LPfiction

Reviews

Growing Up by JellyfishLP

Add review

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-05-02

Chapter: 25

I think I just fell in love with Ches/Dave. The phone call was just so cute. They are still at such an early state but you can tell that they really like each other :) It sucks that they can't see each other and as much as I understood the choice to ground them, as much do I want them to be able to spend the summer together...


Chester singing to calm himself down is also just great. And Mike listening... I know it's not Bennoda, but in a really brotherly sense, my heart still speeded up a bit at this. It's just a nice details that shows how close they are.


As does the scene when Ches is painting his nails. I'm glad that Mike decided to help him and that he supports him. Yes, they fight, they can be mad at each other, but in the end they are brothers that really love each other as such.


Das freaking out about it... I saw that coming :D But there is noting he can do, Ches will do whatever he wants to anyway... I basically just wait for him to sneak out again.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-05-01

Chapter: 25

I love that Chester painted his nails, and Mike helped him. lol and Muto needs to get over it. Doesn't he remember the birth of punk rock??? Come on! All the hot guys painted their nails black :D I really love their argument/make up through the wall. I think this is the first story I've ever read with Chester and Mike being brothers, and I have to say, I love it. I love the connection they have. It hits all my Bennoda feels without being romantic Bennoda.


His phone call to Dave was so cute. I think I grinned through the whole thing. And mom so knows. She should at least try and prepare Muto for what's coming. I love how you've portrayed her in this story. Such a mom.


lol and I adore Chester using words like "cute" and "pretty" cracked me up. I'm so glad Mike is supportive of him in every way.

From: becisamonsta

Date: 2019-05-01

Chapter: 25

How did I miss the last chapter? What?!! I swear I am just falling behind in everything I’m so sorry haha. Onto the review, I am glad Chester has reached some kind of agreement with his folks, and that his punishment won’t be so bad after all! Also Chester with painted nails, yum, argh haha. And now I am wondering the same for Dave’s dad’s name too lol? Anyway! Thank you for the great chapter, always a joy! Can’t wait to read the puppy play one yyyaaaay ❤️❤️❤️❤️

From: ninja

Date: 2019-04-24

Chapter: 24

grounded for two month?? OOoof but hey, better than prison. They better learn from this.

If they get to call their respective boy and girlfriend maybe time will pass a little faster. Or they could just come visit. who knows xD


anyway, Can't wait for the next chapter :)

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-04-20

Chapter: 24

So I left you a review yesterday, and the whole time I was reading the story, I had two things I really wanted to mention. Then I posted my review and realized I failed to mention them both! So here they are....


I really enjoyed the flashback of four year old Mike wetting his pajamas. It just tugged at my heartstrings, and I guess that's just me as a parent....looking at my teenagers and thinking, they used to be so sweet and innocent.


AND I laughed out loud over Chester and the coffee. He's now had alcohol twice, but hasn't managed to have a cup of coffee XD Like, at any point he could go buy a cup of coffee from anywhere or just make some at home when his parents are out lol it just really came off as hilarious to me. Like, he's not done either of those things because he's been told he's too young by his parents, but he will go get drunk. Even now I'm smiling like an idiot. I love it.


Okay, that's all.

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-04-19

Chapter: 24

Those teenagers... Seriously, you picture like half of my high-school class from back then... Just being rebellious and not understanding that there are boundaries you can't cross.


I do understand that they only see this as a little mistake but it wasn't, I need to agree with Muto. They got in conflict with the law and I hope that his little story about the boys ending in jail will help them understand that they have to be more responsible. It's only for their best to learn this now. Yes, being grounded for the summer sucks but screwing up even more badly one day because they didn't get to suffer the consequences would suck even more...


Chester yelling about his panic attack felt relatable. It must have been a horrible feeling to go through it alone and I think it is good that he said it out loud. Not to be pitied by Mike or his parents but to not bottle this feeling up. And Donna reacted in the right way. As did Jason - I love that he is still there for Ches when needed.


Ches and Mime yelling at each other - I was sure this was going to happen. They are both hotheads. I was surprised that Mike didn't spill out that Ches was in that restaurant with a boy... I kind of expected that to happen but I'm glad he didn't. It's Chester's choice when to tell this.


How the other boys are ok. And that Mike and Ches have learned their lesson!

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-04-19

Chapter: 24

Well, that could have been a lot worse! I relate so much because I have two teenagers in my house atm. I think Muto and Donna are doing great. And I agree, it's always a little more disturbing/shocking when it's Mike talking back/cursing. It's like I almost expect it from Chester, so when it's Mike, it's like....wow. Oh crap.


I love how you always say "Jason the dog" lol gotta remember he's not Jason Shinoda in this story.


I had to smile when they were debating how long they could talk on the phone and Mike begged for 8 minutes after Chester's 10. My kids do that. Especially my son...when he wants to stay out later.


I hope the others got home okay...guess we haven't seen that. I don't want any of them to have had some sort of accident.


I love this story! I'm glad you updated it as soon as you did.

From: ninja

Date: 2019-04-15

Chapter: 23

So much suspense!! I hope the talk goes well, they need to learn from their mistakes and so, they'll get grounded I guess but that's what parents are supposed to do.

hehe can't wait for more

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-04-04

Chapter: 23

Those kids.... I remember when you wrote, quite a while ago, that there will be trouble and I was like “nah, how bad can it be” and now I’m like “oh... that bad...”

I don’t necessarily say that drinking alcohol is bad, nor is defending yourself/ your best friend(s). But ending up in jail? That quite a big thing and I’m glad that Muto got them out of there. I don’t want to think about what it would have done for Ches to stay in there longer and probably fight through another panic attack. I was impressed that he calmed himself and I hope he gives Mike his five cents about just passing out when he needed him xD


Seen the fact that my stressed ass wasn’t able to comment on your last chapters, I will also share a few thoughts on Ches/Dave here, because, first of all, I think they are great together. You wrote Dave’s character really nicely and I’m curious to see where this goes. That Ches is talking to his therapist about his fears is such a big thing - remember all the times he refused to say a word or be super stubborn. He grew up so much and he grew as a person that wants to take care of himself. He really came a long way and that he considers letting Dave so close shows a lot that he is in a much better place than he was as a kid and young teenager.

I mean the nightmares must suck and they are a hard reminder of what happened but accepting that he likes guys and thinking about getting more intimate with Dave shows that he is really dealing with things.

From: derekbrad

Date: 2019-04-04

Chapter: 23

So glad that Chester could talk himself out of the panic attack, that’s really good to see that his therapy is working out well for him :) and seeing the two boys getting into trouble, let’s gope it’s the last lol 💕

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-04-04

Chapter: 23

Ugh, the poor boys. And yet it's their own damn fault. To be young...you make all the mistakes lol I'm very glad Muto agreed to wait till morning to talk to the boys about what happened. That's really the best approach. Mike wouldn't have been able to have a conversation anyway.


And thank goodness Hahn is a police officer :) I bet Joe gets it worse than everyone because of that though. And yeah, if they would have had priors because of the vandalism, this would have been a lot worse. I get where Muto is coming from. I have a niece who has the habit of getting into trouble and thinking it's no big deal, but stuff adds up and that's going to hit her one of these days *sigh*


Okay, I'm ready for the big talk. Oh! And I was very proud of Chester for remembering all the stuff he's learned in therapy and he was able to talk himself through his panic attack. That's a life skill right there.

From: becisamonsta

Date: 2019-04-03

Chapter: 23

I always jump whenever I see you update this story, despite that I feel fairly sick and blah, I just knew I had to read it! Officer Joe Hahn, I kept giggling seeing him like this I just can’t picture him as a serious police man, but you my friend made it work and it was great! Poor Mike and Chester I hope they will learn from their mistakes, seeing them locked away like that I hope they will learn from their mistakes. I am loving the pace in this story, it’s so raw and so real, wholesome and realistic! Do I need to go on lol?


Can’t wait for the next chapter! Eagerly waiting here ❤️❤️❤️

From: wing69wing

Date: 2019-03-30

Chapter: 22

This is such an amazing story and I love Bennoda friendship, thank you so much for the Update.

From: Rivver

Date: 2019-03-28

Chapter: 22

CH 21)

Ohhh Dave! That is cute. Unusual pairing, true, but I like unusual pairings. So yay!! Though I have to confess I was secretly hoping for the boy to be Brad. Don't mind me! xD And I'm assuming it's ballet what they are doing in that secret place, but you didn't say it, at least in this chapter, so it could be something else o.o

Their first date was so cute. And i'm glad Dave took Chester to that Youth center. Now they have a place where to feel included and fully accepted. I'm gald Chester told Mike about his date, too. Lovely chapter. Now on to ch.22. ;)

From: derekbrad

Date: 2019-03-25

Chapter: 22

Loved the first kiss! Was so sweet and huhu I am crying lol. Also sorry for getting mixed up with the bennoda, but excited to see more of Chester and Dave!

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-03-25

Chapter: 22

Sorry for my late review! It's been a bad few days, down with the flu :( but anyway. Oh my. Good stuff first. I'm glad that Chester is so comfortable with his therapist now, and I agree. He should be honest with Dave if things are going to progress between them.


I love the mom in this story. She tries so hard, even as her boys are growing up and being teenagers, she still reaches for them.


The whole first kiss thing was absolutely adorable. I was grinning ear to ear while reading that. I never thought I'd enjoy something other than Bennoda, but you're doing it in this story. I love your characters so much.


The drinking. *sigh* such a bad idea. And to go out in public after! They should have got the burgers to go and went to Joe's house lol but not they're really in trouble. Man, I felt bad for them...Rob passed out and Mike getting sick and Chester resisting the cops. Gosh. Mike's right. Mom and Dad are going to be so mad.


I'm worried for them! I hope it won't be too bad. I'd hate to see them lose their summer freedom over one mistake.

From: becisamonsta

Date: 2019-03-23

Chapter: 22

Wow. Just wow. This story is amazing, have I told you that? I’m not sure lol but it is.


I love reading into Chester a little more I’m his therapy session, and how he was explaining he wants to go further but just not sure what will happen and if he will be ok. And sometimes it’s just hard to let go of certain things that are troubling. Also loved the burger scene, giggled at that and drunk Mike... Just eep, cute haha. ❤️ Looking forward to the next chapter ❤️

From: JessLP

Date: 2019-03-18

Chapter: 21

Oh wow, I love this story. The pace, the way you write your characters, just w o w. I loved seeing Chester on his date with Dave, a nice little moment there just two teens acting like teens :) also congratulations on Mr. Shinoda! Can’t wait to see more :)

From: becisamonsta

Date: 2019-03-17

Chapter: 21

As much as I hate to admit it, I really enjoyed seeing Chester and Dave together. The way you wrote them together was quite cute and more often then enough I was in awwwew :) also I am glad Mike has moved on from his graffiti ways, concentrating on something else is always good :) loving this story as always ❤️

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-03-14

Chapter: 21

Oh...so much! First, lovely chapter :) So many feels. I really like seeing Chester go through his struggle/acceptance of his sexulaity. I'm glad the therapist and Mike both know, and now Dave, of course. I wasn't expecting Dave, but I think you've made them really cute together. One of the most adorable things I've ever read was their pinky rubbing at the movie. My heart just squealed. New/young love.


I'm really glad that Dave is further along in everything, and knows about places like the youth center. It will give Chester another outlet and a place to openly talk about things with other people. That will probably do him a world of good.


Screw the idiots at the movie.


And I'm guessing the secret activity is...Cheerleading or something along those lines. Mayb gymnastics?


I'm happy for Mr. Shinoda's promotion, but making Chester cut his hair *sigh* such a parent thing to do. But Dave likes the new cut, so it's all good, right?


And I have to say I'm relieved that Mike had given up on graffiti and moved onto to something less illegal. Maybe it was "art" but it was still vandalizing other people's property.


As always, I'm ready for more! I smile like a loon every time I see this story is updated.

Reviews 1 to 20 of 88