LPfiction

Reviews

Love Over Linkin Park by Penelope_Ink

Add review

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2019-09-13

Chapter: 7

I read this chapter some days ago but just couldn't leave you a review, even though as always I adored the chapter as well as your writing. I don't have too much time now but wanted to drop you a few words just to let you know what I enjoyed the most, so a quick list would be handy:


-Figure.09 what a great name for a bar! Just love it!

-Mr Hahn.. is always sooo cool to read him.

-Mike dying just thinking Chester stood him up (man! That was sad!)

-when Chester finally got there and just kneeled before Mike to give his excuses.. that was so humble and so Chester!

-Kisses, kisses and more kisses! Your kisses are the best.

-Mike wanting to touch the flames oh Boy! I think everybody would have liked to touch his flames! Just to think about that makes me extremely melancholic.

I really love the fact that their relationship is heading on a good direction and just cannot wait for their next date, this fic is so refreshing and cute. Thanks for writing this!

From: Emma Shinoda

Date: 2019-09-12

Chapter: 7

Agh, sorry I missed a chapter :( but I read both and got caught up and this whole story is just so freakin cute that all my thoughts melt into a puddle of bennoda sweetness hahaha.


So first, the date at Mike's apartment was awesome, I love how cynical about romance he is but how much he fussed over every detail. He's caught the love bug bad, even if he won't admit it. But their anti-romance is sweet in its own way and so fun to read! That first kiss was perfect, I squealed when he got to touch the flame tattoos lol. Also, cheddar popcorn rules!


This last chapter had me so anxious, at first I was sure Ches would show up but the longer it went the more I doubted it, just like Mike did. The suspense was kept up so well, I was about to be royally pissed off at Chester, but I admit the mental image of him and Ryan frantically baking cookies is hilarious :p


I really loved Joe too, somehow that job really suits him, and naming the bar Figure.09 was awesome lol. I hope he'll make more appearances :)


And their second kiss, wow, you're so good at writing them, not overdone but the emotion is just right. Everything's being developed brilliantly, and I cannot wait to read more <3

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-09-06

Chapter: 7

I’ll make a quick list with what I have to say because I don’t have much time but still want to leave you a few words :)


1. The way you picture Joe is just so damn perfect! Seriously, I can totally see him as the owner of a classy bar and being close with his customers. Also, the way he cares about Mike makes me loving him!


2. I totally see why Mike chose a place where he knows that he feels comfortable. I do the same when meeting with someone and I don’t even have to think about accessibility.


3. I was SO CLOSE to be seriously mad at Chester. I thought he will show up but you really let me wait there and I lost hope with every sentence. This review would have had a lot of caps lock if he wouldn’t have shown up :p


4. But he did show up, and even though his reason is a bit weird, the moment he kneeled down next to Mike, I forgave him. That was just too cute!!


5. They kissed again! Damn! I was waiting for that and it came a bit unexpected but it was perfect!

From: hearts.on.fire

Date: 2019-09-05

Chapter: 7

I have apparently never left a review for this. And for that I am deeply sorry! I've been on unintentional hiatus from the site on and off and I did have to catch up on it, though I could have sworn I'd left a review before. Anyway!!


As a general note, huge kuddos to you for taking on a story where one of the main characters has a disability. It's very original and very ballsy to navigate everything that comes with writing about a disability. You've done an amazing job so far. "The chair" plays into Mike's character and the plot a lot, but it is not the defining point of either. The way you've described Mike's bathroom at home and the worries about squeezing through small spaces in public has been really well done.


So, as LPFan said Figure.09 is a fantastic name for a bar. It may possibly be a life goal of mine to open a bar or restaurant named that 😂. And I absolutely love that we get to see Joe and I really enjoyed his character.


Let me tell you, Mike's inner monologue and him getting more and more hopeful about how he wanted the night to go and then getting more and more anxious about Chester not showing up was intense. I freely admit I scrolled until I saw Chester showed up, breathed a huge sigh of relief, then went back and read. And the whole cookie thing was adorable.


I love the way Chester interacts with Mike. Like the first kiss on the couch and then him leaning down to him when he came into the bar and kissing his cheek. It just seems like he feels so natural with Mike. I love it.


I really am enjoying seeing their relationship bloom and I'm anxious to see how Mike's disability will work into their future. What about sex? What if there are only stairs to Chester's second hand furniture cookie apartment? What if they run into somebody that says something negative about Mike being in a wheelchair? So many many questions pop into my head. I'm super excited to see their relationship grow and how they overcome (hopefully) whatever obstacles are in the way!


Excellent job and can't wait for more!!

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-09-04

Chapter: 7

I know I've said it before, but I really love this story! I'm always so happy every time it gets updated, because you never disappoint.


Like the other reviewers, the mention of Ches smelling like cookies reminded me of Devil Chester, which is one of my favorites. Also, Joe as a bar owner is a really cool concept and I could totally see him in that role. Btw, the bar you described sounds really cool and I'd absolutely go there xD


The fact that Mike always has to know if the places he goes are wheelchair-accesible is kinda sad, because it shows that even today it's still not a standard for bars and other places to have wide doorways and so on (yes, I know this is just a fictional story but it's true anyway).


Okay, moving on: I could feel Mike's anxiety when Ches didn't show up, but then when he DID get there, he apologized so sweetly, even getting on his knees in public. (One word: Awwwwwwwww). Also I feel so bad about Mike having bad relationships in the past, so I hope with Ches, everything will get better. (wait, of course it will, this is a bennoda story...) Ches so cute in this, and definitely a keeper!


I don't remember what else I wanted to say, so just please update soon :)

From: lpfan503

Date: 2019-09-02

Chapter: 7

And, lazy list review forthcoming!


1. Figure.09 is a perfect bar name. Brilliant.


2. Mike thinking about touching Chester’s leg under the table is too precious. <3


3. I bet Mike does look like a million bucks. He has the most gorgeous smile ever. Ugh. I love him.


4. Haaaaa, I love how Mike in his head is all cheesy romance movie, but on the outside he’s like - chill. Yeah, Chester is pretty cool. Whatever. No big deal. Hahaha.


5. All of Mike’s thoughts about places he knows and how they’re “safe” is really moving to me. He has to plan so much in advance to feel comfortable. I can;t wait for the point in his and Chester’s relationship where he will be okay learning new places with him. There will be so much trust there at that point.


6. Oh, all of his love sick thoughts of missing Chester are too cute. I love this Mike so much!!


7. Ok. Mike dated a bunch of losers. Not wanting to be affectionate in public should have been a huge red flag. Ugh. I want to find all these past guys and smack them! I feel bad for him sitting there and realizing that, but also glad he’s realizing it. You know? Maybe he’ll be more aware for now on. Of course, it won’t matter because Chester is perfect for him. <3


8. Oh, Mike. Counting text bubbles. My heart just hurts for his innocent sweet vulnerability sometimes.


9. OMG. All of Mike’s panicking when Chester was running late was almost too hard for me to read. As I do a lot with your stories, I had to read all of that with my hand pressed over my mouth. *sigh* My heart is so tender for this Mike. I was also freaking out and my mind was running away with scenarios that would make Chester not be so perfect and I WAS ABOUT TO LOSE IT and then he showed up thank goodness. Jeez.


10. The image of Chester on his knees apologizing is so… I don’t know. I love it. I love his jumbled up rushed explanation and then OMG HE SMELLS LIKE COOKIES and you KNOW how much I love Devil Ches, so damn it, I’m gonna have to go read that again.


11. Ok, back to this. Mike watching Chester take off the beanie and his blonde curls, I totally get why he’s so mesmerized. I love blonde Chester.


12. “Cookie mayhem” ← I think that’s my new favorite term. I’m with Mike: take Chester home and strip him and inspect him for flour. PLEASE.


13. How DARE YOU stop after those kisses. I swear. Damnit. Just damnit. Can you please write faster??

From: mermaid_life87

Date: 2019-09-02

Chapter: 6

So, first, Figure.09 is one of my favorites off Meteora. Actually, one of my favorites just in general and I so listened to it after reading this so thanks for that! ;) lol


Second...this chapter <333 I friggin’ love this story and this chapter might be my favorite so far. Where to start? Okay, loved Joe making an appearance. He’s definitely the least seen in fanfics, especially AU’s, so it’s always nice when he pops up. :)


The mention of Chester smelling like cookies...didn’t he smell like cookies in another one of your stories? “As You Wish”? I think it was cookies anyway. It was something sweet, for sure. Anyway, that made me smile because it reminded me of another one of your stories that I adore. <3 Even if this cookie smell is only temporary haha


Mike’s past relationships all really do sound like assholes. Not wanting to doing any PDA with Mike, etc..so fucking terrible. BUT...that made Chester’s public display of getting on Mike’s level to apologize and kissing him, with tongue no less, right out in the open so much more meaningful and, damn, if my Chester loving heart doesn’t love everything about this Chester so far. He fits in perfectly with my RL vision of Chester and it’s wonderful. Even Joe could tell a difference between Chester and Mike’s past relationships before talking to/meeting him.


The kisses...fucking perfection. Love Chester mentioning he’s serious about the flour in his hair and Mike just being like “got it” and bringing them back into another kiss. *happy sigh*


I have to say my heart was racing and I was feeling all of Mike’s anxiety while he thought he was being stood up. Poor Mike :( I’m so glad Chester showed up and had a crazy, but valid, reason behind everything.


My only complaint is where you ended this chapter. I sooo wanted to read more! I get a little smile on my face whenever this updated. :)

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2019-08-16

Chapter: 6

Hey Penelope! I found this chapter sooo adorable that I made a quick list to highlight the parts that I loved the most:


1. Mike cooking for Chester is so cute! and freaking out about his tacos and wondering if Brad had said the truth about them being delicious, that was even better.

2. The Bad Seed was such a great choice. I love that movie, my husband says I'm such a creep LOL (I remembering having a first date with a guy and seeing the movie SAW when it first came out, he was horrified and I was having a great time).

3. Brad asking about Rob's comments. And his looks. Awww I really like Bourdelson!

4. Chester with eyeliner...

5. Chester casually mentioning his place and Mike coming over. I would really like to see a date in Chester's place next.

6. Mike wanting so bad to touch Chester's flames... who wouldn't!

7. I'm glad that Mike was able to talk about his accident and open up a little bit to Chester. That's a good sign.

8. The catch game with the popcorn. They were able to enjoy the whole date from beginning to end and feel comfortable with each other.

9. The kiss. omg it was super sweet but also so hot, I can just imagine Chester on his knees in front of Mike. They shouldn't have stopped, but Chester is right.. he just doesn't wanna give Mike the wrong impression.

Update soon please! I love your writing so much. ❤❤



2. The

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-08-12

Chapter: 6

Before I get into any content here: The first kiss was just so damn perfect, I was crazy-happy-smiling all the time and even though it was just one kiss and Chester headed out after that (seriously.... I do understand his concerns but a bit of making out wouldn't have hurt anyone!), I'm officially in love with Chester kneeling in front of Mike and kissing him.


The rest of the chapter was as good, I love the chemistry between them and at the same time you give us a lot of insight into Mike's mind and how he feels, what he thinks, what he is worrying about. I totally understand that he wants to have as much control as possible. We cannot control life and what happens sometimes (like the accident) but we can decide to make the best of it. And Mike does. Even though he was pretty isolated before (at least that's what it sounded like), he never gave up on himself and showing that to Chester is indeed important. That makes it possible for Ches to see Mike just as a guy, not as a guy in a wheelchair.


And then you throw this one in there: >>“You’re a tough cookie,” Chester said as he went to hand his plate over. “I’m going to have to dunk you in milk to soften you up.” << You had me laughing and lying on the ground! That was just too funny for me to handle :D

From: ninja

Date: 2019-08-10

Chapter: 6

this date night was so cute and I'm so happy they kissed!!


How Brad was curious about how he looks and what Rob said about him is adorable *add heart eyes emojie*


can't wait to read more!

From: hattu

Date: 2019-08-08

Chapter: 6

Wow that is one hard topic to include into a story! But I think you are doing a great job!!

On both sides, mikes with him being in the wheelchair and also Chester with approaching the whole topic.


Really, I can’t wait where this is going :)


Cheers

Hattu

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-08-07

Chapter: 6

Such a great chapter! Although Brad and Mike have so many differences, they seem to be great roommates, which is really good.


Some of my favorite lines in this chapter: "Is it about gardening? Some rogue plant? That seems odd."


I've never seen this movie, but I knew that it wouldn't be about evil plants xD I love that Chester liked Mike's choice of movie and food (and who could have ever doubted that Mike's tacos aren't good). Actually, I liked everything in this chapter, but especially the fact that Chester doesn't seem to be freaked out about Mike's disability (and the bathroom).


Also, I wasn't expecting you to reveal the truth about how Mike ended up in a wheelchair, but I appreciated that it came so soon :) I think you're doing a great job at portraying the disability-topic very respectfully.


I can't wait for their next date, please update soon!!!

From: mermaid_life87

Date: 2019-08-05

Chapter: 6

*currently on could nine from the first bit of Bennoda in this story*


Seriously, SO friggin’ happy they kissed! :D I thought they might since dinner and a movie at someone’s house is a little more intimate of a setting. I’m glad my instincts were spot on. ;)


As for everything else, I think a list is best. So much I loved in this chapter!


1.) Mike worrying that Brad lied about his tacos and then panicking and Brad rushing out of the room because he thought something was wrong hahaha I was grinning through that whole thing. I could picture it perfectly.


2.) Mike is SO in denial about catching the romance bug. He’s caught it for sure, whether he wants to admit it or not.


3.) I love the contrast between what Brad thinks of the way Chester and Mike are dressed and what they think of themselves/each other. Like, Mike thinks Chester looks good(and I would agree) but Brad sorta just thinks they’re both a hot mess lol I absolutely loved that. Made me grin again.


4.) Mike worrying over Chester’s reaction to his bathroom was another one of those realistic but sad moments. I was pretty sure he didn’t have anything to worry about, but it hurts that thoughts like that even have to cross his mind. :(


5.) Chester’s cookie/milk comment...dear Lord lol I felt for him. It wasn’t quite as cringey as some of the other awkward moments between them but I could see how that would still be embarrassing.


6.) One of my favorite things about stories where we get to see the thoughts of all the characters is how I can usually relate to their thoughts about Chester. I find myself thinking “me too” probably way more than I should :p At fangirl levels. Chester and eyeliner? Fuck yes! The way Chester says the word “fuck”? Yes, please! Wanting to handle and be handled by him? Ummm...when and where?? ;) I’m with Mike all the way.


7.) I love, love, love Chester stopping their kissing when he did because he didn’t want Mike to think he was like the other guys. Too, too sweet. <3


8.) Sad as it is, I like knowing the back story of why Mike is in a wheelchair. And you actually revealed it sooner than I was expecting. Not that I’m complaining, of course.


I adored this entire chapter. <3 Looking forward to the next one. :)

From: lpfan503

Date: 2019-08-05

Chapter: 6

Oh, Mike. I love Chicago Mike and all his crazy inner thoughts. I get it, I totally can understand all his insecurities with people, given his disability. It can imagine it would be hard to know who is genuine and who isn’t (as he’s said about past lovers.) I bet his tacos are amazing. I love tacos.


Haha, Brad in this story is so hilarious. Imagining him in a heap on the floor is just too funny. I find it interesting that he and Mike are so different, yet they live together. Brad is a genuine guy and he cares about Mike. I wonder if all the love of dark things came after Mike’s accident, or if he was always like that. I’m thinking based on Brad’s thoughts that the dark stuff came after the accident. Oh, and as far as Brad - it must be hard for Mike to not feel jealous of Brad’s non-issue issues. *sigh* My sweet Mike.


Speaking of, this apartment. I wonder if Mike got a lot of settlement money from the accident that enabled him to have his apartment all fixed up to accommodate him, in this nice area? Poor Ches, having his thoughts about his second hand furniture and not as nice apartment. I wonder about Mike’s financial situation, since he (or Brad?) alluded to people using him to get what they could from him. So I was wondering about that. You know me. I always have questions. But I’m excited their next date will be at Chester’s place, or at least some date will.


OKAY. This whole Mike not sound sexy when he says fuck. I call BS on that. Hearing Mike Shinoda say fuck is literally the sexiest thing I’ve ever heard in my life. So I completely disagree on this point, and I usually don’t disagree with you but fine, whatever. I LOVED the description of Chester after this, though, so I guess you’re forgiven. God, Chester in eyeliner. <3 I love that so much. So very much. And I LOVE Mike’s thoughts are all about wanting to fuck Chester, haha, I love it.


My heart was so sad for Mike when he talked about the accident. The fact that he was the only person so seriously hurt, and how his dreams of art school were gone, either by choice or necessity. He seemed to be able to talk about it without sounding too bitter, and I’m glad he brought it up. Chester seemed to do well with the explanation, too, and I’m glad. I’m all about their spark.


This whole stubborness discussion and the standoff that followed is great, and so needed. Mike tries so fiercely to be independent, and Chester tries to be helpful but sensitive to the situation, but not in a way that makes Mike feel bad. It’s hard waters to navigate. I think it’s important for them to meet in the middle. Chester needs to let Mike be stubborn sometimes, but Mike needs to let Ches do nice things sometimes like he would for any other boyfriend and not think it’s because Chester thinks he can’t. Does that make sense? I think that was the most important part of the chapter, actually.


I’m glad Ches didn’t freak about the bathroom, and Mike got to get on the couch without Chester seeing him, at least for now, since Mike is so self-conscious about it. I loved the popcorn but the kisses… you know how I feel about how you write kisses. <3 Mike finally got to touch the flames, and AHHH they are so sweet. I love Mike’s hit of confidence and I am so interested in how things will go as their intimacy progresses. I wonder how dominant Mike is. I love dominant Mike, but I’m not sure how that will go in this story. I love that Chester doesn’t want Mike to think he’s only interested in him for superficial reasons. I love this story. <3


Oh! I forgot! The pink hair and the bad decisions! Ready to hear about Chester’s bad decisions, but I’ll wait. I guess. You know how impatient I am, and I know it doesn’t matter.

From: Effervescent

Date: 2019-08-05

Chapter: 6

my heart literally flips when i see this story updated!!! ❤

From: Emma Shinoda

Date: 2019-07-26

Chapter: 5

This is such a cute AU, I'm loving it so far :) Poor Mikey tugs at my heart, he's so sweet and he deserves a happy relationship, but I wish he wouldn't let his disability hinder his confidence so much... His internal thoughts and awkwardness amuse me to no end, it makes him so real and relatable and makes me want to give him a big hug <3


Like everyone else, I'm really curious what happened to him and why he's in the wheelchair, but I also like that is not the main focus of the story, since there's so much more to him than that.


The Bourdelson is super cute too, I love how Rob calls him 'sweetness' lol. I hope there will be more of their relationship in later chapters as well. It's a cool contrast, their cutesy sappiness vs Mike and Chester's dark sides.


I really can't wait to read more of this, I need to know how their movie date goes :)


P.S. the Witch Cafe sounds awesome, I'd love to go there haha.

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2019-07-25

Chapter: 5

I love this fic so much.. this is so lighthearted and cute. I just love it! Now I need to go to The Witch Cafe, seems like a very interesting place to visit and have a date on.. but you can only enjoy a place like this if you go either by yourself or with someone as creepy as you.. and I think Mike just scored points here, because Chester seemed to love the place too...


It is difficult to read Mike as a nervous wreck and you are doing a great job... usually Chester is the messy one and Mike is so put together that this little twist is really interesting. The whole debate about texting or not, or if he should be asking Chester on a coffee date. Lol Mike just cracked me up when he asked for Jason's advice.


The date at the Café (yeah for me that counts as a date) was excellent... they were able to tell each other a lot of information about past relationships, etc... I am glad Mike gathered the courage to ask Chester out or rather in... since he is going for dinner and a movie.. that sounds kind of romantic... I cannot wait to see how that goes.. I want them to kiss so bad!! I am waiting with my fingers crossed. Please update soon! Lots of love❤

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-07-24

Chapter: 5

Yay, one of my current favourites has an update! Seriously, I'm always so happy when this story gets updated, and I always read it as soon as I have time.


Firstly, the Witch Cafe sounds amazing! I was gonna ask you if it was a real cafe or if you just made it up, but then you said that it was actually real. I would love to have such a place where I live, and I'd definitely have a date there xD


Secondly, Mike talking to the camels...this is simultaneously sad and cute, and it shows that he was really lonely before he met Chester, but I know that everything will be better now :) Maybe they should go to the zoo together one day?


Please update soon, I can't wait for their dinner date!

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-07-24

Chapter: 5

Mike talking to the camels is my new favourite thing :D That is just great, I can totally picture how he looks out of the window and asks some random animals he can spot for their opinion. I mean... If my flatmates say unhelpful things, I tent to speak to my neighbours cat, so... it's a thing!


And I think it was brave to write Chester. Especially seen that he really wasn't thinking of anything more before Mike asked him about meeting up again. Which was a bit sad to read because it means that he isn't as helplessly attached to Mike as Mike is to him. But hey, feelings can grow! (Please, let them grow!)

From: mermaid_life87

Date: 2019-07-22

Chapter: 5

This whole chapter was cute! Mike talking to the camels and his thoughts while texting were a mix of comical/cute. Talking to someone you’re into is exactly like that in the beginning. At least it always is for me lol


I loved their date. <3 Well, I guess, it wasn’t technically a date, but I loved it anyway haha And the Witch’s Cafe sounds amazing. :)


Chester fumbling over his response to Mike’s movie night offer was too adorable. Made me smile. Well, I kinda smiled the whole way through this but I found that particularly cute. :)


Okay...ready for this dinner and a movie! :D

Reviews 1 to 20 of 46