LPfiction

Reviews

The Arrangement by Penelope_Ink

Add review

From: Fable_star

Date: 2018-07-15

Chapter: 6

I'm sorry I haven't been reviewing each chapter but I have been following this faithfully and waiting patiently (not) for every update. Each one just gets better..


I have to say ur like Mike in this story. You had me where Chester was in the beginning but I was totally nodding my head and becoming totally invested in this insane"arrangement" as the story progresses.

As usual the writing has me laughing out loud. And you really do write some of the best Mike and Chester relationships ever. They are so good together without even realising they are together..

What's going on Mike???? Huh? Huh?

I love love this story.. Please don't make us wait too long 😊

The chapter at Mike's parents house was very very good and the way Chester's talking about Mike's headaches and medicine.. Wow 😁 I wish I knew what Mike was thinking


I'm sorry about this crazy review...I just wanted to put it down when I had a chance..

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-07-04

Chapter: 6

I wasn't expecting Anna to make an appearance, so this whole opening scene threw me a bit. I wonder why Chester felt like he needed to talk to her. Is he starting to have suspicions about Mike's real feelings toward him? Anna seems to think that Chester was the problem, so that's interesting. I did feel bad for her when she had that revelation, "he's gay." Even if that's not the actual case, her reaction is what I'd expect someone's to be if they found out their ex was going to marry someone of the same sex.


This hair dye scene is one of the cutest things you've written. I love how Mike repeats himself - I do that. Not because I think the other person didn't hear me, necessarily, but because it calms my anxiety to give the instructions again. It's that control thing. Mike giving up control to have Chester do his hair is so cute. NOW. These sighs and touches and soft looks Mike is giving Chester- whaaatt?? Drawing on him, ok, I get, but he's so tender and loving about it. And then telling Chester he's sexy... my Bennoda heart was so happy. Haha! Mike seemed awfully annoyed by the whole Anna thing, so I wonder if there's a little bit of truth to what she said.


Then Chester imagining what kissing Mike would be like and then Mike actually kissing him! OMG! What is happening!!!!

From: bag_full_of_stars

Date: 2018-07-04

Chapter: 6

Aaaaaargghhhh!!!

They cannot be that blind!!!! Dang it !!!

I liked the whole scene with Anna, it would be weird if he got dumbed!

I also like the way you incorporated the thing about the movies, that Mike said about Chester! It was brilliant!

I can't wait for the chapter that they will see the light :)

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-06-26

Chapter: 5

As much as I disagree with the way Mike's family is acting - they are kind of right. It really seems to be more than a friendship and seen the fact that they are engaged I would maybe also flip out a bit as a parent. Still, not cool to not believe your own child and only scream, that is not going to help.


But Back to Mike and Chester. The way they act around each other (and I certainly don't mean the cuddling in the bed. It's also part of it, but I see the point that this can "just" happen when you share a limited space). I talk about the way they care about each other, the way they make each other smile, they agree with each other, they let themselves getting talked into anything the other person wants, they know each other so well... it's unbelievable. A good friendship should be like this but there are boundaries that they are constantly crossing. And yes, now I maybe talk about the cuddling (even though I still thing that cuddling is also a thing that can happen between friends - because everyone needs a cuddle once in a while). But also about the familiarity they have with each other. And the last scene was just... argh! Migraine is such a bad thing and I can feel Mike's pain and I love the way Chester is taking care <3

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-06-26

Chapter: 5

Wow, it really bugs me not to be able to be in Mike's headspace and figure out WHAT he is thinking. I am totally confused by this whole arranged marriage and the continued denial of there being more between him and Chester, when there so clearly is... I just don't get it. Not that I don't love this, because I do. And I know you'll answer the questions... eventually.


That first paragraph is just beautiful. I love that mental image of them spooned up together and Mike's hand on Chester's stomach. It's so sweet, ah! They cuddled all night. And as if it's not enough that Mike pulls Chester into him, then he's kissing his neck? What is going on here! Ahh, it's making me crazy.


All of that stuff Jason said about Mike wanting to find the one and fall in love has me even more confused. Because clearly something has changed. But if Mike thinks he's in love with Chester, why not just tell him that? Why go through all this arranged marriage hassle? And then talking about kids? I about fell out of my chair. I don't understand!! And offering for them to go to bed together, AGAIN, once they're back at Mike's place? C'mon, Shinoda, just tell Chaz you're in love with him.


Joe eating peanuts and beer in the morning, haha! And I laughed at Chester thinking about the band sucking, I love that little bit of self-doubt. So much of what you write has the stamp of familiarity all over it- Chester knows about Mike's meds, knows he can't swallow dry pills, the way Mike's hand lingers on his thigh at his parent's house that morning, the way Mike puts his head in Chester's lap, the way Chester strokes his hair... I understand why Mike's family keeps saying they see how the two of them act. It's past friends, and they're in denial. I also like this thread you have of how they don't tell each other to stop things that they probably should, like the hair stroking, and how they don't tell each other no. This is all interesting, even if I don't understand the motives yet.


I like the contrast with Mike's place and Chester's, just add that to the list of reasons Chester never says no to him. He's so much more comfortable in Mike's space than his own.


(Oh yeah, syrupy eggs... *shudder*)

From: bag_full_of_stars

Date: 2018-06-26

Chapter: 5

A) he was sleeping with Chester glued in front of him ,while he was hugging him and wonders why his family doesn't believe him... Good try Mike, good try

B) Chester knows every little detail about Mike's migraines and house and he sits with Mike's head on his lap.


Who's in denial boys???

Great story :) :)

From: malaiyas

Date: 2018-06-09

Chapter: 4

Ha! Why would parents understand this? I'd fully expect them to be only ones who are impervious to Mike's ~*logic*~


Those cuddles at the end, though... oooooh! ;)

From: Violet Raven

Date: 2018-06-01

Chapter: 3

First night together as engaged, and they are already spooning each other. I don't blame Ches for taking advantage of Mike's bodywarmth. Who could've push fluffy, cuddly Mike Shinoda away?


But really. When they try to convince parents the aren't romantically or sexually involved, they probably shouldn't share bed. I imagine the next morning when Shinoda parents found out they were sharing Mike's virginal bed, they are gonna flip. :DDD


To be honest I'm not surprised they don't agree with the whole idea. It made sense with guys since they are only their friends, and also they all are young and single. But Mike's parents are from old school and they believe marriage should be between people who love each other. And I bet they also worry about whether they gonna have grandchildren or not. :DDD

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-06-01

Chapter: 3

Who would push away Mike Shinoda? I definitely wouldn't! :D


Cute chapter, I really like your writing. It is a good mixture of humour and serious thoughts and also confusion. I mean, it is so obvious that there is a bit more than friendship and I hope they will figure out. It can be hard to see it yourself, but friends and family are sometimes really good in seeing things you can't see (been there, done that...).


Oh, and over all the family-cuteness I nearly forgot that they bought rings. Which is great!

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-05-31

Chapter: 3

OMG. Mike is cuddling. I don't care if he's asleep, he's subconsciously cuddling, and I like it. Ugh, I know there is more to him wanting to get married than it just 'making sense' and all that.


I love how you write all the contrast between them. Mike is all calm and collected and Chester's all over the place. It's a good depiction of them. All of the little things, like how Chester says he smiles at Mike more than anyone else, tells me there's just more there. No way you agree to marry your same-sex best friend and it's 100% platonic. Nope. And how Chester is adamant he doesn't want rings but then gets upset when they cost too much... it's all adding up, at least in my Bennoda head. When Chester is talking about their songs on the radio... ah, I smiled so big. I can see that happening IRL.


Boo on Jason, I'm annoyed by him. Little brothers, bah. And what's with this bed situation? Ah, that conversation about the bed and marriage just stole my heart. There's something really intimate about that conversation, and I feel like Mike wanted to say more. Or maybe I just wanted him to. But I felt like him inviting Chester to sleep there was more of a big deal than Mike tried to make it seem. And the cuddling. Damn it, I'm a sucker for Mike cuddling. <3 Lots going on in the chapter, the rings, and Mike's parents, and this developing bed situation!

From: nab

Date: 2018-05-29

Chapter: 3

Wow wow wow. This is a great fic. Thanks for writing it.


C1: I am in love his Chester's inner voice. He is such a smart ass. And holy hell.. What a proposal? At first I was totally against it. But the numbers don't lie. And it make sense for be married to your best friend, right? Although... I'm curious as to how 2 straight guys are gonna boink. That's right.. I said boink.


'He’s visually molesting the stem of his champagne flute, where his fingers are rubbing up and down'


That line is one of a kind.


C2: oh my god. Chester is so in love with Mike, but he doesn't know it. Everything he sees, he's associating it with Mike. This is hilarious. He keeps sliding from pro marrying Mike to against it in seconds. And his rants about the color green. I cannot stop laughing.


Rob and Joe sittin on a tree.


C3: Please stop. Chester's thoughts are so random and hilarious. How can he thought about being married to Mike, then jumped into Joe is a great speller. And I love that they did their meeting at Rob's mom house.


Oh oh oh...Mike sounds so possessive when the band suggested an open marriage. Finally...show a bit of emotion, Shinoda.


Great writing. Looking forward to reading more of your work. Rated.

From: malaiyas

Date: 2018-05-28

Chapter: 3

The fact that their band meeting takes place at Rob's mom's house adds an extra sprinkling of sweetness to this whole thing. Like, they're just starting out, so they're still pretty hard-up, and somehow, I think that lends more credit to Mike's whole argument of why getting married to Chester is the "right" thing to do.


Their reactions at first are exactly what you'd expect. It's just such a bizarre announcement, especially to have it followed up with, "we're not in love and we're not fucking"!


And, Mike, always so convincing. He should prepare charts to make sure he never a point in his argument. I love how he gradually persuades everyone over to his side, even if in the back of their minds, they're still like, "wait, what?"


The description of the food they'd be served was super cute to me, too, right down to the chocolate milk. Like, what a cute mom!

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-05-27

Chapter: 2

I just need to say again how much I love that they aren't rolling in the money yet. Their cars, their living arrangements, it's all so REAL. You describe this part of their lives so well. All of the BabyLP things - Brad's oversized clothes and Rob's goatee, the way they talk to each other and Chester's mindset, I love it so much. (side note... I wonder, if their families hadn't been affluent, if LP would have been able to come into existence. I mean, we know Chester didn't have any money, but the other guys were still able to live okay while they struggled to break out into the business. It's an interesting thought. I like how you describe Rob's mom's house- it tells us just enough about the guy's backgrounds.)


I felt for Chester on the 'better half' thoughts. I can imagine it would be tough to be married to Mike, as perfect as he is ;) but Chester isn't giving himself enough credit.


I love how it's always Bradford who freaks when Mike and Chester are 'together'. It fits his personality so well. And I love when Chester explains they won't. be having sex with other people. Um, guys, you do know that means you'll be having sex with each other, because we all know you two aren't going to be celibate the rest of your lives. So... yeah. And of course, Mike manages to bring everyone around to his way of thinking, because he's so logical and persuasive.


I LOVE the ending line. *sigh* This fic makes me so happy.

From: lpfan503

Date: 2018-05-16

Chapter: 2

"when Mike and I get our new place, we need to get an official liquor cabinet. Yes. I like the sound of that. And no fuckin’ green tiles. Anywhere. That’s going to be a rule. I don’t care if Mike has the biggest hard on for some place, if there’s green tiles, we’re out of there." Haha, yes. God, this is so funny. Of all the things, Chester's number one marriage non-negotiable is green tiles. :)


Comparing Mike to a bottle of rum has to be one of my favorite Mike comparisons of all time. I mean. Spicy and dark. Yep. God, yes. I love that Chester's thoughts can't stay focused and keep coming back to these little snippets of random Mike thoughts. He's so confused and that alcohol isn't helping and I totally LOVE those animal cookies he was eating. In fact, my weekend may now consist of those cookies and rum. Just because.


I like that the "no boundaries" thought comes back this chapter as Chester is trying to figure out what he got himself into, and that memory of him and Mike on the beanbag chair is so sweet. This marriage might be a business arrangement but I feel like it's going to turn into something more. I feel it. I want it. No matter that you have all these stories in the works, I know you have all the time to write more, so get on it.

From: A.N.

Date: 2018-05-15

Chapter: 2

Chester turned the slight 'negative' into a positive with a celebratory drink! I'm feeling a bit of a "if you can't beat him, join him" vibe.


I live in a pretty crappy neighborhood. My apartment is not in bad shape (because we take care of it), but I can very easily visualize the stray cat stench and the garbage around where Chester lives. I HATE that frustration of a key not working in the door. We're in a multi-family house, and the front door to the building has a really funny lock, and it is so irritating to try to get it open. I have to take a deep breath a lot.


Three colors should NEVER be used in bathrooms: Brown, yellow and green. Especially green. Immediately makes me think of puke. Brown and yellow are more obvious, lol. My money is on option B, also.


You picked the perfect drink, btw. I'm not saying that because I love rum. Rum is the best drink to wash away any bullshit, whiskey being a close second. NOTHING annoys me more than when people mix rum or any hard liquor with a non-alcoholic drink. Rum and Coke tastes disgusting, I don't give a shit what anyone says. Thank you for having Chester drink straight rum. You did my heart proud :D


The way Chester makes sense of marrying Mike, especially when he mentions to himself how no one will take advantage of him, I think that's really important to remember for the future.


Just a thought that's run through my mind a lot over the years... I wonder if Chester ever regretted getting the wedding ring tattooed on him, given the turn his relationship with Sam took. I'm sure at the time it was done out of love, but feelings change, and the tattoo remains.


Looking forward to what happens next!!!

From: malaiyas

Date: 2018-05-15

Chapter: 2

I think Chester's ruminating headspace was the right approach here. He just agreed to something pretty huge and life-changing, so it makes sense to see how he's handling the aftermath.


I must say, of course, I can't wait to see the completely bewildered reactions of everyone else. Like, what the actual fuck, guys? Lol!

From: malaiyas

Date: 2018-05-14

Chapter: 1

“You do know what marriage is, don’t you?”

Lmao. Probably the perfect follow-up question in a scenario like this.


I love all the little details sprinkled throughout this. I love Chester being allergic to flowers and sneezing and it echoes. I love how you’ve managed to pull off Mike’s bizarre proposition as one that makes sense!


I’ll be looking for more, definitely!

From: Violet Raven

Date: 2018-05-14

Chapter: 1

Holy F, it's just the beginning but I already dig it!!! I seriously have no idea how you even get ideas like that, but it was absolutely hilarious. I can only imagine all of the ridiculous situations they are about to get into. :D And the writing in the style of stream of conciousness really suits you. And it's a lot of fun, especially when the person you write about is as crazy as our Chaz. His mind is such a chaos. :D

"Maybe that’s where I’ve gone wrong. Maybe if I’d set better boundaries and not let him draw on me, he wouldn’t be asking me to marry him." << I'm speaking about such lines. :DDD

From: Clara Bassett

Date: 2018-05-13

Chapter: 1

Thanks so much for getting my account set up for me. I've been lurking for a while and now I can finally review some stories!


I lovelovelove the way you wrote how the restaurant looks. What an uptight place indeed!! I could picture everything as I read it, even that gold fountain and the people playing music.


What the hell is Mike even doing? Arranged marriages don't have the good track record that he thinks they do. They're associated with some pretty bad shit historically. I don't see this marriage thing working out for them the way he thinks it will.

From: frostfall

Date: 2018-05-13

Chapter: 1

MIKEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEEE!!!!!!!!! WHAT ARE YOU DOING?????????????????????????????


Sorry, needed to let that out because OH MY GOD. WHAT ARE YOU DOING???????????


Okay, I'm gonna try to be coherent but knowing me, that's not gonna end well lol. But here goes anyway.


I really love this writing style and it's not a challenging read at all! It drew me into the story from the get-go and the way you write Chester is charming and likable. I think it's 'cause I find myself relating towards certain things about him.


Also, Mike. Wow. An arranged marriage. Coming from a country where arranged marriages are common (well not VERY common now but there are people who undergo that and it's more prevalent in certain ethnicities), it's kinda interesting to see how this would go. But obviously, parents are the ones to organize the whole thing so to see Mike do all the research and present it all to Chester is pretty funny. I admire his commitment haha.


And he's so sure about the lack of love, huh. Well.......we'll see about that LOL.


Another thing, can I add that I admire how you could juggle three projects at a time? I have a story idea in the back of my mind for months now and I'm afraid of not being able to juggle both stories haha. It's really admirable.


Anyway, this is a great start and I'm really interested to see how this goes.

Reviews 1 to 20 of 23