LPfiction

Reviews

(Even When It's Not) About You by lpfan503

Add review

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2019-08-21

Chapter: 3

This was such an emotional chapter. I don't blame Rob for wanting to runaway from their reality, it must be so difficult to have everybody reminding you everyday of something you would rather forget. And the questions about the future of the band, even more difficult, since neither of them seem to have an answer for that yet. And I also understand the need for Rob to be away from Mike. I really do.


Im glad Rob called Mike and was honest and open about Mike and Chester relationship. That will help to bringing them closer once Rob comes back and maybe Rob can gather some courage and confess his feelings to Mike. Reading Mike being so broken is hard and I now the post traumatic will be a great help for him to put his emotions in order.


This line made me kings of sad "I only knew because you two would forget that I was even there. You’d get lost in your own world." I know this is fiction but I cannot help but thinking that's exactly what real Mike and Chester seemed to do during band interviews, always in their own world, even as just friends.. aww this is sad. My friend you are doing a great job as always. Please update soon and don't forget about Forever. Don't let it go unfinished. I beg you.

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-08-21

Chapter: 3

First of all: this is so beautifully written. I think it is different from your other stories because the main character is another one and I admire the way it changes your writing and the tone of the story. I love the other stories and the way they are written as well but this one is just different, in a good way. Just wanted to compliment you on this, before moving to the content ;)


Portugal? Good choice, it's lovely and the life he is building up there (even though it hopefully is temporary) seems a good one. Like living from day to day, not being faced with questions about the future of the band, figuring himself out, just getting into a mindset that helps him to actually think freely and without pressure.


Of course he can't just leave everything behind and pretend it's not existing and by calling Mike he proved that he is aware of that. There are responsibilities back home and Rob knows. Still, he has every right to get away from those for a while and I hope the surfing and just the life he chose there, is going to help him through it.


Coming back to Rob calling Mike... It was a weird feeling reading that part. Because I understand every reason Rob brought up while he left and at the same time I could feel how desperate Mike was to have him back and to know when he will be back. Not for Rob's sake but for his own. Which is pretty egoistic but also understandable, so I was torn between my feelings of understanding for both of them. And when Rob dropped the bomb and hinted that he knew about Ches and Mike... I think it is good that he said it because it will set the ball rolling for a lot of future talks about their secret relationship but also about Rob's feelings, I hope. Because he cannot bottle them up, he can't even run away from them, even though he tries really hard. He can make himself invisible for a while but he can't hide forever. Not from his feelings at least.

From: TrashFoot

Date: 2019-08-20

Chapter: 3

Oh my God this chapter!! I love it— it was heartbreaking in all the right places. It’s difficult seeing Mike grieving the way he is here, but I like how they’re grieving in different ways. And it’s rough knowing that Rob is feeling his guilt over leaving Mike behind and still dealing with Chester, the band, their relationship, etc. but it must’ve felt so nice to at least get the secret off his chest.

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-08-19

Chapter: 3

I love this story more and more with every chapter, because it's so emotional and I totally get Rob's decision to get away for a while, even if that 'while' seems to be a little longer. I also understand Mike's decision to escape to his studio and get high, because he's so devastaded about Chester. It was great that Rob called, so they could talk about a few things, and I think it was also good that Rob told Mike that he knew about the affair.


Again, this chapter made me cry...oh man, I'm too emotional for this story xD I especially liked the end when you showed how they both reacted to the phonecall. Rob gets a new surfboard and is ready to forget everything for a while, and Mike throws his phone against the wall and gets high.


Please update soon :)

From: hattu

Date: 2019-08-18

Chapter: 2

Uh Rob centric, love it!!!


I am so torn with this.. I completely get Robs need to just get away from it all. But on the other hand, he could be/should be there for Mike.

Question is, would he be helpful? At the moment he is soo confused about everything that he may not be able to be really there for Mike.


Oh this is so complicated, grief is really not an easy topic and not easy to write. I think you do an awesome job with this!!!


Can’t wait to read more!!


Cheers

Hattu

From: LannaLlamas

Date: 2019-08-18

Chapter: 2

Love, love, LOVE this story!!! ❤️❤️❤️ Can’t wait for the next update!

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-08-18

Chapter: 2

I know it's going to get worse before it gets better, but damn. I miss Chester. I really do. And reading the words in the story about him being gone, and Mike calling them "six" instead of "five" and Mike "finding a way to go with him" and "nothing I can say will put me there in time to save him" and "not being next to you while you're mourning Chester is helping" and ugh. It's because you're a kick ass writer. But it makes me sad.


Everything I just said probably makes no sense. I just wanted to say that my heart aches for Mike. And I'm not sure how I feel about Rob. I totally understand needing to get away, but I also see it from the other side of things. The, you disappeared when it mattered most. You left us here to pick up the pieces, side. Maybe because of the way he did it. He just left. He didn't even tell them. Brad wouldn't have known if he didn't happen to show up. It feels like a childish move, and at the same time I get trying to escape all the reminders. I don't know. I'm very torn with Rob's character in this. He wants to be the person to make it better for Mike, but he's thousands of miles away surfing instead of being there. I think that's the difference between Rob and Chester (and I'm talking fictional Rob and Chester because obviously we don't know these people in real life) but if Mike was hurting, Chester would have been the first one there, and Rob isn't. He just isn't. And being there is such a huge part of a relationship. It's suffering through situations and events with each other, and the bonding, trust, and support that comes with that. So I don't know how this is going to go. Obviously Bournoda happens, but how that happens, I have no idea. And who knows, maybe Rob separating himself from all this will play in his favor because when Mike sees him next, he'll be a new face, a breath of fresh air. Maybe? I don't know. Or maybe Mike will realize that he HAS changed, and he needs something (someone) different from Chester.


As you can tell, I'm all over the place with this story. Grief is so hard, and everyone deals with it differently. Guess I can't hate on Rob for running away, but the responsible parent in me does lol because then it will be like, where were you? When all this was unraveling, where were you??


*sigh*


I do agree figuring out who you are after something like this happens is important. And I'm glad Rob recognizes that. Obviously Mike struggles/struggled with that as well, he wrote an entire album about it. So I'm hoping Rob will find his peace and still be able to support his friends.


I'm sorry if this review is less of a review and more of a rant, but it makes me feel all these things, and here it is, one big ramble of emotions.

From: Emma Shinoda

Date: 2019-08-14

Chapter: 2

I feel so terrible for Rob, but at the same time I think I understand why he needs to get away. I probably would've done it a few years ago if I'd had the means. So, I'm glad Brad didn't try too hard to stop him. I love their friendship, and how you pack so much emotion and feeling into a short scene. I'm sad Mike didn't pick up the phone, though I know that probably would've made it harder for Rob. I'm really, really interested to get a closer look at their relationship, and how things got to be so divided.


Well, I'm not sure where you're planning to take this, but wherever you go, I'm along for the ride. Even if it makes me cry. Great job, you're a magnificent writer <3

From: halvlang

Date: 2019-08-12

Chapter: 2

I don't really know what to say other than that my heart is hurting for all of them. Especially for Rob because we get so close to his emotions and you describe them in such a relatable way. But also for the others because they don't really know what to do either.

I'm glad Brad showed up and I'm glad Rob called his family and also Mike. I think I'm also a bit glad that he is leaving because it seems the right thing for him to do. And again, it's so relatable. Just getting away from everything and everyone, it seems so attracting sometimes. I really hope he finds what he is searching for, wherever he goes.

From: ninja

Date: 2019-08-10

Chapter: 2

I really like this story. It feels so real and you can feel the pain, going away will do him good and hopefully he lets the other contact him and won't isolate himself for too long. I can't wait to see what's gonna happen with Mike.

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-08-07

Chapter: 2

This was another great chapter, it actually made me tear up. We're only two chapters in and this story is already breaking my heart. I can totally understand Rob's decision to get away from his life so far and go someplace else for a while, or even forever. I could also understand if he wouldn't call Mike and just let Brad tell the other guys about his plans.


Please update soon :)

From: Esmeralda

Date: 2019-08-06

Chapter: 2

You said that this is not meant to be a sad story, but you are again making me really emotional with this fic.. the whole situation with Rob just wanting to go away and disappear..ughh.. is kind of what is exactly happening in RL, besides the Hollywood Bowl I've never seen him ever again after what happened, if I'm not mistaken. I've seen Joe and Dave doing their new projects, and Brad here and there mostly with Mike but Rob... I don't think so.


And Penelope is right.. the way they said some things about Mike... we all know this is partly true.. not in a bad way though. Something as big as a band like LP needs someone really strong to hold everything together and we all know Mike is the brain/ heart of the band. The main piece to keep everything working... which can be seen sometimes as negative but at the end of the day is necessary. I just hope Mike was not too harsh on Chester and not with Rob either.


I just can imagine Rob being kind of jealous of Chester in this fic... being that we know what we know about his hidden feelings for Mike.. this is completely understandable, is uncomfortable to see the object of your affection showing affection to someone else. I wonder if we could make requests.. can we get a flashback showing a bit of what was going on between Mike and Chester and maybe when Rob found out they were having a relationship? And please please show us more of Mike, I need to read Mike, I need to know what he is feeling and how he will take Rob's departure... Sorry.. I know I can be veeery annoying with my requests sometimes, but I really appreciate that you're such a generous writer..

From: Gummibear Queen

Date: 2019-08-05

Chapter: 2

This is really good. You have captured Rob's character so well...or just given him a really good one.

Everything he's doing I so understandable of the time and his reactions are perfect.


I need to read more.

From: Penelope_Ink

Date: 2019-08-04

Chapter: 2

Ugh this is sad. It's so hard to read. And the sadness is on a variety of levels. You have the band level, Rob just leaving them. Not even calling all of them to say goodbye or let them know where he's going. It's like suddenly leaving your job without giving notice. Then there's the family level. He has none. Nothing that's keeping him there. No responsibilities. When you can pack your life into a backpack and leave indefinitely, I just can't even wrap my head around that.


I agree with him about the fans, and how everything becomes a thing. It really must be tough on the guys and Chester's close friends and family.


Everyone is so worried about Mike, and then a second later talk about him like he's a slave driver. Such a crazy mix of emotions about him. It's almost like it's a forced friendship/relationship. I know it's not, but how they said some things, it's like...wow...not a happy band.


Of course all the bits about Chester hurt. The fake name in his phone, the part about outside WB on the steps. It just breaks my heart.


I guess all I can say is, I hope Rob finds whatever it is he's looking for.


And your writing is awesome, of course. This chapter was stuffed full of emotion. Very well done.

From: TrashFoot

Date: 2019-08-04

Chapter: 2

[“You’re the baby, you know,” he said lightly, his voice tight with emotion. “Stop that, you know I can kick anyone’s ass.”] I absolutely LOVE this bit! And Brad's concern for his friend, there's so much he's juggling with- they're all juggling with. Such a good chapter!

From: LannaLlamas

Date: 2019-08-04

Chapter: 2

I’m totally loving this story. I have no idea why, but the emotions your writing brings out is just... amazing. I love your writing, seriously. I’m not very used to reviewing, so excuse my lack of enthusiasm in this. Just wanted to say, also, that I loved Brad calling Rob the baby. I still feel super upset for Rob. Somebody just needs to hug him and tell him everything will be okay.

From: mermaid_life87

Date: 2019-08-02

Chapter: 1

So...I read this a few days ago but couldn’t bring myself to review right away.


You know I love your writing. <3 And this, like everything else you write, is so, so beautifully written. But...I can’t promise I will see this one through and hopefully you understand if I can’t.


Anything post-Chester, like other reviewers have mentioned, is tough. :( In fact, I normally just avoid post-Chester stories altogether. I’m pretty sure I’ve only ever read one other than this and it was a standalone.


However, I gave this a shot simply because of who the author was and I will attempt to keep going. :) We’ll leave it at that for now.


Rated as well.

From: Emma Shinoda

Date: 2019-08-02

Chapter: 1

This was... it was haunting, but so well written, and it's left me a bit wordless honestly. Rob being quiet and hesitant and second guessing himself always hurts to read. And my god, the tribute show... I just cried through the entire thing, and can only imagine how painful and difficult it was for them.


I still have a terribly difficult time reading post traumatic era stories, but I'm going to read yours. I want to see how Rob finds himself, how he and Mike come to terms with their guilt and anger, and everything in between. Rated <3

From: JellyfishLP

Date: 2019-08-01

Chapter: 1

I am already so intrigued to read the rest of the story! Of course, post-Chester-fics are always sad and really hard to read, but I know this one will be great. It was heartbreaking to see that Rob blames himself for what happened, and that he watched it all unfold for years and didn't say anything.


Please update soon :)

From: TrashFoot

Date: 2019-07-31

Chapter: 1

What a great start! I am loving it so far! Can’t wait to read more!

Reviews 1 to 20 of 26