LPfiction

Reviews

3. Forever by lpfan503

Add review

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2019-07-20

Chapter: 6

I'm missing this fic so much! Please update soon❤❤

From: malaiyas

Date: 2019-06-03

Chapter: 6

Oh, man. Man, oh, man. I see some really painful things beginning to take shape here.


It was nice to see Anna spend that time with Mike alone. After knowing what happened, it was nice to see that as we close in on the end of everything, that she feels forgiveness.


Brain cancer. Oh, I'm so sick of cancer. I don't mean to lament, it's just... well, whose life hasn't been touched by it?


This one kind of took the words right out of me, I have to admit. I'm sorry this is a shitty review (and damn late, to boot).


I love this.

From: becisamonsta

Date: 2019-05-25

Chapter: 6

Wow, this made me speechless, although it was difficult (in a good way btw, your writing is just amazing and beautiful) to read I too can relate to someone dealing with cancer as someone very close to me atm moment has it. It’s so sad to see Mike in such way I just broke down as this really hit close to home. Absolutely flawed by your writing ❤️❤️❤️

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2019-05-22

Chapter: 6

Honestly is very difficult for me to leave a review for this fic without getting extremely emotional. Maybe because you are depicting a situation that is so real and unavoidable that you know.. it really touches me.


I was also expecting Mike to have some sort of dementia/ Alzheimer and not something as final as a brain cancer. So discovering the diagnosis was kinda shocking... as a side note, I gotta mention what my mother always says: please dont work too hard or too many hours or it could affect your health. Well, Mike's tumor could be the result of being such a workaholic.


You are amazing at showing all of these different emotions and feelings. I gotta mention first that conversation between Mike and Chaz about the diagnosis, that was so hard to read. For two people that are SO in love with each other there must be really difficult to get to know something like this, that your soulmate is probably on his last days is shocking!


Anna's visit... I don't even know to tell you... only that it was so perfectly written. I understand that a lot of time has passed after the events in my beloved 'Confession'.. and if I'm not mistaken Anna got married, right? But still.. I'm so glad to know that she was finally able to forgive Mike after the heartbreak he caused her when he left for Chester.


I honestly don't know if I will be able to keep myself together while reading the final chapters of this fic.. that statement about Chester going after Mike after he passes is it so sad, but we know on the context of this fic that is the only way to go.


Just a request, before you go into the heavy and saddest parts, would you incluye some more happy/ sexy memories? I may say that you made us suffer too much during Secrets due to the lack of slash, that I feel that you should write some of it to redeem yourself.. but if you think is not appropriate maybe start a new band related fic or update Untouchable? Please yes.. you know how much I love your writing.

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-05-19

Chapter: 6

This chapter made me cry again, it was (like all the others) beautiful and sad at the same time. I thought that Mike had Alzheimer's, but brain cancer is even worse, and I'm not at all prepared for him to die yet. And about Chester wanting to die with him: Oh my god, I don't even have words to describe what I was feeling when I read that.


Please update soon.

From: mermaid_life87

Date: 2019-05-13

Chapter: 6

Wow...so this chapter was the hardest one for me too as the reader. Like...damn. I don't really have words. Let me start with the easier part...


Anna. I like that she came to say good-bye and to ensure Mike there aren't any hard feelings, etc..That's extremely important. I especially liked when she acknowledged her awareness of how hard Mike struggled with his feelings for Chester because it's true. Even with how much he loved Chester and wanted to be with him, leaving Anna wasn't easy for him so it's not like the severity of it all was lost on Mike. I think that's extremely important as well. And I'm glad Anna realizes it. That knowledge probably helped her find peace regarding everything.


Now Chester...this was, by far, the hardest part of the hardest chapter for me. :'( Like him literally, physically wanting to go with Mike when he passes away...that's heavy. Really fucking heavy. And I don't mean that as a negative at all or to make you feel bad, just as the truth. That says so much. And it really seems like Chester's planning for it and preparing for it by giving up and not taking care of himself. Just again... wow.


You surprised me with the diagnosis. I was really thinking it was dementia/Alzheimer's. I get Chester wanting to try other Drs and find an alternative. At the same time, I get Mike not wanting to. That's tough.


I still love this and now I'm even more intrigued to see the ending even though I know it will be rough.

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-05-13

Chapter: 6

I don't know if I could ever do what Chester is doing. I would have had the same reaction, not wanting to accept that the cancer is that bad that there is no way to get rid of it. Ches has always been stubborn and it must have been hard to support Mike in his wish to make the best of the time he has/had left and not trying to fight the cancer.


It's not that I don't understand Mike. Of course he wanted to enjoy as much time as possible with Ches and their family. And I hope he did.


Btw, it kind of feels "good" to know what's going on with him. I made up my mind about it a while ago and it went into a complete different direction (I just compared the situation with one I had been in before) but it kind of completes the picture, with the information you had in your mind all the time and we didn't know about. And it can at the right time, it fits well into the story line here.


The flashback to when Mike and Ches found out what was wrong, that was hard. Especially Mike being so numb. That's indeed out of character for him. And that he still went to other doctors, even though he kind of didn't want to. All for Ches.


And then Anna showing up. Same story as with Brad; I kind of forgot about her... I feel bad for it, but it has all been about Bennoda and I totally ignored people around them. But you don't and I'm so grateful for it. Because those little moments of friends and family saying their goodbyes - they are so well written. Heartbreaking but also heartwarming, I simply love them.


And every word that Otis said is right. Mike is holding on to Ches and no matter what the others are saying - he is not going to let go before he is sure that Ches is ready. I'm just not sure if it means that Ches is ready to say goodbye or ready to go with him. The last paragraph makes me think that it is the latter. That Ches decided to also let go, stop taking care of himself and join Mike in his last seconds that then will turn out to be the last seconds for both of them... I don't know what to feel about this. It's kind of what everyone could have expected, seeing all the love for each other. They can't live without each other. But still... Ches is not ill and still kind of doing ok. So it wouldn't be right to end his life because Mike's time is running out... But I'm afraid that is exactly what is going to happen...

From: bag_full_of_stars

Date: 2019-05-12

Chapter: 6

Thank you for a nice chapter and for deep cleaning my eyes using the crying method. It was sensitive and beautiful and it took me a good hour to be able to read it.

The dialogue with Otis was sweet and Anna's little speech was something that only a person who really made peace with the past could say.

I can't wait for the rest of the story, even though it makes me cry! It's a beautiful story! Thank you

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-05-12

Chapter: 6

You just know how to make me cry. Seriously. Big, fat ugly tears. This whole concept of Chester being ready to go and Mike can't go till Chester's ready to let him go/go with him...I don't know what you have planned as far as details go. But part of me sees Chester taking too many pills on purpose. Like, sleeping pills. Lying down with Mike, telling him goodbye and that he'll see him soon, and then he's the one to go first, and Mike goes within seconds. I'm not sure why, but every time it was brought up, that's the feeling I got. Especially when Chester said he "knew what he was doing".


I have to say this..the little bit about how Chester still sees Mike as a young twenty-something, that's true. My husband showed me some study that listed out a handful of things that's present in successful, long-time marriages. One of those things is having a "frozen in time" picture of your partner, and no matter how they change or age, they still look like that picture to you. It's a beautiful sentiment to falling in love with the person, not their looks or money or status.


I cried when Anna was talking to Mike. I'm glad she came, and I'm glad Mike woke up enough for them to look each other in the eyes one last time. I'm sure that's massive closure for her. And for him.


What else can I say? Oh. The diagnosis. I agree with Mike. Trying to do chemo and other treatments, it zaps the life out of you so quickly, and I would be like him. I would not want to waste a single moment. I'm glad that he and Chester had the time to do everything they wanted. Their dedication to each other is so heartwarming.


I know these chapters are hard for you to write, and hard for us to read...but the hard makes it good. As always, thank you for sharing.

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2019-04-05

Chapter: 5

I just want you to know how grateful I am that you included that flashback from Chester's audition here. And let me tell you, it was deliciously written. I've always wanted to read that coming from you and you did it wonderfully. That description of Chester was pretty on point with what Mike said about the audition IRL (he actually found Chester painfully awkward) and I can just imagine the discussion the band had about accepting him into the group, maybe not all of them agreed all at once, and I am positive Mike's voice was the most important in making the final decision. But back to the chapter, yeah you can see Mike already a bit smitten here for Chester and Brad noticing it.


The last band meeting. Such a sad thing to read, but kind of also in line with RL. Dammit you have made me cry again with this chapter, and yeah it was also one of my favorites so far. I love how Mike keeps asking Brad about Chester's whereabouts, and how Brad seems to be a bit annoyed by it. But it's true that is foreseeable that Chester won't last long after Mike leaves. So so sad and inevitable. They cannot be away from each other for long. I love all the guys coming in to be together one last time and that they will be reliving happy memories. Also love the flashback of Mike and Brad learning to play guitar (so cute) and my fav as always the shower memory.. you are amazing my friend.. please update soon and again I honestly don't want this to end because we all know where this is going. ❤

From: becisamonsta

Date: 2019-04-03

Chapter: 5

I’m not crying you are lol, seriously I am, maybe it’s because I have the flu or something but I feel extra emotional today. Seeing Mike so ill like that really tears at my heart. And seeing Chester trying to get through it really breaks me. As always this story is beautiful in every single way 💕

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-04-02

Chapter: 5

This chapter made me cry again...it was so beautifully written, and I liked Brad's insight and memories. To be honest, someone in my family is having the same health issues as Mike in the story, so it's very personal for me to read this, but I love it more and more with every chapter.


Please update soon :)

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-04-01

Chapter: 5

Sorry that I haven't been reviewing earlier but I couldn't find the time. But I'm back at it, mainly to tell you how much I loved all the last chapters. It's tender, it's sensitive and it's written with so much love for the characters.


Yes, of course it's sad. It's sad to see Mike that ill and defeated, it's sad to see Chester suffering because of that and trying to hold it together. But I guess it's a good description of a situation that is close to what many people are experience at some point in their life.


I'll just go into detail about the last chapter because, as much as I would love to write something regarding all of the ones I've missed out on, I'm still a bit under pressure and don't have enough time to give it the attention it would deserve.


So, Brad and the band... Heartbreaking to imagine that they see it as a last and meeting. Even more heartbreaking to imagine that they, in rl, didn't know that it was happening while it did. In your story they get a chance to have this moment and cherish it. I don't know if it makes it harder or easier, but being together maybe also have something healing for everyone. And it shows Mike how much they care and how much they love him. That Brad is by his side when Ches is showering was so nice to read. They are still best friends, after all the years, there is still so much love. I need to admit that I hadn't really been thinking about Brad in this third part, it was all about Mike and Ches and I got completely lost in their past and present. Reading some flashbacks from Mike and Brad and having them that close one last time, it came as a surprise - which I mean in the most positive way. I loved it, every second of it <3

From: hearts.on.fire

Date: 2019-04-01

Chapter: 5

I really liked that you showed some way back flashbacks. The way you described Chester in his audition was great- scrawny and unsure of himself. And even then, Mike was the one to push for him. I loved it.


I liked the little moment when Chester showed some of his feats with Mike- talking about not wanting to spend a night without him. And Mike immediately apologizing for upsetting him. Gah, they both love each other so much.


Another wonderful chapter :)

From: S K Y

Date: 2019-03-31

Chapter: 5

You're eventually gonna make me cry. Okay. Screw that. You've already made me cry with this. Each time I read a chapter of this I just feel like reading 'Confession' over and over just to get some fluff in my head.

This fic is insanely dark so far, yet it makes sense and I love the way they're reliving random bits and pieces of their lives together. Somehow I'd really love them to relive a memory from the 'Confession-Era' but maybe not with Mike telling the story (the way it happened in Confession), but Chester from his point of view.

And I really love reading your stuff. But you know that. I've followed you from Confession, to Secrets, to this. Sometimes more, sometimes less active. But know that I'm always reading. (I'm literally too lazy to log on and review. Yes, I suck that much. *laughing*)

I'm interested to learn more about what's going on with Mike, why kind of disease he has.

I'm also still a bit... shocked... that for your story you chose Mike to "go" that fast and that before Chester. Somehow when thinking about your fic and storyline I always thought they'd magically die together. It seemed so... realistic. But now reading what you've come up with it seems so much more realistic the way you planned it to be. Guess I'm rambling a bit here. So long story short: Still love your writing. Please keep updating. I'm always here to read what you come up with. Love your work. Stay awesome.

From: derekbrad

Date: 2019-03-31

Chapter: 5

Hmmm those shower flash backs were great and amazing💕 also sweet Brad, oh man I love him so much 💕

From: mermaid_life87

Date: 2019-03-29

Chapter: 5

So-brace yourself-here comes my first list review for this story. I think it's the first anyway. I don't remember exactly and I'm way too lazy right now to go back and check. :p


1.) I agree with Penelope_Ink...this is my favorite chapter so far too. <3


2.) I wanted to mention this because I work as a caregiver providing homecare to seniors, and I understand exactly what Brad meant as far as not using the word "remember" when talking to Mike. That's one of the first things you're taught when dealing with a client with dementia/Alzheimers. To ask them to "remember" will just cause frustration/sadness/etc and it's best to avoid it altogether. I guess that tidbit hit home with me because of the kind of work I do.


3.) Mike continually asking for and wanting Ches so badly...my poor Bennoda heart. :( That made me so happy and so sad at the same time.


4.) Loved, loved, loved every flash back!! You have no idea how much I loved them. I think they were my favorite thing about my favorite chapter. Or maybe they're the reason why this is my favorite chapter? o_O lol Especially the audition and shower flashbacks. <333


5.) The realization hit me the same way it hit Chester when Mike said that this will be their last band meeting. :'( :'( :'(


I adored this update and I was so excited to see it. :) You're doing an incredible job. <3

From: malaiyas

Date: 2019-03-29

Chapter: 5

Okay, so first thing - I laughed when Mike awoke to see Brad and only greeted him by asking where Chester was. Then I laughed at Brad's reaction to that.


Second - again, with little subtleties, like how even though the roles have truly been reversed to an extreme, Mike is still potentially protecting Chester any way he can.


And... Brad's thoughts, about what might happen to Chester "after." I was thinking along those lines already - that once Mike passes, Chester may go not too long after. This is a story of Forever, after all... what better way to reinforce the concept of them being together forever than Chester joining Mike after he passes? Oh, my heart. I know I'm getting way ahead here and I'm sorry because I hate to forecast stories and prefer to just take them as they come but I can't help it on this one!


The smoothness of Mike and Brad's hands made me sad. I don't know, just something about the idea of neither of them touching their instruments since who knows when was sad to read. Like, "it's" truly all over.


Though I giggled at Brad's suggestion of "getting up on stage and playing in front of twenty or thirty people." Boy, if only you knew. Ha!


And I need a moment to appreciate, "At least I don’t part my hair down the middle like butt cheeks."


Chester losing his composure, though brief, broke my heart and put a lump in my throat here at work. Yes, I know better than to read this at work but I can't help myself, okay?! It'll go away... and I recovered quickly anyway.


I understand why he thinks not showing Mike how hard this is for him is "being strong for Mike" but I'd really hate for him to think that he's failing him somehow when he cracks a little. I think we'd all be worried if he didn't, ever.


Update soon. ♥

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-03-29

Chapter: 5

This is my favorite chapter so far. Maybe because it's the first one that didn't make me cry. It was sad, the last band meeting and all...but it's so suitable. I can see it going this way. With all of them coming together. Mike asking the guys to tell him stories, it's sad, but a wonderful way to spend your last days...with your loving husband and friends by your side. And children, of course.


Brad is right to worry about Chester after Mike is gone. They're so close. I really enjoyed the flashback to Chester's audition. Even then Brad was thinking Mike had more in mind than Chester's voice lol so funny.


Mike constantly asking for Chester and where he is, again, it's hard to read, and yet you've picture it all so beautifully. So elegantly. Chester's doing a great job keeping everything on the positive. They're really celebrating life in this, instead of mourning what's coming. And the fact that they all know...I love everyone gathering to say goodbye. If only it was always so sweet, and everyone had a chance to say goodbye in RL.


I know it's a hard story, but it's fantastic in its own way. You get all the *hugs* for taking this on. I've never read anything quite like it, and especially not in a fan fic.


Oh and Brad learning to play guitar lol that whole bit cracked me up. Knowing what a badass he is in RL at guitar, and...I suck at LP history, but did Brad really play the clarinet? Just the mental picture of him with a clarinet is enough to make me smile like a loon. SO funny to me. And his hair! haha my mental image of him during this was just hilarious. And here he is, all these years later, at Mike's bedside.


My heart.

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2019-03-27

Chapter: 4

Again you've managed to amaze me... and make me so sad... my review won't be too long because I just can't or probably won't have the right words to voice my thoughts. that exact scene when Chester thought this: 'Don’t leave me while I’m downstairs, Mikey. Don’t go without me by your side'. It hit me really hard and brought back old memories of my grandmother's passing. She passed away when my aunt was away looking for water. And I think that's so devastating. I know Mike wouldn't do that to Chester, right?


But not only the sad moments, you also amaze me with all those beautiful and happy memories of them together..making love at the beach house, those coffee moments full of fluffiness, and the reminiscence of when they were two horny young men that couldn't get enough of each other. Again you are doing an amazing and delicate job with tying this up this way, I couldn't have imagine a better way to show their forever... than being together until the end. So beautiful.

Reviews 1 to 20 of 60