LPfiction

Reviews

(Even When It's Not) About You by lpfan503

Add review

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-10-03

Chapter: 5

This was such a goo chapter! Rob really does need to go home and see how life has been for his friends and family. I liked that he called his mom, because on the one hand, I could understand that he wanted to stay away from everyone, including his own parents, but on the other, he's been too long in Portugal, and he really needed some contact and talk to people he misses.


I wonder what happens when he flies back home, and if he decides to go back to Portugal immediately because he can't handle everything that has happened while he was away, especially the fact that Mike decided to make music again.


This whole story is amazing, please update soon :)

From: TrashFoot

Date: 2019-10-02

Chapter: 5

Wow! Rob is finally getting out of Portugal! I like the little set up he made for himself; go back home and test out the waters for 10 days. If things just don’t go well, he can always come back to Portugal, it’s not going anywhere. I can see the comfort in that thinking.

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-10-02

Chapter: 5

Things I would like to say to Rob after this Chapter.


1.) Rob, you are so damn strong. Admitting that leaving is the only way to get better and going through with that plan makes you unbelievable strong.


2.) Rob, you have managed to learn to handle your emotions over the last month and to be grounded within yourself. Others need the support of friends, family or a specialist for this but you figured it all out by yourself. Which is impressive.


3.) Rob, it is still time to come home. Pass on what you've learned about letting go. Face the others as long as you can. You can take breaks and take time for yourself, even when you are back in L.A. I'm sure you will manage more than you think.


4.) Don't feel guilty about having left. Yes, your family and your friends might be concerned but they have to accept that you found your way of dealing with it. Its ok.


5.) Rob, please don't think it is your job to make everyone happy when you are back. Offer your support whenever you can but take it slow. They will all understand.


6.) Rob, please don't listen to the songs when you are alone. Go to Brad's, go to someones. But don't listen to them alone. Especially not on the plane, not any enclosed place. They are emotional and they will trigger you.


7.) Instead, listen to Ches. He was one of your best friends, his advice, even though just given in your own head, might be the exact right one. Go home and check in on people, be there for them when you feel like you can handle it.


8.) A last plea, Rob. Don't fly back immediately. Give it a chance. Give yourself the chance to be taken care of and to take care of the others.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-09-29

Chapter: 5

Well it's about damn time. LOL and you KNOW I say that with LOVE. Rob NEEDS to GO HOME.


But you know that already.


I'm glad he called his mom. I really am. If I was his mom and hadn't heard from him in months, I'd be worried sick. I love your description of her, btw, her playing with her necklace and rambling about tennis and the country club.


I think it's so sad that Rob knows nothing. He hasn't cared enough to keep up with what his bandmates are doing, or even if the Live album was released. And I know you say he's trying to deal with things, and maybe so. I hope he makes up for being a no show all this time when he gets back. You know how I feel about this. This story brings it out of me.


I love your detailed description of how ripped he is hahaha I can just imagine Rob seeing Mike and Mike being wow....you look so hot! And Rob being wow...you look so small XD


I do hate to think of Mike sitting in his studio and locking everyone out :( hopefully when Rob gets back he'll find out that's not true. I'd love for you to write out a band dinner...the five of them. We've seen some pictures of the five them at dinner in RL and I think that would be a nice touch.


My favorite part was Rob talking to Chester on the beach. I tell you, despite my sometimes harsh feelings towards Rob's decisions in this story, this was really special. I love the respect he has for Chester, and the obvious deep connection that was there. IS there. I think that's something he and Mike could talk about....that they both still talk to Chester.

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2019-09-18

Chapter: 4

I don't know how you do it... but you are always able to touch my heart strings and mess with my emotions, and you are doing that exact same thing with this fic... I'm worried about Rob, I don't think is such a good idea to run away... he is not living a real life now... to be away for so long will just do him bad .. when he finally decides to come back he is gonna crash with reality. He will just be stuck with the pain when the others probably have already moved on.


It also worries me that just a simple conversation with Brad messed up all the progress he thought he already achieved in Portugal. I just him to face Mike back and be there for him and for the others as well.


All of those thoughts about Mike and the possibility of them being together and how he thinks how awfully opportunistic it would be to confess his feelings now that Chester is gone... it makes me so so sad for Rob. And how he understands that is unlikely Mike and him will ever have a future together, and how he is not Chester and how he will just be a secret if anything. You gotta update this soon, I need to read where this is going, I'm extremely curious about it.

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-09-14

Chapter: 4

Your stories are all great, so you deserve all the reviews in the world and I’m happy that I can share some of my thought with you :)


So, this one... I don’t really know. I still understand Rob and the urge to get away. It makes it easier to sort out your own mind when there is not other people you need to worry about around and when you are not constantly reminded of what has happened. And as long as Rob focuses on himself, it seems to work.


Sadly, reality is not just going away just because Rob did. The phone call really brought him back to that cruel reality and be has to learn to live within this reality. It’s nice that he learned to calm down so fast, to ground himself. Portugal helped. But maybe it’s time to face his real life again and see if he can also manage there.


And as much as his emotions and thoughts are all over the place after he talked to Brad (who is incredibly supportive. Seriously. I would flip out and ask him to come back. So cudos to Brad that he stays so calm)., he is super reflected. He knows that he can’t just walk up to Mike and be like “you and me, is that a concept?” Also, it’s good that he keeps the secret of Mike and Che’s, it’s not his story to tell. So, even though he is struggling and his emotions are getting a hold of him, he can manage more than he thinks.

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-09-13

Chapter: 4

Oh man, this story is so heartbreaking. Rob is basically just running from his past and from himself. He might think that being in Portugal helps him with his grief, but I'm not so sure about that. Just one phone call brings back all the feelings and memories, so I think he has to go back home and face it. He can't hide in Portugal forever...


Also, telling Mike about his feelings now would be a mistake, and I really wonder when and how in the story this is going to happen.


Please update soon :)

From: TrashFoot

Date: 2019-09-10

Chapter: 4

Man. Just 1 phone call, and everything heads backwards towards square one. Poor Rob. I wouldn’t be surprised if he could get back to where he was, back in that good space, but I’m sure it’ll take time. And of course, the question that has to be asked, is Rob’s inner monologue right? Is it wrong to tell Mike all his feelings? I can’t wait to find out!

From: hearts.on.fire

Date: 2019-09-10

Chapter: 4

I'm sorry I've missed reviewing the last few chapters! I am absolutely loving how this story is going so far!

You described Rob's feelings so well. I feel so so bad for him. Being in love with Mike but also being the only one that knows that Mike and Chester had a relationship must be so painful. I like how he mentioned it felt like it would be disrespectable to even tell Mike how he felt. And that he wished Chester could come back just so he could make Mike happy again, but still wanting to be with Mike so badly. The part where he is talking about the tribute show and how he doesn't know if he could ever play again with LP because of Mike's projection of his feelings and grief for Chester onto the band made my heart ache for him. He has so many conflicting feelings about the whole thing and just...gah. You're seriously doing a great job of writing Rob's emotions. It's hard to read but I'm loving it!

I'm curious as to what Rob will do from here. He can't hide from reality forever. Can't wait for the next chapter!

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-09-08

Chapter: 4

I don't know Rob (and come on, who DOES know Rob?) but for fictional ideas of Rob, I think you're doing really well. We know he really did leave the country for a bit, and I have to guess what you have written/pictured in this story is awful close. The borrowed books, the two small meals and fruit for dinner, the basing your whole day on the waves and surfing, the lack of communication. Yeah. It all fits, and you're doing a hell of a job with it.


But it also frustrates me. I think it's because I'm a parent. I've probably already said this, but it irritates me when people leave. When they up and leave when things get hard. I get he's working through things, but he's also left everyone else behind. He's like the opposite of a U.S. Ranger (who never leave anyone behind) or the opposite of Ohana, where no one is left behind or forgotten. Now I'm quoting from Disney, so you know this struck a nerve with me. I think what really got me are two things:


1. When Brad makes the comment about "were you just trying to get as far away from us as you could?" I mean, yeah. I think that's how I would take it, too.


2. Rob's thoughts towards the end about Mike.


Despite my frustration with him in this story, I am glad to see that he's really thinking about this. And he's doing it on three levels, which I really appreciate.


Level 1: How the guys would take it. He connects his (future) relationship with Mike, with Mike coming out and confessing about Chester. He recognizes what that would mean, and oh, by the way, now we're in love, too. Yeah. That's bad on all sides, especially if it happens anytime soon.


Level 2: Mike's family. He recognizes that they're there, and that Mike kept everything with Ches a secret, which means he would probably be a secret, too. Being the secret always sucks. Would he even want that?


Level 3:Mike's feelings/grief. Mike is taking losing Chester so hard (as we all know he did) and to come swooping in now while Mike is mourning the loss of his lover, would be in very, very poor taste. As Rob admitted himself, it would be cruel. And right now, Mike's not himself. While Rob's trying to work through things and get grounded and figure his own head/emotions/future out, so is Mike. That's a super frail position to be in, and trying to start a new (and secret) relationship in that state wouldn't be healthy. For either of them.


So all in all, and I know this is a lot of words just to say this: I think Robert needs to go home. He needs to suck it up, and go home. He needs to be there for his band - his friends, his Ohana - and stop living in avoidance. Maybe he needs a real therapist, and not just the ocean. And can you really cope/heal from something if you're not there? Because he's not living real life right now. He's on vacation. Real life is still going to be there when he gets back, and I hate to say it, but real life is going to kick him in the balls when he does go back. We used to say in counseling that you have to feel it to heal it. He's currently not letting himself feel anything :(


I really liked all his memories about Mike and Chester and the hug after the shows. You really wrote that out nicely. I felt it. I had to grin at the idea of it being a possessive thing from Mike's side of it. Oh, Mike. lol now every time I see a video/pic of them standing like that, this is what I'm going to think of.


This review is all over the place, and I've managed to make two lists. Sorry! Maybe I'm feeling too much from this story, it's just hitting the right place to bring out all the emotions. And there's the Chester factor. But despite that, I'm ready for more. I'm curious to see how you're going to do all this.

From: Emma Shinoda

Date: 2019-09-05

Chapter: 3

First off, sorry for my obscenely late review! But my god, this story, it just hurts. In a good way, if that makes sense. It's cathartic for me in a way, because my reaction was similar to Rob's. Get away from everything LP for awhile and reset. But I digress...


It blows my mind, Rob being able to just fly to another country and start a life there, even a temporary one. Not just the mental energy it takes, but the financial ability too. Feels weird to say when he's grieving, but he is lucky to be able to do it, and I'm glad he's made use of it to help him heal.


I was relieved he decided to call Mike, and surprised he told him he knew of the affair. Wasn't expecting it so soon, but it's a big step in his healing, I think, getting it off his chest.


One thing Mike said that really stuck out: “Nothing I can say will put me there in time to save him.” That just ... fuck, it hurt to read because of how true and painful of a thought it is...


I'm becoming more and more enamored with this story as it goes along, and I can't wait for the next chapter <3

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2019-08-21

Chapter: 3

This was such an emotional chapter. I don't blame Rob for wanting to runaway from their reality, it must be so difficult to have everybody reminding you everyday of something you would rather forget. And the questions about the future of the band, even more difficult, since neither of them seem to have an answer for that yet. And I also understand the need for Rob to be away from Mike. I really do.


Im glad Rob called Mike and was honest and open about Mike and Chester relationship. That will help to bringing them closer once Rob comes back and maybe Rob can gather some courage and confess his feelings to Mike. Reading Mike being so broken is hard and I now the post traumatic will be a great help for him to put his emotions in order.


This line made me kings of sad "I only knew because you two would forget that I was even there. You’d get lost in your own world." I know this is fiction but I cannot help but thinking that's exactly what real Mike and Chester seemed to do during band interviews, always in their own world, even as just friends.. aww this is sad. My friend you are doing a great job as always. Please update soon and don't forget about Forever. Don't let it go unfinished. I beg you.

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-08-21

Chapter: 3

First of all: this is so beautifully written. I think it is different from your other stories because the main character is another one and I admire the way it changes your writing and the tone of the story. I love the other stories and the way they are written as well but this one is just different, in a good way. Just wanted to compliment you on this, before moving to the content ;)


Portugal? Good choice, it's lovely and the life he is building up there (even though it hopefully is temporary) seems a good one. Like living from day to day, not being faced with questions about the future of the band, figuring himself out, just getting into a mindset that helps him to actually think freely and without pressure.


Of course he can't just leave everything behind and pretend it's not existing and by calling Mike he proved that he is aware of that. There are responsibilities back home and Rob knows. Still, he has every right to get away from those for a while and I hope the surfing and just the life he chose there, is going to help him through it.


Coming back to Rob calling Mike... It was a weird feeling reading that part. Because I understand every reason Rob brought up while he left and at the same time I could feel how desperate Mike was to have him back and to know when he will be back. Not for Rob's sake but for his own. Which is pretty egoistic but also understandable, so I was torn between my feelings of understanding for both of them. And when Rob dropped the bomb and hinted that he knew about Ches and Mike... I think it is good that he said it because it will set the ball rolling for a lot of future talks about their secret relationship but also about Rob's feelings, I hope. Because he cannot bottle them up, he can't even run away from them, even though he tries really hard. He can make himself invisible for a while but he can't hide forever. Not from his feelings at least.

From: TrashFoot

Date: 2019-08-20

Chapter: 3

Oh my God this chapter!! I love it— it was heartbreaking in all the right places. It’s difficult seeing Mike grieving the way he is here, but I like how they’re grieving in different ways. And it’s rough knowing that Rob is feeling his guilt over leaving Mike behind and still dealing with Chester, the band, their relationship, etc. but it must’ve felt so nice to at least get the secret off his chest.

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-08-19

Chapter: 3

I love this story more and more with every chapter, because it's so emotional and I totally get Rob's decision to get away for a while, even if that 'while' seems to be a little longer. I also understand Mike's decision to escape to his studio and get high, because he's so devastaded about Chester. It was great that Rob called, so they could talk about a few things, and I think it was also good that Rob told Mike that he knew about the affair.


Again, this chapter made me cry...oh man, I'm too emotional for this story xD I especially liked the end when you showed how they both reacted to the phonecall. Rob gets a new surfboard and is ready to forget everything for a while, and Mike throws his phone against the wall and gets high.


Please update soon :)

From: hattu

Date: 2019-08-18

Chapter: 2

Uh Rob centric, love it!!!


I am so torn with this.. I completely get Robs need to just get away from it all. But on the other hand, he could be/should be there for Mike.

Question is, would he be helpful? At the moment he is soo confused about everything that he may not be able to be really there for Mike.


Oh this is so complicated, grief is really not an easy topic and not easy to write. I think you do an awesome job with this!!!


Can’t wait to read more!!


Cheers

Hattu

From: LannaLlamas

Date: 2019-08-18

Chapter: 2

Love, love, LOVE this story!!! ❤️❤️❤️ Can’t wait for the next update!

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-08-18

Chapter: 2

I know it's going to get worse before it gets better, but damn. I miss Chester. I really do. And reading the words in the story about him being gone, and Mike calling them "six" instead of "five" and Mike "finding a way to go with him" and "nothing I can say will put me there in time to save him" and "not being next to you while you're mourning Chester is helping" and ugh. It's because you're a kick ass writer. But it makes me sad.


Everything I just said probably makes no sense. I just wanted to say that my heart aches for Mike. And I'm not sure how I feel about Rob. I totally understand needing to get away, but I also see it from the other side of things. The, you disappeared when it mattered most. You left us here to pick up the pieces, side. Maybe because of the way he did it. He just left. He didn't even tell them. Brad wouldn't have known if he didn't happen to show up. It feels like a childish move, and at the same time I get trying to escape all the reminders. I don't know. I'm very torn with Rob's character in this. He wants to be the person to make it better for Mike, but he's thousands of miles away surfing instead of being there. I think that's the difference between Rob and Chester (and I'm talking fictional Rob and Chester because obviously we don't know these people in real life) but if Mike was hurting, Chester would have been the first one there, and Rob isn't. He just isn't. And being there is such a huge part of a relationship. It's suffering through situations and events with each other, and the bonding, trust, and support that comes with that. So I don't know how this is going to go. Obviously Bournoda happens, but how that happens, I have no idea. And who knows, maybe Rob separating himself from all this will play in his favor because when Mike sees him next, he'll be a new face, a breath of fresh air. Maybe? I don't know. Or maybe Mike will realize that he HAS changed, and he needs something (someone) different from Chester.


As you can tell, I'm all over the place with this story. Grief is so hard, and everyone deals with it differently. Guess I can't hate on Rob for running away, but the responsible parent in me does lol because then it will be like, where were you? When all this was unraveling, where were you??


*sigh*


I do agree figuring out who you are after something like this happens is important. And I'm glad Rob recognizes that. Obviously Mike struggles/struggled with that as well, he wrote an entire album about it. So I'm hoping Rob will find his peace and still be able to support his friends.


I'm sorry if this review is less of a review and more of a rant, but it makes me feel all these things, and here it is, one big ramble of emotions.

From: Emma Shinoda

Date: 2019-08-14

Chapter: 2

I feel so terrible for Rob, but at the same time I think I understand why he needs to get away. I probably would've done it a few years ago if I'd had the means. So, I'm glad Brad didn't try too hard to stop him. I love their friendship, and how you pack so much emotion and feeling into a short scene. I'm sad Mike didn't pick up the phone, though I know that probably would've made it harder for Rob. I'm really, really interested to get a closer look at their relationship, and how things got to be so divided.


Well, I'm not sure where you're planning to take this, but wherever you go, I'm along for the ride. Even if it makes me cry. Great job, you're a magnificent writer <3

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-08-12

Chapter: 2

I don't really know what to say other than that my heart is hurting for all of them. Especially for Rob because we get so close to his emotions and you describe them in such a relatable way. But also for the others because they don't really know what to do either.

I'm glad Brad showed up and I'm glad Rob called his family and also Mike. I think I'm also a bit glad that he is leaving because it seems the right thing for him to do. And again, it's so relatable. Just getting away from everything and everyone, it seems so attracting sometimes. I really hope he finds what he is searching for, wherever he goes.

Reviews 1 to 20 of 37