LPfiction

Reviews

Growing Up by JellyfishLP

Add review

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-01-17

Chapter: 17

I love that Talinda can climb trees just as well as Chester. They're such a good fit for each other. I get why Mike would be jealous. . .so many layers of emotions there. Jealous because she's taking some of Chester's time away from him, and jealous because he doesn't have a girlfriend, too. Oh, growing up.


It really sucked seeing Chester being beaten up, and I can understand how Mike would feel guilty, but it's not his fault. I agree with Chester on that one. I'm just glad he's okay and it only amounted to a few cuts and bruises.


Mrs. Shinoda and her dating advice cracks me up.


I was proud of Mike for finally getting up the nerve to ask Anna out and then Chester and Talinda and their first kisses :) Can't wait to see what's next!

From: Samweis

Date: 2019-01-15

Chapter: 17

Ches and Tali are just too cute. And the moment at the beach when they kiss just perfect!


That Mike and Chester are "fighting" (or however you would like to call it) is not a good think but I think a really natural one. Every friendship goes through that at some point I guess. At least I did, plenty of times. And I know they are more like brothers but still - sharing someone that you had all to yourself for years is not easy. So I understand Mike, even though he shouldn't had let Chester walk home by himself!

From: becisamonsta

Date: 2019-01-14

Chapter: 17

Oh gee, oh gosh. That first kiss was just everything, it was sweet and delicious and well very well written. I have finally caught up with this story and must say I’m in love <3 it has the right amount of cuteness and Chester in it, and that is exactly what I need. Thank you for making me smile :)

From: BlackRivver

Date: 2019-01-11

Chapter: 16

Awww. So cute! Tal and Chester's first date! And so glad his mom gave him dating advice. How adorable of Chester trying not to curse and being a gentleman. xD Lovely update!

From: Samweis

Date: 2019-01-04

Chapter: 16

Haha, that was just really cute. Shy and insecure Chester is adorable! Not trying to say fuck and other things was really a challenge for him, wasn't it? Sigh. The things you do when you want to impress someone!


I really like that he talks to his mum about it before and that she helps him out. He shouldn't be hiding things and this is part of learning to trust others and seeing that they want his best.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-01-01

Chapter: 15

This was so cute! Little Talinda and little Chester :) I'm so glad she told him yes, and Chester's mom giving him dating advice was just the best. I did that recently with my son lol so it kinda hit home.


I'm glad their date went well, and I love that they both adore animals and would have a ton at home if they could. I think that's a great connection for them.


The no cursing thing is cute, too. I'm glad to see him trying to make the effort :) I'm excited to see what's next and see Mike finally get a date too!

From: BlackRivver

Date: 2018-12-29

Chapter: 15

ch 15)

Yessss. I'm glad Chester had enough and punched Tim in the face. I don't agree with violence, but sometimes...sometimes there's just not another option. And I'm glad the parents were supportive and understanding. Glad Mike told everything about the bullying. It had to be said. Now Chester will be left alone and Talinda is impressed. Win-win. Lovley chapter. Can't wait for more. :)

From: BlackRivver

Date: 2018-12-21

Chapter: 15

Ch 14)

LOL! Of course they'd get into some trouble. At least now their parents know it's not just them being little toublemakers. Poor Chester not wanting anyone to find out he's in therapy. I can relate though. And OooooHhh! They got crushes! The boys are growing up so fast. :') See what i did there? xD

Great update. Now onto ch 15. Hope I manage to get to it before you post ch 16. x)

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-12-20

Chapter: 15

Well I'm super happy that the parents were rational about all this, and especially the mom. She's so cool in the story. Such a mom...always loving and soft and forgiving. I'm glad that the principal, too, wasn't a total dick. I hate the bully aspect. I hope it stops for good. Sometimes it takes something like a broken nose to get the point across.


And Anna and Talinda haha their young, shy romances are already cute and nothing has even happened yet! I'm excited to see how that all goes down. And Chester, now he's got to say something....curious to know!


And the diary entry, gosh. How sad is it that this bully kid reminds him of Steven? And even calls him names and brings up his therapy and being hit? Ugh. So, so wrong.


I'm glad he's got Mike and the others so at least he's not alone at school.

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-12-20

Chapter: 15

CHESTER CHARLES BENNINGTON - he really has to learn to trust his parents and also teachers. There are assholes (we learned that in the last chapter) but there are also teacher he likes (as he says himself) and he can talk to them! And why isn't he saying anything to his parents or let Mike do the talking id he is too embarrassed? He could stay out of so much trouble... I mean, it's never easy to admit that you are having problems but it's not his fault that some idiot is bullying him and other kids so he doesn't have to deal with it all by himself... So glad that Mike finally decided that it was enough and told the truth. Also, it is so cute to see when he tries to calm Ches down in sign language. He cares so much about his brother <3


P.S. I just saw that you got my last review twice... Sorry for that, I don't know what went wrong. Let's see how often this one will get posted ;)

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-12-15

Chapter: 14

Haha, as if "nothing bad happened" will ever be true when it comes to Mike and Chester :D

But it's actually a quite sad reason why Chesterfields thinks he can't tell it, that shows how bad is trauma actually is. Even when he knows that nothing bad will happen to him when he tells his parents, his past is still stuck with him and influences his actions in the present...


But the part with his parents and the teacher was just hilarious! I guess we all had teachers that we just couldn't stand and that was nothing personal but just them being assholes.

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-12-15

Chapter: 14

Haha, as if "nothing bad happened" will ever be true when it comes to Mike and Chester :D

But it's actually a quite sad reason why Chesterfields thinks he can't tell it, that shows how bad is trauma actually is. Even when he knows that nothing bad will happen to him when he tells his parents, his past is still stuck with him and influences his actions in the present...


But the part with his parents and the teacher was just hilarious! I guess we all had teachers that we just couldn't stand and that was nothing personal but just them being assholes.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-12-14

Chapter: 14

Oh no! haha I knew the boys would get into at least a little trouble on the trip. Sounds like it wasn't too terribly bad, even though the teachers suspended them. Hmmmm..evil teachers. That woman. I wanted to smack her myself the way she was talking about the boys. sheesh. The nerve! I'm glad that the parents are seeing that it's not all Mike and Chester in the wrong, but that they're in a bad system. And I feel for Chester and his not wanting people to know about his therapy thing. It is personal...I'm hoping that somewhere along the way in this story he'll realize that it's not a bad thing.


I also want to know who the girls are! Come on...so not fair to not tell.


Also, love Jason the dog. I smile every time you mention him.

From: BlackRivver

Date: 2018-12-12

Chapter: 14

Ch 12)


I'm so glad Chester's started really talking to the therapyst. Even if he's still so angry (and really needs to work on the cursing, at least when talking to grown ups), at least he's not bottling it all up anymore. Love his and Mike's bond. Their love for one another is so strong and unconditional. And oh no. He got sick. :( But at least he has a loving, caring mom to take care of him now. And dad and brother too, of course.


CH 13)

Lol at the healthy diets. xD And poor Chaz being picked on. :( But yaaaay, field trip with the class. How fun! :D I do hope they manage to stay out of trouble, or at least that no one catches them if they do get into some. o.o


Lovely chapters!! Thank you for sharing! :)


Now on to ch.14.

From: SonataNocturne

Date: 2018-12-11

Chapter: 12

The healthy diet line made me laugh. I can imagine it was just like that, at least for Mike when he was a kid. And also that line about a pretty girl thinking they would be babies if they would walk by, awwww. Yeah, what can go wrong.... Pft... O.O xDDD Thank you!

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-12-09

Chapter: 12

A field trip! Haha I had to laugh at Mike saying they never want to get in trouble, the trouble just finds them lol I adore their brotherly bond, and I'm curious now who these girls are they like. But girls could bring trouble. And Chester, struggling being so small and picked on. I'm glad that he has Mike and that Mike cares enough to stand up for him.


I get the feeling that a lot of trouble is coming in the next chapter, can't wait!

From: BlackRivver

Date: 2018-12-08

Chapter: 12

Ch 11)

I'm so glad Mike was there for the therapy session, even though it pissed Chester off that Mike spoke so openly with the "enemy," still, at least he's angry and showing it, which means he's dropping some of his protective walls around her, and I'm sure she was able to get some insight thorugh Chester's behavior. I'm so glad she talked to Donna about the punishments. And that Donna was able to crack through Mutto's thick skull. And even got him to apologize to Chester. I'm so glad he did. Poor thing was feeling so bad about not having met up with his expectations. Mutto, what the hell. Math is hard for some people! But anyway, he apologized and hopefully, he'll come up with a better way to motivate the kids to try harder. Lovely chapter again! :D Two down, only two more to go. x)

From: BlackRivver

Date: 2018-12-08

Chapter: 12

Ch 10) I feel so bad for Chester's emotional torment. He's so angry and I totally get his reluctance to talk to the therapist, and how worried he is about what she'll say about him, but he does need to do it so I think it's a great idea having Mike coming along. Awww Ches cooking with his mom. Cute! And their sign language too! Thanks for the lovely chapter. I'll come back later with the review for ch.11 :)

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-12-07

Chapter: 12

That last sentence... I don't know how often I've said it to myself and then everything went downhill :D And the two of them mean trouble, they have proven that in the past. Hope they will return safe from the trip, but I guess we will see that in the course of the next chapter!

From: SonataNocturne

Date: 2018-11-29

Chapter: 12

Three chapters! Holy duck.


Chapter 10- Ches don't be a stubborn ass. You have to talk with her. Mmm, zucchini, I love zucchini (totally OT). Love their sign language <3 Agree with Mike, and I like that he is trying to get Ches to talk and I love the idea that he would go with him.


Chapter 11- Poor poor Ches :(( Ugh I love Chester's attitude with the therapist. That's exactly how I would imagine a kid feel like when they would have to talk with an adult about their problems like that (well, as I did too.) And I also like that you pointed out the spanking and that the therapist would like to talk with Muto.


Chapter 12- Rob as the voice of reason, yessssss xD And Joe being the weird one, obviously <3 Love how you picture the therapist. The time skip- I think it's perfect there. Awww, poor Ches sick. But I like how it shows their relationship and how she cares.

Reviews 1 to 20 of 49