LPfiction

Reviews

Rebellion, Love, and Wednesdays by mermaid_life87

Add review

From: Emma Shinoda

Date: 2019-09-05

Chapter: 7

Ah, I'm so sorry for missing a chapter! But I love this story so much, innocent/shy Mike and Chester are so frickin adorable lol.


I liked Ryan a lot, I think he's more of a hero than he realizes, bringing some stability and comfort to Chester's suffocating home life. His comment about missing the riff raff made me giggle, he's like a cool older brother :)


Speaking of brothers, oh my god, Jason! Such a brat, but I love it haha, he knows just how to get Mike worked up in a way only brothers can. (Trust me, I know, I have a younger brother who does the same thing lol)


The way you describe Mike and Chaz together is just delicious to read. So cute and unsure and hormonal and perfect! I'm glad they're taking it slow, I love a slow build as a reader, it makes the whole ride more interesting. Although I am in favor of lpfan503's idea of bending Ches over the pool table!


Also I love the mention of Anna/Talinda. It's an interesting pairing and something I don't think I've ever seen before, so it really intrigues me. I imagine a double date with them would be super interesting haha.


Also, thank you SO much for all the amazing reviews you left me, it means so much more than I can express <3 The second part to 'Bar Hopping' is in the works, I'm just a very slow writer so forgive me if it takes some time, lol.


Can't wait for the next chapter, this is currently one of my favorite stories and I'm curious what happens next!

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-09-04

Chapter: 7

I love sassy Jason :D Please, more of that, it's hilarious how he teases his brother. I can imagine that Mike is annoyed but I found it pretty funny, so I don't mind.


And then the two of them.... alone.... on a couch.... making out.... I like how you can really feel how they switch between horniness and insecurity. All those new feelings must be great but also overwhelming. And I like that they take it slow. No need to rush into things one or both don't feel comfy with :)

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-09-04

Chapter: 7

First of all, I was so happy to see this updated!


I just read this for a second time, and I have to say...man, Jason is fucking hilarious in this xD I don't have any siblings, but I can imagine having them to be as both fun and annoying as you picture Mike and Jason in this story!


Also, the description of Mike's and Chester's kisses are so well written, I really enjoy reading them. I like that although Mike's a little more experienced in kissing people, he's still a virgin, so they can explore that part together when it comes to the first time. It was good to see that Chester stopped Mike when they were making out and he realized that it went too far for him. I think it's really important to tell someone that you want to slow down those things when you're not so experienced.


Anyway, pretty please update soon :)

From: lpfan503

Date: 2019-09-02

Chapter: 7

Thanks for bringing Mike back. ;)


Jason is such a typical little brother in this story, it makes me laugh. I never picture Jason this way, so it amuses me. I love that Mike just blows it all off, too.


It’s good Mike and Chester talked about the kissing/sex stuff. I can tell Chester is anxious, and Mike seems so much calmer, but he’s not much more experienced. And the experience he does have is with a girl! But, please feel free to let them make out some more. I’m all about the making out. <3 Or Mike bending Chester over the pool table. Either one.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-09-02

Chapter: 7

Jeez, Jason. LOL that was my biggest thought in this chapter. Little brothers (or sisters) can be so annoying, and so tactless when it comes to stuff. I'm glad that Mike takes it all in stride though. He really seems to love his brother.


Chester curling up to Mike's side and falling asleep during the movie was cute. I have to admit I enjoyed them making out a little, but if Chester's not comfortable with it, it's good he stopped Mike. First relationships and kisses and things going far can be anxious territory. I hope they take it slow. And it will be Mike's first time, too, so no need to rush it.

From: lpfan503

Date: 2019-08-23

Chapter: 6

Aww, I missed Mike in this chapter. (Just because I LOVE Mike so much…)


It’s cool that Ryan and Chester are friends from way back. I love how encouraging Ryan is of Chester’s job and branching out from his mother, and how he confirms Chester’s mom is a nutball. I hope when Chester is eighteen he gets out! I’m glad he has Ryan as an escape plan.


Now… back to Mike! I need more kisses at church! hahaha!

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-08-20

Chapter: 6

I'm so glad Ches got the job, even though it means lying to his mum. He tried talking to her and she proved to be completely in denial of the fact that her son wants (and needs) to take some control of his own life.


Having such a supporting friend in Ryan is great, even more when parents don't take this part on. Having an always open door (quite literally in this case), shows that Ches can always just show up and that's such an important thing to know!


And it's right, Ches of course loves her, she is his mum, and that needs to be respected. However, being realistic and helping Ches to go his own way is even more important and that is Ryan doing right now.


When he said that Ches could move in... that was nice because it gives him something to hold on to. He is not going to be alone, no matter what.

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-08-19

Chapter: 6

Ohhh, I love Ryan in this! It seems that he can protect Chester when things get bad, and that Ches can always rely on him, which is great with a mother like this. When he got upset about having cursed at her, i thought that she has completely brainwashed him and that she's a really abusive person who doesn't let her son have any kind of freedom. It will be hard for him to move out when he's old enough, and I'm afraid of what will happen when she finds out that he got a job behind her back. Also...what happens when people find out about him and Mike??? So many questions...


Please update soon, I'm always happy when I see a new chapter of this great story :)

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-08-18

Chapter: 6

Awww Ryan! He's such a good friend in this, and I love to see that. He's supportive and sensitive and all the things I love about Ryan in RL. I'm glad he's there, not only for support, but as a place of refuge for Chester. He's right about Chester's mom. She is borderline abusive and he's right again about the job. Most parents want their kids to work and get the life experience. Ugh, she'll probably try to stop him from moving out when he's 18, won't she??


My favorite line was "I fucking cursed at her" LOL cracked me up.


I'm happy he got his job, I just hope it doesn't bite him in the ass, and he really does have it all figured out.

From: Emma Shinoda

Date: 2019-08-14

Chapter: 5

Awww you wrote their first kiss so perfectly, I loved it. Cute and sweet and innocent and everything a first kiss should be <3 Like others said, Mike being the confident one surprised me, but I liked it. It fits, somehow lol. And I love Dave, he's so nosy but a great friend.


I feel so bad for Chester, his mother is so overbearing. I was kinda shocked he walked out on her, but she was forcing his hand, honestly. I'm really curious what will happen next, if he'll end up staying somewhere else or go back home...


One tiny thing, I hope you won't portray homeschooling as a bad thing, because it really isn't. When situations get out of control and kids get isolated it's because the parent handled things poorly, not because of the schooling imo.


But anyways, I'm really enjoying this so far. Looking forward to the next chapter :)

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-08-12

Chapter: 5

Chester really seems to live a restricted life that doesn't allow any room for him to explore the world. What his mum did there was just wrong. It's ok that she wants to protect her child but she is doing it in all the wrong ways. There is a difference between protecting and isolating and she is definitely doing the latter and that's just unfair and so unhelpful...


Glad that Ches met Mike and that he gets out of his parents house, actually interacting with others, building up relationships, discovering his own identity. Of course I'm in love with the idea that Mike is part of this identity (Bennoda-lover right over here, as you may have figured) and that he helps him to make all this new experiences. Kissing in a closet might seems something one could have one the bucket list ;) Making out with someone for sure is!

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-08-07

Chapter: 5

Oh gosh. Poor Chester. His mom is doing it all wrong. You know the first thing that popped into my head? Romeo screaming "Tempt not a desperate man!" from Romeo and Juliet. That's Chester. I hope he doesn't do something stupid.


Other than that, I'm glad they got to have their first kiss(s). And I don't mind the short chapters. They're easy to read and I think you're doing a good job pacing us through the story. At least Chester has a phone on him, and he has friends he can call - Mike, Dave, Ryan. He's not alone.

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-08-07

Chapter: 5

Such a good chapter! I loved their kiss, it was so well writte, and endlessly cute. I'm intrigued how the situation with Chester's crazy overprotective mother turns out. I'm so glad i had normal parents instead of a mother like this xD I mean...homeschooling him and sending him to this church group is weird enough, but not allowing him to get a job is a step too far. he's old enough to get a job if he wants to. Also, I wonder how she will react when she somehow finds out about him and Mike (and also I'm scared for Mike's parents' reaction...)


Please update soon!

From: lpfan503

Date: 2019-08-05

Chapter: 5

Mmmm, gooooooood first kiss! And surprise, Mike is the confident/experienced one! I really didn't see that being the case. That whole exchange was super sweet.


I have a selfish thing... I'm glad you're writing Chester's mom as a less than desirable person. I don't care for her in RL so I didn't want to like her in your story. So it works for me. I hope Chester breaks out of the crazy house he's being raised in and goes and gets that job and some freedom. Both our boys are being so repressed. I wish they could run away together!

From: Emma Shinoda

Date: 2019-07-25

Chapter: 3

Gyaaahh this is so cute that I squealed out loud and made my dog bark lol. Cute, innocent teenage Bennoda is one of the best things ever, so of course I'm loving this story so far :)


Brad and Dave are so awesome, I love their teasing, especially about Chester Land. I'm sure it won't be an easy relationship for Mike and Chaz, but I hope it works out for them, they both seem to need the happiness and cuteness in their lives right now.


Well please update soon, because I need to know how their first kiss goes! <3

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-07-25

Chapter: 3

Boyfriends! It's so cute. It really is. I love that Chester cared and wanted to make Mike feel better. I love that he noticed. And their first kiss is very appropriate for how they met lol


My favorite part was the convo with Brad and "Chester land" lol I like their friendship. It seems very lighthearted, and yet they support each other.


I hope we get to see Ryan! I love him in RL :) and I'd like to see him here. Hopefully Mike's parents go to the wedding and all that works out.


Such a cute story, keep going :)

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-07-24

Chapter: 3

Ahhhh, this story is great, I love it and I can't tell you enough how MUCH I love t xD


It's so cute to see that they are really boyfriends now, and my favourite scene was obviously their first kiss in the bible storage room! Still, I'm scared for what happens when more people find out about them, and especially Mike's parents...


Please update soon, I need more of young, adorable Mike and Ches!!!

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-07-24

Chapter: 3

It's awkward and I cannot stop smiling about that :D Young and naive Ches and Mike are just great, I love it! And I love sassy Brad as well, that's what you have friends for - to say the wrong things in the wrong moments!


I hope they get some alone time. It can be really hard to hide around others and its really unhealthy. Sometimes it's needed but it also needs to have an end and you have to be able to fully show your feelings and grow in them. I hope they get the chance for that!

From: lpfan503

Date: 2019-07-23

Chapter: 3

Boyfriends. So adorable.


Mike's reaction to Chester being homeschooled and Chester freaking out that Mike would think he's weird is priceless. That's so how that goes in RL. It's just cute how they're so awkward, but they're boyfriends. lol. It feels very high school/first relationshippy.


Don't waste tater tots on Sassy Brad, that's a crime.


And I love that their first kiss is surrounded by bibles, hymnals, and choir robes. Great setting! I am so dreading the church drama to come. I know it's coming, but they are just so sweet right now. This is not a complaint, but I wish these chapters were longer. I love them and want to read more!

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-07-16

Chapter: 3

I SHIP THEM SO DAMN HARD THAT I EVEN USE CAPS LOCK HERE!


It's just so good to see them exploring each other and what they feel. So insecure and still on it and just awwwwww.


And I love Dave, seriously. He is the best example of a best friend; making it awkward for both of them xD Friends wouldn't do that, but best friends are supposed to be your biggest support and at the same time shoving you into every awkward situation.


This chapter was just heartwarming, there was just one part that was really heavy:

"It’s not worth it. It’s so not worth it."


That's just not true. Love is worth it. Always. And I'm afraid what the priest is going to do with the knowledge that there is more going on between the two boys...

Reviews 1 to 20 of 31