LPfiction

Reviews

Growing Up by JellyfishLP

Add review

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-09-02

Chapter: 30

I agree on the mindfulness, I hope Chester will master the art of calming down and getting himself grounded. Good job on his therapist's part for giving him an alternative option to pills.


I've always liked the Shinodas in this story, but damn, they need to lighten up. It was just one test, a test where everyone did badly, a test that was a surprise, and it's only the beginning of the school year, Chester will have plenty of time to make up for it.


On the other hand, my son has the exact same problems when it comes to school. I can't tell you how many conversations we've had with him that went just like the one you wrote...us telling him to take school seriously, and him promising he will, but he doesn't and so on. Having a kid like that, I can totally relate, to the parents and Chester in this story. Not everyone is the same, so even if Mike and Chester have similar amounts of time to study/do homework, that in no way means their grades will be the same.


As for your fake names for the grandparents, I think they're fine :) you're just making them up anyway, so whatever you come up with will work for your story.

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-09-01

Chapter: 30

First of all, I like the names you came up with :) When I hear them, they make me think of exactly the kind of people you described. So, go for it!


Reading that Ches is struggling more and more again is heartbreaking. He deserves to be happy and being a teenager and experiencing all those new things should be fun and exciting, not causing him anxiety and nightmares. I don't know why he is so reluctant to take the meds - it might really help him. It doesn't make him less of a good and functioning human being, people don't judge him if this is a step he needs to take to get finally better. Also, do the damn meditation/breathing exercise! In this regard he is a pretty normal stubborn teenager that doesn't like too listen to advise...


And he maybe needs to see that he can't manage everything at once. It's hard to admit to yourself that there are periods in your life where you have to come up with decisions and make priorities. I know this feeling all too well - "other people manage, why don't I get it together?" Bad news, Ches. You just have to take a bit more care of yourself than other people do and you need a bit more time for yourself. I hope he sees that at some point.


What else? I would really like a Mike/Ches moment again. I can see that they are still close but not as close as they used to be. Ches didn't even tell Mike that his anxiety was getting worse, or that he had nightmares again. I mean, it's good that he tells his therapist but so far he shared everything with Mike and he never thought that it would be better not to. So why now? I hope they don't loose the strong connection they always had while getting older and older. It is such a special bond.


I'm sure I missed something I wanted to comment on but right now I don't really remember. Maybe about the school stuff? Not sure. I mean I see why Ches gets frustrated. He is doing stuff for school and never being as good as your brother - that must suck. But he will manage, I'm sure. He has proven himself and his parents that he is smart enough, even though he forgets that sometimes.

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-08-22

Chapter: 30

Awwww, I',m melting here. Mike/Anna and Ches/Dave together are just too cute and the way they enjoy their time together it great, Especially that they feel so safe around each other that they can just be themselves. I know that Mike and Ches are, but it's good to see that Anna and Dave just fit into that constellation. Despite awkward morning.


I can imagine how happy Mike and Ches are that they are not grounded anymore and getting the house to themselves once a week is a pretty nice arrangement. But Donna was right, they have proven to be trusted again.


And then Ches opening up to Dave. I was hoping it would happen because I was afraid that Ches would loose it at some point and if Dave would not know anything about the anxiety and Chester's past, it could have ended badly. Dave could have walked out of it, frightened or hurt because he wouldn't know that it was not about him but about the demons Ches is still fighting. So knowing all of the past happenings, knowing that he struggles with anxiety but also knowing that he is getting help - that was important for Dave to know and he dealt with it in a badass way! Ches, he is a keeper!

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-08-22

Chapter: 30

Oh Mike. Showering with Anna at such a young age. I'm telling you, she's going to end up pregnant. Then Muto will really have a fit, and Mike will have to marry her. I like that Chester felt comfortable enough to tell Dave about therapy and his past/anxiety issues and how that will have an effect on their relationship, especially as they explore more physical things. Props for them for only doing over the clothes stuff despite sleeping in the same bed in only their underwear with no parents around.


I had to laugh at mother Shinoda saying the house was too clean XD that's something only a mother would say. I'm glad the grounding is over and they're letting the boys have more freedom, but that could lead to trouble, too. I don't know. I'm curious to see how it will go. I do love that all four of the can be in the same room, watching movies/making out and it's not a problem. I think that's a testament to how close Mike and Chester are, and the respect they have for each other.

From: ninja

Date: 2019-08-10

Chapter: 29

This chapter was really nice. I'm glad Dave came out, hopefully the parents come around. And the whole dinner and alone time was super cute!


and the date night between the parents OMG I loved it, Donna is so sweet.


I wanna know more about what happened with the boys together with Anna and Dave *smirks*

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-08-03

Chapter: 29

I really love the shift in the household. Muto has come a long way in the story, and his character growth is encouraging. Having Dave over for dinner is just great of them. And they didn't even badger him too badly. I love Chester telling them to all be normal lol that was hilarious. They're a close family, and it really shows. Mike shows himself to be a good brother, too. Which I love. Even when they fight/argue, there's still so much love between them.


Chester got to make out lol I know he's been waiting for that. And I'm happy Dave came out to his parents, even though it's obviously going to be very rough for him at home for awhile. I hope they'll come around, poor kid.


I think it's great Donna and Muto trust the boys enough to leave them home alone for a night, but as a parent it makes me anxious over the thought of them having their boyfriend/girlfriend spend the night. As a reader, I love it though lol


I adore the idea of Anna and Chester sharing nail polish. It's very cute in my head. Thank you for updating! Sorry my review is late, it's been a busy week. Oh! And Chester asking his mom to cook something that's not Japanese. I think that was a good move.

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-07-31

Chapter: 29

A big shout-out to Muto and Donna for not making this dinner with Dave awkward!! Especially after all the stories about Anna and how Muto struggled with accepting her.

And then, an even bigger shout-out to Dave for coming out. It must have bene hard and the reaction of his parents must have hurt him, even though he expected it. I hope he knows that it is ok t be mad at them and that he never feels like it was ok for them to react the way they did. I know this is more about the Shinoda-family, but I'm curious how he feels after the outing. It was nice of Donna to try to make the situation easier for him.


And then, finally alone. They so deserve this. Hiding sucks and that they get to spend time together is great <3 I'm curious how Chester feels about doing more than making out, I rememberers that he talked to hi therapist about it. Did he actually ever tell Dave that he is seeing someone? Just wondering. There is so much about his past that he probably wants to keep to himself, but being honest is important in a relationship...

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-07-06

Chapter: 28

Wow, what a great chapter! First of all, let me tell you, the way you picture the Shinoda-family here and all the different reactions; that's just so close to what happened to me in real life. Being met with understanding, with total non-understanding and something in between. It's not a black/white picture and not every "are you sure?/I don't understand" equals a homophobic person, if you know what I mean.


Of course, in an ideal world, it wouldn't be necessary to even talk about it and parents/siblings/friends would just be like "oh yeah, cool, what's this song you are listening to". But hey, that's not where we are right now and yes, it can be a shock for parents. Its hard to deal with when you think they don't understand or even worth, they judge you for being who you are so Chester being sleepless is so understandable. The talk he and Muto have though, is just great. Because, again, it shows the whole range of human emotions, from fears to misunderstanding to love. And I'm so happy they settle on the last thing here.


Donna trying to have "the talk" with Ches was hilarious. The urge of parents to have this talk is immense and I'm wondering if there ever comes a time they will understand that their children might be miles ahead in all of this :D


And then Mike requesting Chester's diary and singing. What a great thing to picture in my head <3 It made me smile and I was so grateful for Mike for just being there. He is the best brother ever, seriously...

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-06-28

Chapter: 28

I love this story so much. You know that already. It's one of my favorites. I felt like Chester overreacted to Muto's reaction, so I was really, really relieved to see them talk it out. That entire last section with them in the morning was really well done. I read the whole thing on the edge of my seat. And now Dave is coming to dinner! I hope. Guess Chester still has to ask, but still. I'm excited! And what a great way to show Chester - not just tell him - that they're okay with how he's feeling/things are.


Mike coming in and sitting with Chester and then playing around with the song was great. I love their brotherly relationship in this story. I've never read anything like it before.


I'm so excited for Dave to come over! Like, you have no idea. And I'm glad they're not rushing into sex. It's good they're taking their time. There's no need to hurry.


Update soon!

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-06-18

Chapter: 27

I'm glad Chester managed to come out to his parents. It's such a hard thing to do, even when you know how they react. I can totally see why it took him that long and even though Muto's reaction was far from perfect, it's going to be ok.


Mike and Donna have his back and that's going to help Ches in feeling confident enough to be out and proud and it will help Muto to see that nothing changed and that Ches is still his son!

From: derekbrad

Date: 2019-06-07

Chapter: 27

I’m crying happy tears. Love Chester’s Coming out 💕💕

From: ninja

Date: 2019-06-06

Chapter: 27

I'm so glad and relieved that Chester finally opened up to his parents. You can see how his dad tries to become more and more open and I love it. Their mom is also so sweet and understanding. I hope it'll go well with Dave. They are cute.


Update soon :)

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-06-05

Chapter: 27

I'm glad that Chester finally did it! And ballet. I knew it was something with dancing :) and Mike confessing about the signatures. That was huge. But it's good they both got those things out in the open.


I was really happy to see Muto make the comparison between Chester's non-traditional choice of a love interest and his. I think that's a great way to look at it, and I hope he keeps that in mind as Chester continues to grow up and go through male/male relationships. I'm anxious to see what he actually says about it.


The coffee makes me laugh XD Drinking coffee and having his mom find out is the least of his worries. Love this story so much, and I know it's going to end sometime soon since they're almost eighteen. I'll be sad when it does.


Good luck on your thesis!

From: becisamonsta

Date: 2019-06-04

Chapter: 27

First of all! Have fun on your break away, i know much need time on vacation is always nice so I hope you’re having fun. Second of all! Thank you for the update! Love love loved that Chester had finally spoken up to his parents’ about his sexuality, that takes a big step and to see them accept him made me almost happy cry! Third of all! ‘Being a family has nothing to do with being related; it has to do with trusting and respecting each other and having a strong bond that nothing can break‘ This. Had. Me. In. Tears, because with certain stuff going on in my life this really hit so close to home that I had to take a moment just to breathe. You written this so beautifully I can’t even describe to you how gorgeous these words had felt to me❤️


Cannot wait for the next update ❤️

From: derekbrad

Date: 2019-05-29

Chapter: 26

God here comes the tears, why am I crying so damn much, absolute gem this chapter was.

From: ninja

Date: 2019-05-28

Chapter: 26

Hiiiii, I thought i had left a review earlier but seems I haven't.

This chapter was so emotional. Almost teared up.

Their parents are so patient. And Chester... I wanted to give him a big hug!

From: becisamonsta

Date: 2019-05-25

Chapter: 26

I almost teared, actual tears knowing that I’m 5 chapters time this beautiful masterpiece will be completed. I’m highly emotional and running in coffee fumes so my review will not make sense at all so I am apologising in advance.


I love Donna in this, she reminds me of my own mother, and I must say she is one of my favorite characters in this beside Mike and Chester of course. Also Muto I think he needs to lay off Chester changing his appearances because I can agree with Penelope’s review vvv and that they are almost men!


Lovely writing, I really love the drama in this! Cannot wait to see the next part (Im)patiently waiting for the next update❤️

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-05-24

Chapter: 26

Oh man, that was a lot! But very good. You are awesome at portraying all the teenage trainwreck emotions. Seriously. I love this story so much. I know I've said this before, but I have teenagers, and a lot of this just resonates with me. This past weekend my teenage son got caught drinking. Police were involved...and wouldn't you know this story came to mind in the middle of all of that! So yeah. It gets me right in the heart.


Anyway. The part with Chester telling Muto he wasn't his dad, I didn't see that coming. He's been so connected with his family through this whole thing, it shocked me. And it obviously shocked all your characters as well. I'm very glad he recognized he didn't mean it, and apologized the way he did.


I love Donna in this. She's such a mom and remind me of myself. lol when my kids were little I would call them "pumpkin butts" ....they're 15 and 16 now. I still call them pumpkin butts. And my 16 year old son is always quick to roll his eyes and tell me he's too old for that. Anyway, I love when her and Muto talk and discuss the boys. I love that she knows about Chester and I think she's really going to be a supportive force in that. Although, how will Muto feel when he realizes he's the only one in the house who hasn't known for so long?


I think Chester's right about painting his nails and wearing his hair how he wants. He's old enough to make those choices on his own. While I respect Muto's POV on the rules, he needs to loosen that grip a little. His boys are almost men.


Update soon! I'm very ready for Chester to come out. Oh! And I love the line about Mike saying Chester has mood swings like a girl lol idk why.

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-05-02

Chapter: 25

I think I just fell in love with Ches/Dave. The phone call was just so cute. They are still at such an early state but you can tell that they really like each other :) It sucks that they can't see each other and as much as I understood the choice to ground them, as much do I want them to be able to spend the summer together...


Chester singing to calm himself down is also just great. And Mike listening... I know it's not Bennoda, but in a really brotherly sense, my heart still speeded up a bit at this. It's just a nice details that shows how close they are.


As does the scene when Ches is painting his nails. I'm glad that Mike decided to help him and that he supports him. Yes, they fight, they can be mad at each other, but in the end they are brothers that really love each other as such.


Das freaking out about it... I saw that coming :D But there is noting he can do, Ches will do whatever he wants to anyway... I basically just wait for him to sneak out again.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-05-01

Chapter: 25

I love that Chester painted his nails, and Mike helped him. lol and Muto needs to get over it. Doesn't he remember the birth of punk rock??? Come on! All the hot guys painted their nails black :D I really love their argument/make up through the wall. I think this is the first story I've ever read with Chester and Mike being brothers, and I have to say, I love it. I love the connection they have. It hits all my Bennoda feels without being romantic Bennoda.


His phone call to Dave was so cute. I think I grinned through the whole thing. And mom so knows. She should at least try and prepare Muto for what's coming. I love how you've portrayed her in this story. Such a mom.


lol and I adore Chester using words like "cute" and "pretty" cracked me up. I'm so glad Mike is supportive of him in every way.

Reviews 1 to 20 of 106