LPfiction

Reviews

Growing Up by JellyfishLP

Add review

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-11-11

Chapter: 10

I really felt for Chester in the first part of this chapter. He seems so angry and really unable to deal with that anger. I like the idea of Mike going to therapy with him. I hope that will make a difference and Chester can start learning some truths/comping methods. Mike cares about him so much and it shows in the way he acted all day at school. They have such a special bond. And I adore their sign language :) I think that's a great touch to this story. I'm the Shinodas are patient and kind people and I think they've really influenced Mike and even Chester at this point.


I always enjoy reading these chapters! Even when there are hard bits, I still like it. And it's a change of pace from most stories on here since it deals with them at such a tender age. I'd love to see more of the other guys too, and what they're like.

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-11-11

Chapter: 10

They really stick together, that's so lovely and incredible to read. But Ches shouldn't be lying when Mike is messing up. I't cute but unnecessary, Mike would never let him be punished for something he hasn't been doing anyway. He cares way too much, a thing that is like a red line in this chapter. It wouldn't leave his mind how to help his brother and maybe he actually found the solution. I'm sure that it would be better if Ches would start talking but if he sees that the therapist is not judging him at all when she gets to knows things through Mike, than he might consider talking as well.


Just a side notice to the punishment. I know that some parents are really strict but I really think that there is no reason to ever spank your child. And Muto shouldn't. Not only because of Chesters past but in general...

From: BlackRivver

Date: 2018-11-05

Chapter: 9

8-9) Awww I just love how close Ches and Mike have become and how incredibly wonderful have Mutto and Donna been treating Chester, like one of their own. They're so understanding in their treatment, worrying about making Chester feel included and supported but still giving him his space when needed.

Jason the dog! xD Love that.

O.o So Steven was killed. Good thing. He deserved it. I totally understand Chester's conflicted emotions and reaction. Steven did devserve worse than dead, but at least he can start to fully move forward. Glad they're taking him to a phsychiatrist. Hope he continues to get better, though with such supportive family, I'm sure he will. Lovely chapters! Thanks for sharing them :)

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-10-26

Chapter: 9

Oh boy, what a chapter! Chester being so torn up about Steven, I can understand. I'm glad the Shinodas are so patient and loving toward him, it's what he needs most. I'm glad he's going to therapy, though this "plan" he mentioned is scary. What plan? Is he not going to tell the therapist the truth? Gosh, that won't help at all. I hope he learns to open up.


I really love the brotherly bond/friendship you've created between him and Mike. It's perfect. It might not be the traditional "bennoda" I'm used to reading, but I'm really enjoying it. And the dog being named Jason is hilarious. Like every sentence with Jason in it is funny XD

From: SonataNocturne

Date: 2018-10-23

Chapter: 9

Chapter 8- Gosh! I love how you describe how close they are. Such a tight bond <3 I knew it dammit! XDD I knew they named the dog Jason but it still made me crack me up. And yes, he is cute xD Whoa. He was killed?! That was a surprise. Won't say that I don't like it but sure I would have wanted to see what his sentence would have been.


Chapter 9- Poor Ches :( Muto is just a wonderful dad! I love how he explained the situation to Mike. Ah yes, I agree, the psychiatrist would be a good call, let's see how it goes... Yay, Joe! Woop woop! And oh Ches again :( Yeah I agree with him. The death was easy.


Thank you again for a wonderful chapter(s)!

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-10-22

Chapter: 9

Dogs can be so healing (I'm more of a cat person but have seen other people dealign way better with things as soon as their dogs showed up ;)), glad that their parents allowed them to keep him. He really seems to calm Ches down.

I was actually quite impressed how he took the news. Beating the crap put of a tree isn't ideal, but he could have ran away or do something worse than "only" hurting his hand - so seen the circumstances there is some progress. And I really think that a psychologist can help - even though he seems to have a plan to get out of there asap? Curious what Mike thinks about it? Because he seems so supportive of Chester and wants to protect him.

From: Indee

Date: 2018-10-17

Chapter: 8

ooooohhhh.... Steven is dead, didn't see that one coming and not sure whether it's a good thing or not. On the bright side, he's gone for good, but he hasn't received the punishment he deserves in my opinion. Guys like him need to suffer more than death. mwahahahahhhh!!


ehm, sorry for the exaggerated reaction, just... overwhelming and wondering what Chester's reaction to that.

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-10-17

Chapter: 8

I'm happy when Chester is happy - and right now he seems to be doing ok! Nightmares can be terrifying and horrible, but at least he isn't living in a nightmare anymore. Still, I agree that he probably should see someone, especially now, with the news on his dad. This news can really screw him up I guess, when the mind is struggling between relief, revenge, grief... This can be hard to handle, especially for children. I hope that Donna, Muto and Mike can be there for him and guide him - but thats maybe not enough.


But - before looking even more forward - a few words to the chapter ;) It is heartwarming to see that Donna and Muto have accepted Ches as their son and Mike has absolutely no issues with jealousy. That's what every child deserves, a safe and stable home where they are loved and taken care of. It's the small thing; like introducing him to the rest of the family, letting the light on because he needs it, reinsure him that he is allowed to show emotions, teach him how to handle them. And Mike and Ches learning sign language is just hilarious! What a smart idea! :D

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-10-16

Chapter: 8

I wasn't expecting that ending. Wow. I'm curious how Chester will react to that. But the rest of the chapter was cute. I can imagine Mike and Chester getting in trouble for talking too much and trying to learn sign language together. And the dog! I'm really happy the Shinodas let them keep it. I'm glad that for the most part Chester has settled in and is doing well. He's so far from where he started, even though he still has a long way to go.

From: SonataNocturne

Date: 2018-10-11

Chapter: 7

Sigh. I need more time to read. But here we are, so..


Chapter 6- first of all, thank you for the warning. We spoke about the story so I knew what was coming but anyway. Gosh. The Shinodas <3 But the ending o.o Didn’t see that coming. Which means…


Chapter 7- “Just imagine a teenage Chester” xDD Yeah, well, that’s easy!


Oh no poor Ches scared :(( Ugh, glad that the asshole had pictures so they can use them against him! Muto calling Mike Ches’ brother! Awwww! That’s so adorable! And then the talk about using titles dad and mom.. Squee! Me happy!


So, he has still a lot to deal with but at least he has now a caring family and a friend, a brother, there with him. Can’t wait for the next chapter!

From: Indee

Date: 2018-10-10

Chapter: 7

ohh... i've finally finished the whole chapters and i must say it's a really good story. i like your writing style where... i don't know the right words, but you're being direct to point out things but do not spoil anything too directly. oh, i can't put it into English. but the point is, i like your style.


and as for the story, the starting chapters were hard to read for my heart. poor little Chester. no child deserve to be treated that way :(


but then he met Mike and his family and how he finally felt like having a real family who cared and loved him, it's so sweet~


when Chester told Mike's parent about Steven and everything he did to him, i thought 'finally! this boy will finally get out of that hellhole!'.


when Chester told about that photos Steven took, i can't help the growing disgust for that jerk


my favorite part so far is when Muto said 'Chester stop teasing your brother' and Chester called him dad! they were finally a family! it was the sweetest thing ever!


cannot wait for the update :)

From: BlackRivver

Date: 2018-10-08

Chapter: 7

So...I finally caught up with this story and I gotta say Awwwww. Love it. This is so great! Love how it fluctuates from cute to angsty from chapter to chapter. Poor, poor Chester. I'm so glad Mike found him and decided to befriend him. And...can't we have Steven beat up and tortured, please? xD Mr and Mrs Shinoda are so great and understanding. And Muto putting his own safety at risk to save Chester from that monster was so heroic. Now Chester trully has a family to care for him. Love it. Can't wait for more.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-10-08

Chapter: 7

Such a sad yet happy chapter! I'm relieved that Chester is okay, and he's settling in with the Shinodas. I really hope Steven is gone for good. Chester is such a smart boy to call 911. I'm worried for him in the future though, I fear he'll act out or really go into depression as he starts therapy. Update again soon, I'm excited to see what happens. I love his relationship with Mike and Mr. Shinoda is just awesome.

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-10-08

Chapter: 7

That was just so heartbreaking... Reading how scared Chester was. Not only because of Steve and the fight but also to actually go to the hospital. I guess he knows that they will only help him but his brain is so messed up that he fear is outweighing that. But I'm glad that he finds reinsurance in Muto. He is such a great human being, as well as Donna. Hope that they will help Chester through this. And Mike as well. They will be great as brothers. Troublemakers I guess, but still great together!

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-09-24

Chapter: 6

I love this story so much. I think it's because I'm a parent, so it hits in different places. I'm so happy that the Shinodas are going to help, and not just someday, but right now. They're taking action immediately. I feel so bad for Chester, and how hard it was for him to show them his bruises and tell what's really happening at home. He's a brave kid. I adore the sentence about how he and Mike have already redone the spare room in their imaginations. And now the police NEED to come! Arrest that bastard and let Chester have the rest of his life in peace.

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-09-23

Chapter: 6

Wow... so much happened, I don’t even know where to start. It is so good to know that Chester found friends and despite all the shit at home he finds so much reinsurance in them. Especially in Mike obviously. But also in his parents. So much that it took him way to long to tell about the situation at home. I’m so glad that he managed to tell Donna and Muto - I really could not continue like this.

But now this cliffhanger!!! How dare you?! This is killing me! I hope you have the next update planned already ;)

Still love you and your story of course <3

From: SonataNocturne

Date: 2018-09-19

Chapter: 5

Yay, finally time to read!


Chapter 4- "A thing called Walkman" made me laugh xD And then Chester talking about Brad and his hair was absolutely awww! Oh my god.... I hate Steven, but Chester with the Walkman. Mike is so nice to him <3 Gosh my heart is melting. And then Ches all worried about meeting the parents. Love that! And Shinodas are so nice too, aaaawwww.


Chapter 5- Oh no. That could have ended badly o.o And yes, I hope Chester tells them. Like, really. Honestly. They could help <3

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-09-15

Chapter: 5

Oh gosh, Chester's finally going to tell them. I think it's good he's being open with Mike about how things are at home. That's a good start. I love their friendship. Even though Mike isn't coming from a bad home and has a very loving family and even had friends, it's clear there was something missing in his life, and Chester has filled that place for him. I'm rather curious to see what will happen when he tells them. Will he go to live with them? Then he and Mike really would be like brothers.


Bummer this won't end up as a romance, but that's okay. I think there's something to be said for strong friendships too. Can't wait to see Dave and Joe show up. I hope they're good guys.


Oh, and I really like the little bit about the prayers before dinner.

From: Samweis

Date: 2018-09-09

Chapter: 4

Nice story so far. I don't have that much time to review (need to catch up with a bunch of stories) but still wanted to let you know that you started off really well. Your writing gets better from chapter to chapter ;) Not that it was bad but it gets more into a flow!

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2018-09-05

Chapter: 4

Little Bennoda love! Sort of. Almost. I feeeeel it happening. I'm glad that Mike remembered Chester and went over to talk to him. They're so cute, even as fifth grade friends. And I'm happy that Brad and Rob are still around too. Can't wait to see Joe and Dave.


Poor Chester though, he's still getting it from Steven, who is such an ass. I hope Chester tells the Shinodas and they can help him. I love the ending with Mrs. Shinoda telling him that living in the trailer park is nothing to be ashamed of.

Reviews 1 to 20 of 25