LPfiction

Reviews

3. Forever by lpfan503

Add review

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2019-04-05

Chapter: 5

I just want you to know how grateful I am that you included that flashback from Chester's audition here. And let me tell you, it was deliciously written. I've always wanted to read that coming from you and you did it wonderfully. That description of Chester was pretty on point with what Mike said about the audition IRL (he actually found Chester painfully awkward) and I can just imagine the discussion the band had about accepting him into the group, maybe not all of them agreed all at once, and I am positive Mike's voice was the most important in making the final decision. But back to the chapter, yeah you can see Mike already a bit smitten here for Chester and Brad noticing it.


The last band meeting. Such a sad thing to read, but kind of also in line with RL. Dammit you have made me cry again with this chapter, and yeah it was also one of my favorites so far. I love how Mike keeps asking Brad about Chester's whereabouts, and how Brad seems to be a bit annoyed by it. But it's true that is foreseeable that Chester won't last long after Mike leaves. So so sad and inevitable. They cannot be away from each other for long. I love all the guys coming in to be together one last time and that they will be reliving happy memories. Also love the flashback of Mike and Brad learning to play guitar (so cute) and my fav as always the shower memory.. you are amazing my friend.. please update soon and again I honestly don't want this to end because we all know where this is going. ❤

From: becisamonsta

Date: 2019-04-03

Chapter: 5

I’m not crying you are lol, seriously I am, maybe it’s because I have the flu or something but I feel extra emotional today. Seeing Mike so ill like that really tears at my heart. And seeing Chester trying to get through it really breaks me. As always this story is beautiful in every single way 💕

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-04-02

Chapter: 5

This chapter made me cry again...it was so beautifully written, and I liked Brad's insight and memories. To be honest, someone in my family is having the same health issues as Mike in the story, so it's very personal for me to read this, but I love it more and more with every chapter.


Please update soon :)

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-04-01

Chapter: 5

Sorry that I haven't been reviewing earlier but I couldn't find the time. But I'm back at it, mainly to tell you how much I loved all the last chapters. It's tender, it's sensitive and it's written with so much love for the characters.


Yes, of course it's sad. It's sad to see Mike that ill and defeated, it's sad to see Chester suffering because of that and trying to hold it together. But I guess it's a good description of a situation that is close to what many people are experience at some point in their life.


I'll just go into detail about the last chapter because, as much as I would love to write something regarding all of the ones I've missed out on, I'm still a bit under pressure and don't have enough time to give it the attention it would deserve.


So, Brad and the band... Heartbreaking to imagine that they see it as a last and meeting. Even more heartbreaking to imagine that they, in rl, didn't know that it was happening while it did. In your story they get a chance to have this moment and cherish it. I don't know if it makes it harder or easier, but being together maybe also have something healing for everyone. And it shows Mike how much they care and how much they love him. That Brad is by his side when Ches is showering was so nice to read. They are still best friends, after all the years, there is still so much love. I need to admit that I hadn't really been thinking about Brad in this third part, it was all about Mike and Ches and I got completely lost in their past and present. Reading some flashbacks from Mike and Brad and having them that close one last time, it came as a surprise - which I mean in the most positive way. I loved it, every second of it <3

From: hearts.on.fire

Date: 2019-04-01

Chapter: 5

I really liked that you showed some way back flashbacks. The way you described Chester in his audition was great- scrawny and unsure of himself. And even then, Mike was the one to push for him. I loved it.


I liked the little moment when Chester showed some of his feats with Mike- talking about not wanting to spend a night without him. And Mike immediately apologizing for upsetting him. Gah, they both love each other so much.


Another wonderful chapter :)

From: S K Y

Date: 2019-03-31

Chapter: 5

You're eventually gonna make me cry. Okay. Screw that. You've already made me cry with this. Each time I read a chapter of this I just feel like reading 'Confession' over and over just to get some fluff in my head.

This fic is insanely dark so far, yet it makes sense and I love the way they're reliving random bits and pieces of their lives together. Somehow I'd really love them to relive a memory from the 'Confession-Era' but maybe not with Mike telling the story (the way it happened in Confession), but Chester from his point of view.

And I really love reading your stuff. But you know that. I've followed you from Confession, to Secrets, to this. Sometimes more, sometimes less active. But know that I'm always reading. (I'm literally too lazy to log on and review. Yes, I suck that much. *laughing*)

I'm interested to learn more about what's going on with Mike, why kind of disease he has.

I'm also still a bit... shocked... that for your story you chose Mike to "go" that fast and that before Chester. Somehow when thinking about your fic and storyline I always thought they'd magically die together. It seemed so... realistic. But now reading what you've come up with it seems so much more realistic the way you planned it to be. Guess I'm rambling a bit here. So long story short: Still love your writing. Please keep updating. I'm always here to read what you come up with. Love your work. Stay awesome.

From: derekbrad

Date: 2019-03-31

Chapter: 5

Hmmm those shower flash backs were great and amazing💕 also sweet Brad, oh man I love him so much 💕

From: mermaid_life87

Date: 2019-03-29

Chapter: 5

So-brace yourself-here comes my first list review for this story. I think it's the first anyway. I don't remember exactly and I'm way too lazy right now to go back and check. :p


1.) I agree with Penelope_Ink...this is my favorite chapter so far too. <3


2.) I wanted to mention this because I work as a caregiver providing homecare to seniors, and I understand exactly what Brad meant as far as not using the word "remember" when talking to Mike. That's one of the first things you're taught when dealing with a client with dementia/Alzheimers. To ask them to "remember" will just cause frustration/sadness/etc and it's best to avoid it altogether. I guess that tidbit hit home with me because of the kind of work I do.


3.) Mike continually asking for and wanting Ches so badly...my poor Bennoda heart. :( That made me so happy and so sad at the same time.


4.) Loved, loved, loved every flash back!! You have no idea how much I loved them. I think they were my favorite thing about my favorite chapter. Or maybe they're the reason why this is my favorite chapter? o_O lol Especially the audition and shower flashbacks. <333


5.) The realization hit me the same way it hit Chester when Mike said that this will be their last band meeting. :'( :'( :'(


I adored this update and I was so excited to see it. :) You're doing an incredible job. <3

From: malaiyas

Date: 2019-03-29

Chapter: 5

Okay, so first thing - I laughed when Mike awoke to see Brad and only greeted him by asking where Chester was. Then I laughed at Brad's reaction to that.


Second - again, with little subtleties, like how even though the roles have truly been reversed to an extreme, Mike is still potentially protecting Chester any way he can.


And... Brad's thoughts, about what might happen to Chester "after." I was thinking along those lines already - that once Mike passes, Chester may go not too long after. This is a story of Forever, after all... what better way to reinforce the concept of them being together forever than Chester joining Mike after he passes? Oh, my heart. I know I'm getting way ahead here and I'm sorry because I hate to forecast stories and prefer to just take them as they come but I can't help it on this one!


The smoothness of Mike and Brad's hands made me sad. I don't know, just something about the idea of neither of them touching their instruments since who knows when was sad to read. Like, "it's" truly all over.


Though I giggled at Brad's suggestion of "getting up on stage and playing in front of twenty or thirty people." Boy, if only you knew. Ha!


And I need a moment to appreciate, "At least I don’t part my hair down the middle like butt cheeks."


Chester losing his composure, though brief, broke my heart and put a lump in my throat here at work. Yes, I know better than to read this at work but I can't help myself, okay?! It'll go away... and I recovered quickly anyway.


I understand why he thinks not showing Mike how hard this is for him is "being strong for Mike" but I'd really hate for him to think that he's failing him somehow when he cracks a little. I think we'd all be worried if he didn't, ever.


Update soon. ♥

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-03-29

Chapter: 5

This is my favorite chapter so far. Maybe because it's the first one that didn't make me cry. It was sad, the last band meeting and all...but it's so suitable. I can see it going this way. With all of them coming together. Mike asking the guys to tell him stories, it's sad, but a wonderful way to spend your last days...with your loving husband and friends by your side. And children, of course.


Brad is right to worry about Chester after Mike is gone. They're so close. I really enjoyed the flashback to Chester's audition. Even then Brad was thinking Mike had more in mind than Chester's voice lol so funny.


Mike constantly asking for Chester and where he is, again, it's hard to read, and yet you've picture it all so beautifully. So elegantly. Chester's doing a great job keeping everything on the positive. They're really celebrating life in this, instead of mourning what's coming. And the fact that they all know...I love everyone gathering to say goodbye. If only it was always so sweet, and everyone had a chance to say goodbye in RL.


I know it's a hard story, but it's fantastic in its own way. You get all the *hugs* for taking this on. I've never read anything quite like it, and especially not in a fan fic.


Oh and Brad learning to play guitar lol that whole bit cracked me up. Knowing what a badass he is in RL at guitar, and...I suck at LP history, but did Brad really play the clarinet? Just the mental picture of him with a clarinet is enough to make me smile like a loon. SO funny to me. And his hair! haha my mental image of him during this was just hilarious. And here he is, all these years later, at Mike's bedside.


My heart.

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2019-03-27

Chapter: 4

Again you've managed to amaze me... and make me so sad... my review won't be too long because I just can't or probably won't have the right words to voice my thoughts. that exact scene when Chester thought this: 'Don’t leave me while I’m downstairs, Mikey. Don’t go without me by your side'. It hit me really hard and brought back old memories of my grandmother's passing. She passed away when my aunt was away looking for water. And I think that's so devastating. I know Mike wouldn't do that to Chester, right?


But not only the sad moments, you also amaze me with all those beautiful and happy memories of them together..making love at the beach house, those coffee moments full of fluffiness, and the reminiscence of when they were two horny young men that couldn't get enough of each other. Again you are doing an amazing and delicate job with tying this up this way, I couldn't have imagine a better way to show their forever... than being together until the end. So beautiful.

From: malaiyas

Date: 2019-03-20

Chapter: 4

So, obviously, this fic is pretty bittersweet overall, but I think it's some of the subtleties that seem to hit hardest, at least for me. The perfect example of this is: “I’ll be right back. Don’t you go anywhere,” he said lightly, though his own breath caught in his throat. Don’t leave me while I’m downstairs, Mikey. Don’t go without me by your side.


The depictions of Chester staying strong in the face of something so painful, and yet these little things giving him away. Clearly, Mike isn't going anywhere, so I took this statement as a hint to the darker thoughts that followed the statement. His breath catching in his throat read to me like fighting tears after that realization.


His thoughts, too, when he acknowledges that it may well be their last coffee together and that Mike was requesting it knowing it would be so. I think this chapter offered deeper insight into Chester's emotional state, into his personal fight as grapples with presenting a certain demeanor to Mike vs. what he's actually going through internally.


Also, this: "I realized I was never going to drink alcohol again. And it hit me that I didn’t care." ...Not really related to anything I said above. I just liked it.


This is truly beautiful. ♥

From: JessLP

Date: 2019-03-18

Chapter: 4

I can’t b r e a t h e this really strikes me in the heart watching how close their time is near, argh, here comes the water works... <3

From: becisamonsta

Date: 2019-03-17

Chapter: 4

How is it possible that you can always make me cry! Your bennoda moments that you wrote and describe to us viewers are always so beautiful. I love the memories of the old beach house, that was what had done it for me ❤️

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-03-15

Chapter: 4

This chapter was just as beautiful as the previous ones, but for the first time, I managed not to cry while reading xD


The memories of the beach house were cute and sad at the same time, and my heart almost broke when Chester was afraid Mike would die alone in the room while he was making him coffee. Oh God, how do you always write so beautiful, heartbreaking scenes?


Please update soon :)

From: mermaid_life87

Date: 2019-03-15

Chapter: 4

Im going to mention the lighter stuff first. :) I love the flashbacks and how it shows they were still so crazy for each other. Of course, my Bennoda heart loves that. <3 Definitely got a laugh out of Chester being against reheated coffee lol He was passionate about coffee in RL so that seemed very realistic to me. Also, I see that Chester's "rock, paper, scissors" idea stuck around ;) haha


When Chester climbed in bed next to Mike to see the sunset the way Mike does...I really, honestly don't have words. <33333 So fucking beautiful...and how he's still worried about hurting Mike? I just...that whole bit was almost too much for my Bennoda heart but in the best possible way. If that makes sense.


Mike being thankful for Chester choosing to stay alive....first, I've been super emotional lately. Some of it I understand, and some of it...I have no fucking idea where it's coming from lol I do know the fact that March 20th isn't too far away isn't helping. Maybe it's all of that combined, but that line just about took my breath away. And Chester worrying about Mike passing away while he left him to make the coffee is sad but also very realistic.


This chapter was hard but I loved it just the same. <3

From: hearts.on.fire

Date: 2019-03-14

Chapter: 4

Another amazing chapter. I loved all of the memories of the beach house throughout the years. It really is an iconic place for them. The way you're tying the past to the present is so perfect. It just flows seamlessly and I've said it before but it bares repeating- that's exactly how the end of life is. A blur of memories and happiness mixed with the sadness of running out of time.


"You gave me part of you that day, and for the next twenty years we just traded pieces back and forth, until what was me and what was you couldn’t be separated anymore." That line was beautiful. Chester is so right, Mike does have a way with words ;).


The last part when Mike is thanking Chester for staying, for choosing to stay alive .... Woman what are you doing to me!? I stupidly read this at work and had to quickly go to the bathroom to get myself together. It broke my heart. Ugh....


You're doing a wonderful job with this. Thank you , truly. You're wrapping this amazing story up so so well.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-03-14

Chapter: 4

I won't whine and cry over how heartbreaking all this is, because you already know that. I will say this though, that last bit...ugh, just rip my still beating heart out of my chest.


It's beautiful. I love how you're showing this full, love-filled life they shared together, and how bits and pieces of it fit together with what's happening now. The coffee. When Chester started thinking it would be their last coffee together..and for Mike not to leave him while he was downstairs making it.


I have to say, I admire Chester's strength in this part of the series. He's so calm and accepting, and I suppose he has to be. What else could he do? Mike is slipping away, and he's there for every moment and memory they're sharing together. I don't blame him for being "selfish" with Mike's time. I think any strong marriage is like that. Sure, you love your kids/family, but you and your person are the nucleus.


Chester teasing Mike about letting the sunset happen was cute. They were so fiesty and hot for each other in their younger years. It's nice to see that played out, and the love that is still between them.


It's just really precious. All I can say about those last few paragraphs is I Wish. I really, really do.


Oh, also, Chester relating Mike's appetite (or lack thereof) to how much time is left is heart shattering. And we know Chester hasn't been eating well either. Their daughter said as much last time.

From: bag_full_of_stars

Date: 2019-03-14

Chapter: 3

Oh my!!!!!

My cold heart is melting! I knew it that I forgot someone! :)

Great chapter again! 💕

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2019-03-11

Chapter: 3

Oh Damn! Why are you doing this? This fic is one of the most beautiful, sad and heartbreaking stories I've read in this site. I know that's probably not your goal (to make everybody cry, isn't it right?). But you're doing a hell of a job.


Starting with that memory of them finally getting the call about the adoption. That was a great addition, for a same sex couple to raise a child together is probably one of the most important steps they could have taken, so I'm glad they were able to do so, even though they already had enough children between the two of them, Hana is unique because is their only child. I love it, and I like the fact that they kept pointing out throughout the chapter how she is more like Mike or more like Chester, is just so adorable.


You just broke me when you brought again that conversation about the end of the band, and about Chester being physically done with his voice, had to stop reading really. Anything that reminds me about Chester IRL is just too overwhelming. Or about one of them eventually dying too, it's pretty obvious that once Mike passes in here, Chester will follow him quickly. I hope you won't show that.. I know if you decide to do it, you will do it beautifully, that's just the amazing writer you are.

Reviews 1 to 20 of 51