooed on him, given the turn his relationship with Sam took. I'm sure at the time it was done out of love, but feelings change, and the tattoo remains.


Looking forward to what happens next!!!

From: malaiyas

Date: 2018-05-15

Chapter: 2

I think Chester's ruminating headspace was the right approach here. He just agreed to something pretty huge and life-changing, so it makes sense to see how he's handling the aftermath.


I must say, of course, I can't wait to see the completely bewildered reactions of everyone else. Like, what the actual fuck, guys? Lol!

From: malaiyas

Date: 2018-05-14

Chapter: 1

“You do know what marriage is, don’t you?”

Lmao. Probably the perfect follow-up question in a scenario like this.


I love all the little details sprinkled throughout this. I love Chester being allergic to flowers and sneezing and it echoes. I love how you’ve managed to pull off Mike’s bizarre proposition as one that makes sense!


I’ll be looking for more, definitely!

From: Violet Raven

Date: 2018-05-14

Chapter: 1

Holy F, it's just the beginning but I already dig it!!! I seriously have no idea how you even get ideas like that, but it was absolutely hilarious. I can only imagine all of the ridiculous situations they are about to get into. :D And the writing in the style of stream of conciousness really suits you. And it's a lot of fun, especially when the person you write about is as crazy as our Chaz. His mind is such a chaos. :D

"Maybe that’s where I’ve gone wrong. Maybe if I’d set better boundaries and not let him draw on me, he wouldn’t be asking me to marry him." << I'm speaking about such lines. :DDD

From: Clara Bassett

Date: 2018-05-13

Chapter: 1

Thanks so much for getting my account set up for me. I've been lurking for a while and now I can finally review some stories!


I lovelovelove the way you wrote how the restaurant looks. What an uptight place indeed!! I could picture everything as I read it, even that gold fountain and the people playing music.


What the hell is Mike even doing? Arranged marriages don't have the good track record that he thinks they do. They're associated with some pretty bad shit historically. I don't see this marriage thing working out for them the way he thinks it will.

From: frostfall

Date: 2018-05-13

Chapter: 1

MIKEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!! WHAT ARE YOU DOING?????????????????????????????


Sorry, needed to let that out because OH MY GOD. WHAT ARE YOU DOING???????????


Okay, I'm gonna try to be coherent but knowing me, that's not gonna end well lol. But here goes anyway.


I really love this writing style and it's not a challenging read at all! It drew me into the story from the get-go and the way you write Chester is charming and likable. I think it's 'cause I find myself relating towards certain things about him.


Also, Mike. Wow. An arranged marriage. Coming from a country where arranged marriages are common (well not VERY common now but there are people who undergo that and it's more prevalent in certain ethnicities), it's kinda interesting to see how this would go. But obviously, parents are the ones to organize the whole thing so to see Mike do all the research and present it all to Chester is pretty funny. I admire his commitment haha.


And he's so sure about the lack of love, huh. Well.......we'll see about that LOL.


Another thing, can I add that I admire how you could juggle three projects at a time? I have a story idea in the back of my mind for months now and I'm afraid of not being able to juggle both stories haha. It's really admirable.


Anyway, this is a great start and I'm really interested to see how this goes.

From: A.N.

Date: 2018-05-12

Chapter: ?

The way Chester feels about that restaurant is EXACTLY how I'd react to it! I loved all the detail you put into that scene, even the sneezes.


I'd feel so self conscious in a place like that too. Especially at the sight of that gold angel fountain, and the live music. And I'm finding the decor and atmosphere of the place to be far more interesting and impressive than the food you described. Like, all that expensive decor, and they've got such a basic menu. I've been to so many restaurants that serve the same old pasta, steaks and shrimp.


Mike IS the one who's always putting out fires, distracting attention, and so on. And sometimes he's the one who starts the fires, and has to put them out, or rely on Chester to put them out, the Making of ATS video being a perfect example of that.


The way you describe Mike's body language is so perfect. That's exactly how people behave when they are anxious. That moment when he fiddles with his earring, I could visualize that so clearly in my head.


The waitress's reaction was golden. Like 1,000 karats golden, lol.


The way Chester explains his vision of marriage to Mike, that's how I feel about it. Well, I'd get a cat instead of a dog, but yeah, I feel the same way. I understand that arranged marriages are a thing, and why they are done, even in today's world, but it's not something I'm okay with for me personally.


Mike did research. That's like what Spock would do to Uhura (I am a huge Star Trek fan, and I love the reboots, and intensely ship Spock with Uhura).


But let's be real here, Mike doodling on Chester, and Chaz totally being fine with it, is EXACTLY why they should get married. That's like the cutest BFF thing ever. I had a friend, not a best friend necessarily, but a friend, who I'd let doodle on me, and I'd doodle on her. And then we got into a really bad fight and never talked to each other again. Yeah. Moving on.


Now all I can think about is that instagram photo Mike shared last year of the way his kids painted his face like a cat. I would totally doodle all over Mike if he'd let me.


I think I see what's going on. Mike wanted to marry Anna, and got rejected, so he's looking for a safer kind of marriage where love isn't involved, and where it will work out according to his plan for his future.


BTW, with circular thinking, that's how narcissists turn people's arguments against them. I'm getting a vibe that Mike is using Chester to get what he wants, and this arrangement isn't about Chester at all. And truthfully, what better guy for a narcissist to take advantage of, than a man who's clinically depressed, self conscious, and easy to talk into these things?


I really love this story, and how it's going. Looking forward to the next chapter!

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-05-12

Chapter: ?

O.M.G. The details. Mike's earrings. The blocky handwriting. The little people! Ahhhh! I'm dying with the absolute cuteness over here! My favorite paragraph is the one where you describe his little guys, and the doodling! OMG! "Maybe that’s where I’ve gone wrong. Maybe if I’d set better boundaries and not let him draw on me, he wouldn’t be asking me to marry him." I laughed out loud reading that, it's such a Chester thing to think!


I love that Mike is one step ahead of every argument that Chester could present to counter this offer. He knows Chester well enough to know what his reservations would be and what he would say, and he's prepared to refute all of his concerns! The paper folder had me giggling. I can see this! All of this going down with my mental image of BabyMike and Chaz in this snooty restaurant!


Chester looking at Mike's bottom lip (yes, honey, it's delectable) and Mike blushing at the mention of sex makes me think that they both already know that love and sex is in the future. Ah! Awesome start to this, so excited to read more!!!

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-05-12

Chapter: ?

This is so crazy - and I love it!! :D

I love the way how Chester feels a complete stranger in this restaurant, how he describes itself and how he judges others.

And I love Mike being the way he is - rational and crazy! But I feel what Chester felt: actually, it does make sense! The longer Mike talked, the more I agreed with him (ok, maybe I'm biased because I love Bennoda, but still... The finances! The security!)!

So, great start. And I think it works well from Chester's perspective, well written and not awkward. But I know what you mean, it can be challenging to do something else then you are used to. That'w why I never change that in my stories. But you did a great job here, can't wait to see how their weeding will be planned (and what the guys say :D)

Reviews 1 to 10 of 10